A white dome shaped building
Great Telescope Dome, 1935, Grubb, Parsons & Co., Richmond Hill, Ontario
© Jennifer A. Cousineau/Parks Canada, 2018

The David Dunlap Observatory was designated a national historic site in 2019.

Commemorative plaque: 123 Hillsview Drive, Richmond Hill, OntarioFootnote 1

This observatory helped establish academic astronomy in Canada. C. A. Chant, a founder of the discipline in Canada, championed its construction for the University of Toronto. Since its opening in 1935, scientists and the public have studied the night sky from this once-isolated campus, where Thomas Bolton confirmed the existence of black holes in 1972 and Helen Sawyer Hogg catalogued star clusters. The site consists of several structures, including a Beaux-Arts-style Administration Building and the Great Telescope Dome, which combines Modern and Neo-Classical elements, and houses what was once the second-largest telescope in the world.

The David Dunlap Observatory

When it opened in 1935 in what was then an isolated setting in Richmond Hill, Ontario, 20 kilometres north of Toronto, the David Dunlap Observatory (DDO) featured the world’s second-largest telescope at the time and helped establish academic astronomy in Canada. The long-term project of C.A. Chant, a founder of the discipline in Canada, the Observatory was home to generations of astronomers at the University of Toronto, combining a mandate of teaching, research, and public accessibility. Through his research at the DDO, astronomer Thomas Bolton achieved a major astronomical breakthrough when his research confirmed the existence of black holes.

The DDO was financed by Jessie Donalda Dunlap, who named it in memory of her late husband. It comprises two principal buildings. The first is the Great Telescope Dome, a fine and well-preserved example of early to mid-20th century observatory design in Canada that successfully combines Modern and Neo-Classical elements. The second is the Administration building, designed by the architecture firm of Mathers & Haldenby; its elegant Beaux-Arts designs is consistent with their other building designs at the University of Toronto.

Bronze commemorative plaque
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for David Dunlap Observatory National Historic Site

As an educational centre, the DDO immediately strengthened the discipline of astronomy in Canada. While the federal government had funded two observatories – the Dominion Observatory in Ottawa and the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory in Victoria – the lack of university facilities meant that there were still no opportunities for Canadian students to receive practical astronomical training during their education. With a world-class observatory, the University of Toronto became the first Canadian school to offer graduate degrees in astronomy, awarding its first doctorate in 1953.

The research conducted at the DDO has informed hundreds of publications, but one stands out as the most significant of these. In the summer of 1971, postdoctoral researcher Thomas Bolton found evidence of a black hole in the middle of the Milky Way. When this was published in 1972, it was a major astronomical development as a black hole had never been identified. The DDO was also the research home of Helen Sawyer Hogg, a renowned expert on star clusters and Canada’s best-known astronomer through the middle of the 20th century.

The DDO’s most striking visual feature is the Great Telescope Dome, often simply called “the observatory.” It is a massive domed structure, the primary function of which is to form a protective envelope for the 74-inch reflecting telescope it houses. It is painted white and comprises a set of raised, retractable shutters for astronomical viewing, characteristic of astronomical architecture throughout the 20th century. Located northeast of the observatory and reached via a paved processional pathway is the Administration Building. Echoing the architecture of the Dome, the Administration Building features three symmetrically disposed domed turrets, each of which once housed a functioning telescope (one of which still does). These smaller domes made the Administration Building a second locus at the site for astronomical research and a place where students could be trained without having to compete with research astronomers for time in the larger dome.

Backgrounder last update: 2022-05-25

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Une bâtisse blanche en forme de dôme
Dôme du grand télescope, 1935, Grubb, Parsons & Co., Richmond Hill, Ontario
© Jennifer A. Cousineau/Parcs Canada, 2018

L'Observatoire David Dunlap a été désigné lieu historique national en 2019.

Plaque commémorative : 123 Hillsview Drive, Richmond Hill, OntarioFootnote 1

Cet observatoire contribue à l’essor de l’astronomie scientifique au Canada. C. A. Chant, l’un des fondateurs de la discipline au pays, parraine sa construction pour l’Université de Toronto. Depuis son ouverture en 1935, des chercheurs et des membres du public étudient le ciel nocturne à partir de ce campus jadis isolé, où Thomas Bolton confirme l’existence des trous noirs (1972) et Helen Sawyer Hogg catalogue des amas d’étoiles. Le site comprend le bâtiment administratif de style Beaux-Arts et le grand dôme du télescope, qui combine des éléments modernes et néoclassiques et abrite ce qui était le deuxième plus grand télescope au monde. 

L'Observatoire David Dunlap

Lorsqu’il ouvre ses portes en 1935 dans un endroit alors isolé de Richmond Hill, en Ontario, à 20 kilomètres au nord de Toronto, l’Observatoire David Dunlap abrite ce qui était alors le deuxième plus grand télescope au monde et contribue ainsi à l’établissement de l’astronomie comme discipline universitaire au Canada. Projet à long terme de C.A. Chant, l’un des fondateurs de la discipline au pays, l’Observatoire accueille des générations d’astronomes à l’Université de Toronto, combinant des mandats d’enseignement, de recherche et d’accessibilité publique. Grâce à ses recherches à l’Observatoire, l’astronome Thomas Bolton a réalisé une percée astronomique majeure en confirmant l’existence des trous noirs.

Financé par Jessie Donalda Dunlap, qui le nomme à la mémoire de son défunt mari, l’Observatoire David Dunlap comprend deux bâtiments principaux. Le premier, le grand dôme du télescope, est un superbe exemple bien préservé de la conception des observatoires de la première moitié du XXe siècle au Canada qui conjugue avec succès des éléments modernes et néoclassiques. Le deuxième, le bâtiment administratif, est conçu par le cabinet Mathers & Haldenby. Son élégante conception de style Beaux-Arts cadre avec les autres bâtiments conçus par ce cabinet pour l’Université de Toronto.

Plaque commémorative en bronze
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le Lieu historique national de l’Observatoire-David-Dunlap

En tant que centre éducatif, l’Observatoire David Dunlap renforce immédiatement la discipline de l’astronomie au Canada. Bien que le gouvernement fédéral finance déjà deux observatoires – l’Observatoire fédéral à Ottawa et l’Observatoire fédéral d’astrophysique à Victoria – le manque d’infrastructures universitaires se traduit par un manque de possibilités pour les étudiants canadiens de recevoir une formation pratique en astronomie pendant leurs études. Grâce à cet observatoire de calibre mondial, l’Université de Toronto devient la première école canadienne à offrir des diplômes d’études supérieures en astronomie, décernant son premier doctorat en 1953.

Les recherches menées à l’Observatoire David Dunlap mènent à des centaines de publications, mais l’une d’entre elles se démarque particulièrement par son importance. À l’été 1971, le chercheur postdoctoral Thomas Bolton confirme la présence d’un trou noir au centre de la Voie lactée. En 1972, au moment où elle est publiée, il s’agit d’une découverte astronomique majeure puisque personne n’avait précédemment réussi à repérer un trou noir. C’est d’ailleurs de l’Observatoire qu’Helen Sawyer Hogg, une spécialiste renommée des amas d’étoiles et l’astronome la plus connue du Canada au milieu du XXe siècle, mène ses recherches.

L’élément visuel le plus marquant de l’Observatoire David Dunlap est le grand dôme du télescope, souvent simplement appelé « l’observatoire ». Il s’agit d’une immense structure en dôme dont la fonction principale est de protéger le télescope réfléchissant de 74 po (1,87 m) qu’elle abrite. La coupole est peinte en blanc et comprend un ensemble de volets rétractables surélevés pour l’observation astronomique, caractéristique architecturale en astronomie au XXe siècle. Situé au nord-est de l’observatoire, le bâtiment d’administration est accessible par un sentier de procession asphalté. Faisant écho à l’architecture du dôme, le bâtiment d’administration comporte trois tourelles à coupole disposées de façon symétrique qui ont chacune abrité un télescope fonctionnel (un seul l’est toujours). Ces petites coupoles font du bâtiment d’administration un deuxième lieu de recherche en astronomie, un endroit où les étudiants peuvent y être formés sans avoir à rivaliser avec les chercheurs en astronomie pour obtenir du temps d’observation dans le grand dôme.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2022-05-25

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus