Image of a garden with trees and a path
General view of the Royal Botanical Gardens National Historic Site
© Heather Waters, 2018

The Royal Botanical Gardens were designated a national historic site in 1994.

Commemorative plaque: 680 Plains Road West, Hamilton, OntarioFootnote 1

This important botanical garden is distinguished by its first class horticultural collection. Originating in the late 1920s, it developed as a series of discrete gardens and a wildlife conservation area within an urban context. Some of Canada's most talented landscape architects, botanists and plant curators have collaborated on the garden, imparting an overall unity and aesthetic appeal. In 1975, the Royal Botanical Gardens was designated the International Registration Authority for the names of cultivated lilacs in honour of its world-renowned lilac collection.

Description of historic place

The Royal Botanical Gardens National Historic Site of Canada is an extensive botanical garden that was developed over the course of the 20th century. Set at the western edge of the city of Hamilton, it occupies almost 1100 hectares on several separate discrete parcels of land clustered around Burlington Bay at the western end of Lake Ontario. The site includes a series of themed gardens, an arboretum, a conservation area and an interpretive centre. The formal recognition consists of the several separate parcels of land comprising the Botanical Gardens, and including the buildings, structures and gardens directly associated with them.

 

Image of a garden with trees and a path
The Rock Garden in autumn at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017
Image of a photographer surrounded by a field of flowers
The Iris Garden at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017

 

Image of a couple sitting on a bench in a flower garden
The Lilac Garden at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017
Image of two people canoeing on a lake
Canoeing at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017

Heritage value 

The Royal Botanical Gardens was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1993 because: it is one of Canada’s most important botanical gardens, distinguished by a first-class horticultural collection; over the 60 year period of its development as a series of discrete gardens and a wildlife conservation area within an urban context, it has benefited from the contributions of some of the nation's most talented landscape architects, botanists and plant curators; and, it has a world-renowned lilac collection which has gained it the honour of being named the international registration authority for cultivar names of lilacs.

The Royal Botanical Gardens was part of a late 1920s scheme to beautify Hamilton by building a landscaped parkway into the city and creating a campus for McMaster University. The plan to include a botanical garden was developed by the Hamilton Board of Parks Management under its chairman, Thomas Baker McQuesten. The Board's decision in 1932 to combine separate parcels of land to create the Gardens was prompted by an advisory committee including landscape architects Carl Borgstrom and Howard Dunington-Grubb. The Gardens' unusual design, consisting of a series of discrete gardens and conservation areas set within a sprawling network of parkway, marked a radical departure from the 19th-century conception of a botanical garden.

Image of a historic stamp showing a colourful garden
Royal Botanical Gardens Stamp [philatelic record]
© Canada Post Corporation, in Library and Archives Canada / Item # 2266234
The landscape design of the Gardens was influenced by Carl Borgstrom, who believed in a natural approach to landscape design and in creating a botanical garden that would appeal to the general public. Borgstrom designed a rock garden, in an abandoned gravel pit adjacent to the parkway, transforming the pit into an intricate landscape of picturesque winding paths, hidden flights of steps, ledges, crevices and pools. A list of recommendations prepared by Borgstrom for the Gardens in 1942 was largely implemented over the next twenty years. It included important components such as formal gardens, rose and climbing gardens, an arboretum, and a lilac garden.

 

Plant curator K. Matthew Broman designed the Laking Garden in 1947. It functions as a trial garden for hardy herbaceous plant collections and includes a major iris collection. Landscape architect J. Austin Floyd designed the formal garden in Hendrie Park in 1962. Influenced by the International Style, Floyd created a geometric framework for avenues and flower beds, organized along a principal axis that is reminiscent of Renaissance garden design. The Teaching Garden, first developed in 1947-1948 as an educational project for children, includes a house, a greenhouse and six hectares of gardens containing plants selected for their aesthetic appeal, sturdiness and educational value. The Arboretum, developed in the 1950s and 1960s, was designed to facilitate automobile viewing, with trees planted on avenues radiating from a central parking circle.

 

Image of four children walking on a path
Children on the boardwalk at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017
Image of a river surrounded by green grass
Cootes paradise marsh
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Heart Of Turtle Island: The Niagara Escarpment, 2017

 

The Katie Osborne Lilac Garden, begun in 1960-1961, is now the largest living collection of lilacs in the world. The Conservation Area covers 800 hectares of marsh, shallow lake, woodland, meadow, escarpment face, and agricultural land maintained in a naturalized state. It includes the Cootes Paradise Sanctuary, a carefully monitored wetland adjacent to Burlington Bay, and the Rock Chapel Sanctuary. An interpretive centre, designed in 1958, provides space for a library, herbarium, lecture room, horticultural workshop and auditorium.

 

Image of a girl with a butterfly on her face
Monarch butterfly on a child's face at the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Canada's Royal Garden, 2017
Image of a kayak on river surrounded by grass
Kayaking on the Hendrie Valley near the Royal Botanical Gardens
© MarkZelinski.com, used with permission from his book Heart Of Turtle Island: The Niagara Escarpment, 2017

Source : Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, June 1993.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Image d'un jardin avec des arbres et un chemin
Vue générale du lieu historique national du Jardin-Botanique-Royal
© Heather Waters, 2018

Les Jardins botaniques royaux ont été désignés lieu historique national en 1994.

Plaque commémorative : 680, rue Plains ouest, Hamilton, OntarioFootnote 1

Une collection horticole de premier ordre distingue cet important jardin botanique. Créé à la fin des années 1920, il se compose maintenant d'une série de jardins distincts et d'une aire de conservation de la faune s'insérant dans un contexte urbain. Certains des meilleurs architectes paysagers, botanistes et conservateurs de plantes du Canada ont collaboré pour en assurer l'unité d'ensemble et la qualité esthétique. En 1975, sa collection de lilas, de réputation mondiale, lui a valu d'être reconnu comme l'autorité internationale d'enregistrement des noms des lilas cultivés.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-Botaniques-Royaux est un vaste jardin botanique qui a été aménagé au cours du XXe siècle. Situé en bordure de Hamilton, à l’ouest de la ville, il occupe près de 1 100 hectares sur diverses parcelles de terrain regroupées autour de la baie Burlington, à l’extrémité occidentale du lac Ontario. Le lieu comprend une série de jardins thématiques, un arboretum, une aire de conservation et un centre d’interprétation. La reconnaissance officielle concerne toutes les parcelles de terrain qui constituent les Jardins botaniques, y compris les édifices, les structures et les jardins qui leur sont directement associés.

 

Image d'un jardin avec des arbres et un chemin
Le jardin de rocailles en automne aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur
Image d'un photographe entouré d'un champ de fleurs
Le Jardin des Iris aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur

 

Image d'un couple assis sur un banc dans un jardin fleuri
Le Jardin des lilas aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur
Image de deux personnes faisant du canoë sur un lac
Canoë aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur

Valeur patrimoniale 

Les Jardins botaniques royaux ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada en 1993, car : ils comptent parmi les jardins botaniques les plus importants au Canada, grâce à une collection horticole de premier ordre; au cours des soixante années consacrées à l’aménagement de la série de jardins et de la réserve naturelle urbaine qui les composent, les Jardins botaniques royaux ont bénéficié du savoir-faire de quelques-uns des architectes paysagistes, botanistes et conservateurs les plus talentueux; et, ils possèdent une collection de lilas célèbre dans le monde entier, qui leur a valu l’honneur d’être reconnus comme l’autorité internationale d’homologation des noms de cultivars de lilas.

Les Jardins botaniques royaux ont fait partie d’un projet de la fin des années 1920 destiné à embellir Hamilton en y créant des allées paysagères et un campus pour l’Université McMaster. Le plan pour un jardin botanique a été élaboré par la Commission de gestion des parcs de Hamilton sous la présidence de Thomas Baker McQuesten. La décision de la Commission, en 1932, de réunir des parcelles de terrain séparées pour créer les jardins a été prise sur la recommandation d’un conseil consultatif qui incluait les architectes paysagers Carl Borgstrom et Howard Dunington-Grubb. Le plan unique des jardins, qui comprenait une série de jardins distincts et de zones de conservation aménagées au sein d’une promenade, marquait un changement radical par rapport à la conception que l’on avait d’un jardin botanique au XIXe siècle.

Image d'un timbre historique montrant un jardin coloré
Jardins botaniques royaux [disque philatélique]
© Postes Canada / dans Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Article # 2266234

Le plan paysager des Jardins a été influencé par Carl Borgstrom, qui croyait à une approche naturelle du plan paysager et à la création d’un jardin botanique qui plairait au grand public. Il a conçu un jardin de rocailles, dans une gravière abandonnée, contiguë à la promenade, et il a transformé la carrière en un paysage complexe composé de sentiers sinueux, d’escaliers cachés, de corniches, de crevasses et de bassins pittoresques. Il a présenté une liste de recommandations en 1942 qui mentionnait des éléments importants qui ont été suivis au cours des 20 années suivantes. Cette liste incluait d’importantes composantes, tels des jardins classiques, des roseraies et des jardins grimpants, un arboretum, et un jardin de lilas.

Le conservateur en botanique K. Matthew Broman a conçu en 1947 le jardin du lac qui sert de jardin d’essais pour les collections de plantes herbacées rustiques et renferme une collection d’iris importante. En 1962, l’architecte paysager J. Austin Floyd a conçu un jardin classique dans Hendrie Park. Influencé par le style international, il a créé un cadre géométrique pour les avenues et les massifs de fleurs organisés le long d’un axe principal qui est une réminiscence de la conception des jardins de la Renaissance. Le jardin éducatif, d’abord aménagé en 1947-1948 comme projet éducatif pour les enfants, comprend une maison, une serre et six hectares de jardins où les plantes sont choisies pour leur attrait esthétique, leur robustesse et leur valeur éducative. L’arboretum, aménagé dans les années 1950 et 1960, a été conçu pour faciliter la circulation automobile, avec des arbres plantés le long d’avenues qui partent en étoile d’un stationnement circulaire central.

 

Image de quatre enfants marchant sur un chemin
Enfants sur la promenade aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur
Image d'une rivière entourée d'herbe verte
Marais paradisiaque de Cootes
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Heart Of Turtle Island: The Niagara Escarpment, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur

 

Le Jardin des lilas Katie Osborne, créé en 1960-1961, possède aujourd’hui la plus grande collection de lilas du monde. La zone de conservation couvre 800 hectares de marais, de lacs peu profonds, de bois, de prés, de versants et de terres agricoles à l’état sauvage. Il comprend le Cootes Paradise Sanctuary, marécage très surveillé, contigu à la baie Burlington, et le Rock Chapel Sanctuary. Un centre d’interprétation, conçu en 1958, offre des espaces pour une bibliothèque, un herbier, une salle de conférence, un atelier d’horticulture et un auditorium.

 

Image of a girl with a butterfly on her face
Papillon monarque sur le visage d'un enfant aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Canada's Royal Garden, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur
Image of a kayak on river surrounded by grass
Kayak sur la vallée de Hendrie aux Jardins botaniques royaux
© Mark Zelinski, photo tirée de son livre Heart Of Turtle Island: The Niagara Escarpment, 2017, avec la permission de l'auteur

Source : Procès-verbal de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada de juin 1993.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus