General view of a building
General view
© Parks Canada / J. Butterill, 1995

Apothecaries Hall was designated a national historic site in May 1969.

Commemorative plaque: on the Hughes Drug Company Building 150 Queen Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

On December 24, 1810, Thomas Desbrisay Jr. opened an apothecary shop on this site. In 1874 George E. Hughes bought Apothecaries Hall and operated it under the title of "Apothecaries Hall - Hughes Drug Co. Ltd." The original building was replaced by the present brick structure in 1900. It is one of the oldest continually operated pharmacies in Canada.

Heritage Value:

Apothecaries Hall was designated a national historic site of Canada because from 1810 to 1986 an apothecary shop was operated on this site, making it one of the oldest continually operated pharmacies in Canada.

The heritage value of this site resides in its historical association with one of Canada’s longest operating pharmacies and the building’s physical elements that accommodated that function.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minute, May 1969

Character-Defining Elements:

Key elements that contribute to the heritage value of this site include: its corner site its rectangular, three-storey massing under a flat roof, its large retail windows at ground level its corner entry, its banded brick facing with decorative brick cornice, original interior elements including wood detailing and tin ceiling.

Far view of a building
General view
© Parks Canada / J. Butterill, 1995
Architectural details of a building's roof
Architectural details
© Parks Canada / J. Butterill, 1995

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Vue générale d'un immeuble
Vue générale
© Parcs Canada / J. Butterill, 1995

Apothecaries Hall a été désigné lieu historique national en mai 1969.

Plaque commémorative : 150, rue Queen, Charlottetown, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le 24 décembre 1810, Thomas DesBrisay, fils, ouvrit ici son premier établissement pharmaceutique. En 1874, George E. Hughes s'en porta acquéreur et en dirigea les affaires sous la raison sociale: " Apothecaries Hall-Hughes Drug Co. Ltd." La construction originale a été remplacée en 1900 par l'édifice de briques actuel. "Apothecaaries Hall" est considérée comme l'une des plus anciennes pharmacies du Canada, donc l'acivité a été ininterrompue depuis sa fondation.

Valeur patrimoniale :

Le Apothecaries Hall a été désigné lieu historique national parce que de 1810 à 1986 il a abrité l’une des plus anciennes pharmacies au Canada, dont l’activité a été ininterrompue depuis sa fondation. 

La valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu a trait à ses liens historiques avec l’une des pharmacies canadiennes exploitées pendant une longue période, ainsi qu'aux éléments physiques adaptés à sa vocation.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, mai 1969.

Éléments caractéristiques : 

Parmi les caractéristiques qui confèrent à ce site sa valeur patrimoniale, notons : son emplacement à l’intersection de deux rues; sa masse rectangulaire à trois étages surmontée d'un toit plat, ses grandes vitrines au rez-de-chaussée; son entrée à l’intersection de deux rues; son parement de brique orné de bandeaux et sa corniche décorative en brique; ses éléments intérieurs d'origine, notamment ses boiseries et son plafond en étain.

Un immeuble vu de loin
Vue générale
© Parcs Canada / J. Butterill, 1995
Détails architecturaux du toit d'un immeuble
Détails architecturaux
© Parcs Canada / J. Butterill, 1995

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus