Picture of historical writing on stone

More than 200 rock art panels are found on cliff faces at Writing-on-Stone / Áísínai’pi
© Alberta Parks / John Novotny

 

Commemorative plaque
Trilingual commemorative plaque of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada : Blackfoot, English and French

Aísínai'pi was designated a national historic site in 2004.

Commemorative plaque: 49° 05'; -111° 37', Writing-on-Stone Provinicial Park, AlbertaFootnote 1

Aísínai'pi "it is pictured, it is written" is one of the most important sacred places for the Niitsítapi (Blackfoot). Here, Niitsítapi seek the guidance of the Spirit Beings that dwell in the hoodoos and among the nearby hills, known as Kátoyissiksi. Their messages take the form of pictures carved into and painted on the sandstone cliffs. Other images are biographic, recording the exploits of the artists' lives. Aísínai'pi has one of the largest concentrations of rock art on the Great Plains, including the most complex and intricate compositions in the region. For the Niitsítapi, this cultural landscape is a vibrant and enduring expression of the meeting of the physical and spiritual worlds.

 

Picture of three bronze plaques
Commemorative plaques for the Writing-on-Stone / Áísínai'pi National Historic Site and World Heritage Site at the Alberta location
© Photo courtesy of Alberta Parks

Description of historic place

Áísínai'pi National Historic Site of Canada, also known as Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, is located on the Milk River in southern Alberta 150 km east of the Rocky Mountains. Set in a region of rolling mixed grass-prairie near the northern limits of the Great Plains, the Milk River and its tributaries are deeply incised into the surrounding grassland creating dramatic vertical sandstone cliffs above and overlooking the river. The sandstone cliffs, caves and hoodoos are the canvas for extensive rock art that consist of carvings (petroglyphs) and paintings (pictographs) that commemorate vision quests and record significant events of the Niitsítapi or Blackfoot from approximately 4000 BCE until the early 20th century. The site provides spectacular views of the Poyíítahtai valley and the surrounding landscape. Official recognition refers to the land circumscribed by the boundaries of Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, which comprises 1718 hectares, with its many archaeological and rock art sites.

 

Black and white photo of a park horizon
General view
© Parks Canada, 2002
Black and white photo of a park horizon
General view
© Parks Canada, 2002

Heritage value

Picture of historical writing on stone
Detail view of rock carvings at the Áísínai'pi National Historic Site of Canada
© Matthias Süßen / Wikipedia commons / 2011

Áísínai'pi was designated a national historic site of Canada in 2005 because: it is one of the most important sites in the sacred geography of the Niitsítapi. Spirit powers are associated with the rock formations and the view towards the nearby hills known as Kátoyissiksi. The rock art at Áísínai'pi is an expression of the meeting of the spirit world and the physical world; and, it contains the largest concentration of rock art images on the Great Plains, with some panels exhibiting the most complex and intricate narrative rock art compositions in the region.

Áísínai'pi (“it is pictured or written”) represents one of the most significant places in the cultural and sacred geography of the Niitsítapi (Blackfoot people). Oral traditions describe the ancient history and spirit powers found at Aísínai’pi. In addition, history and sacredness are represented by numerous rock art images carved and painted on the sandstone cliffs lining the Milk River. The rock art is an expression of the meeting of the spiritual world and the physical world. Most of the images date to the period before contact with Europeans and are representational, depicting human, animal figures and objects in an often schematic and highly conventionalized manner. Images; static and ceremonial or active and biographic; include shield-bearing warriors, deer, bison, antelope, birds and mythical animals such as the Thunderbird.

 

Picture of historical painting and writing on stone
Nearly one metre in length, this pictograph is the largest Thunderbird motif in North America. At the moment it is in a prohibited area on the site.
© Photo courtesy of Alberta Parks
Picture of historical painting and writing on stone
Post-contact battle scene of the Biographic tradition, showing warriors armed with guns attacking a camp of mounted warriors. At the moment it is in a prohibited area on the site.
© Photo courtesy of Alberta Parks
Picture of writing on stone
Rock art that visitors can see on a guided tour at Writing-on-Stone in the restricted area
© Photo courtesy of Alberta Parks
Picture of writing on stone
Rock art that visitors can see on a guided tour at Writing-on-Stone in the restricted area
© Photo courtesy of Alberta Parks

 

The images and motifs may be simple and isolated or arranged across the surface in animated complex “scenes” depicting ceremonies or battles. Later depictions include horses and other datable objects of European origin. This visible and evocative symbol of Indigenous history is considered a sacred landscape intimately related to the presence of Kátoyissiksi, a significant feature in the sacred geography of the Niitsítapi. The dramatic sandstone cliffs and formations that constitute the site are considered by the Niitsítapi to host many powerful beings and have long provided an abundance of important vision quest locations. Even though the rock art is an important spiritual and cultural legacy, it is inseparable from the broader cultural landscape of Áísínai'pi.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, July 1971; Submission Report, Dec. 2003.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Photo d'écriture historique sur pierre

Il y a plus de 200 panneaux d’art rupestre sur les fronts de falaise de Writing-on-Stone / Áísínai’pi
© Alberta Parks / John Novotny

 

Plaque commémorative
Plaque commémorative trilingue de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada : Blackfoot, anglais et français

Aísínai'pi a été désigné un lieu historique national en 2004.

Plaque commémorative : 49° 05'; -111° 37', Parc provincial Writing-On-Stone, AlbertaFootnote 1

Aísínai'pi « c'est illustré, c'est écrit » représente un des lieux sacrés les plus importants des Niitsítapi (Pieds-Noirs). Ici, ils demandent conseil aux Esprits qui habitent les cheminées de fées et les collines avoisinantes nommées Kátoyissiksi. Les messages des Esprits prennent la forme d'images gravées ou peintes sur les falaises de grès. Des dessins biographiques racontent aussi les exploits des artistes. Aísínai'pi recèle l'une des plus grandes concentrations d'art rupestre des Grandes Plaines, dont les réalisations les plus complexes et les plus élaborées de la région. Pour les Niitsítapi, ce paysage culturel est une vibrante manifestation de la rencontre entre les mondes spirituel et physique.

 

Image de trois plaques de bronze
Plaques commémoratives pour le site historique national et site du patrimoine mondial de Writing-on-Stone / Áísínai'pi à l'emplacement en Alberta
© Photo publiée avec la courtosie d'Alberta Parks

Description du lieu patrimonial

Lieu historique national du Canada Áísínai'pi, aussi connu sous le nom de Parc provincial Writing-on-Stone, se situe sur la rivière Milk dans le sud de l’Alberta, à 150 km à l’est des montagnes Rocheuses. Localisé dans une région de prairie mixte vallonnée située près des limites nord des grandes plaines, la rivière Milk et ses affluents ont fait de profondes incisions dans les prairies environnantes, créant de dramatiques falaises verticales dans le grès, en surplomb de la rivière. Les falaises, cavernes et cheminées de fées, des monuments rocheux formés par l’érosion, servent de canevas à de nombreuses productions artistiques qui consistent en des gravures (pétroglyphes) et des peintures (pictogrammes) qui relatent la quête de visions et des événements significatifs des peuples Niitsítapi ou Pieds-Noirs depuis environ 4000 av. J.-C. jusqu'au début du XXe siècle. Le site offre une vue spectaculaire sur la vallée de la Poyíítahtai et le paysage environnant. La reconnaissance officielle fait référence aux terres circonscrites par les limites du parc provincial Writing-on-Stone, d’une superficie de 1718 hectares, ainsi que ses nombreux sites archéologiques et d’art rupestre.

 

Photo en noir et blanc d'un horizon de parc
Vue générale
© Parcs Canada, 2002
Photo en noir et blanc d'un horizon de parc
Vue générale
© Parcs Canada, 2002

Valeur patrimoniale

Photo d'écriture historique sur pierre
Vue détaillée des gravures rupestres du lieu historique national du Canada Áísínai'pi
© Matthias Süßen / Wikipedia commons / 2011

Áísínai'pi fut désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 2005 pour les raisons suivantes : il s’agit d’un des principaux sites de géographie sacrée des Niitsítapi. Des pouvoirs spirituels sont associés aux formations rocheuses et la vue sur les collines des alentours, connues sous le nom de Kátoyissiksi. L’art rupestre d’Áísínai'pi exprime la rencontre du monde des esprits et du monde matériel; et, l’endroit contient la plus grande concentration d’images d’art rupestre des grandes plaines et certaines œuvres affichent les compositions narratives d’art rupestre les plus complexes et les plus compliquées de toute la région.

Áísínai'pi (« c’est dessiné ou écrit ») représente un des lieux les plus importants de la géographie culturelle et sacrée des Niitsítapi (peuple Pieds-Noirs). Les traditions orales décrivent l’histoire ancienne et les pouvoirs des esprits que l’on retrouve à Aísínai’pi – une histoire et un caractère sacré représentés par plusieurs images d’art rupestre gravées ou peintes sur les falaises de grès bordant la rivière Milk. L’art rupestre exprime la rencontre du monde spirituel et du monde matériel. La plupart des images datent d’avant les premiers contacts avec les Européens et sont représentatives, évoquant des silhouettes humaines et animales ainsi que des objets, souvent sous forme schématique et hautement conventionnelle. Les images, qu’elles soient statiques et cérémoniales ou encore actives et biographiques, sont celles de guerriers portant des boucliers, de cerfs, de bisons, d’antilopes, d’oiseaux et d’animaux mythiques comme l’oiseau de tonnerre.

 

Photo de peinture historique et d'écriture sur pierre
D'une longueur de près d'un mètre, ce pictogramme est le plus grand motif d’oiseau de tonnerre en Amérique du Nord. Pour le moment, il se trouve dans une zone interdite sur le site.
© Photo publiée avec la courtosie d'Alberta Parks
Photo de peinture historique et d'écriture sur pierre
Scène de bataille post-contact de la tradition biographique, montrant des guerriers armés de fusils attaquant un camp de guerriers à cheval. Pour le moment, il se trouve dans une zone interdite sur le site. 
© Photo publiée avec la courtosie d'Alberta Parks

 

Image d'écriture sur pierre
Art rupestre que les visiteurs peuvent voir lors d'une visite guidée à Writing-on-Stone dans la zone réglementée
© Photo publiée avec la courtosie d'Alberta Parks
Image d'écriture sur pierre
Art rupestre que les visiteurs peuvent voir lors d'une visite guidée à Writing-on-Stone dans la zone réglementée
© Photo publiée avec la courtosie d'Alberta Parks

 

Les images et motifs peuvent être simples et isolés ou disposés sur une surface en « scènes » animées et complexes illustrant des cérémonies et des batailles. Les illustrations plus récentes montrent des chevaux et d’autres objets que l’on peut dater et d’origine européenne. Ce symbole visible et évocateur de l’histoire des Autochtones est considéré comme un paysage sacré intimement relié à la présence de Kátoyissiksi, une caractéristique importante de la géographie sacrée des Niitsítapi. Les dramatiques falaises et formations rocheuses de grès qui forment le site sont connues par les Niitsítapi pour héberger de nombreuses créatures puissantes et ont depuis longtemps offert une abondance de lieux importants pour la recherche de visions. Bien que l’art rupestre constitue un important héritage spirituel et culturel, il demeure inséparable de l'ensemble du paysage culturel d’Áísínai'pi.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès-verbal, juillet 1971, Rapport de présentation, déc. 2003.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus