Interior of a temple
Abbotsford Sikh Temple, view of the canopied altar.
© Parks Canada / Danielle Hamelin, 2002

The Abbotsford Sikh Temple was designated a national historic site in 2002.

Commemorative plaque: 33089 South Fraser Way, Abbotsford, British Columbia Footnote 1

In 1911, determined Sikh pioneers from India built this temple, or Gurdwara, with lumber carried from the nearby sawmill where many of them worked. Blending traditional Sikh and western frontier designs, the temple includes a prayer hall and a community kitchen. Not only a place of worship, it also became a centre for the social and political life of South Asian immigrants, helping them forge a vibrant community. Today, this oldest surviving Gurdwara reminds us of the immigrant experience of Sikhs in Canada, and continues to be a sacred symbol of their spirituality.

Description of historic place

Abbotsford Sikh Temple National Historic Site of Canada is located on a one-acre property at the crest of a hill in the centre of Abbotsford, in the Lower Fraser Valley of British Columbia. Built in 1911, this simple, rectangular, gable-roofed building is of wood-frame construction clad in wood siding. The false fronted façade that faces the street is typical of Canadian commercial vernacular architecture of the period. A verandah runs along three sides of the building on the second floor. Official recognition refers to the building and its legal lot.

 

Commemorative bronze plaque on its stand
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Abbotsford Sikh Temple National Historic Site, date unknown
Commemorative bronze plaque in front of a building
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Abbotsford Sikh Temple National Historic Site, located in front of the temple, date unknown

Heritage value

Abbotsford Sikh Temple was designated a national historic site of Canada in 2002 because:

  • it is the oldest surviving example of the temples which played a crucial religious, social and political role in the pioneer phase of Sikh immigration to North America;
  • it continues to embody both the fundamental beliefs of the Sikhs and their early immigrant experience in Canada; and,
  • its architectural form represents a pragmatic adaptation of Sikh traditions to the Canadian context.

The Abbotsford Sikh Temple is an early example of a Sikh temple and was part of a network of temples that represent the pioneering phase of the Sikh community in Canada. Built by early immigrants, the structure reflects the limited resources of the builders and their adaptation of a Canadian architectural type, namely, the false-front building. Built in 1911 and used continuously since then, the temple is evidence of the early roots of the Sikh community and of the larger Indo-Canadian community that is located in this region of Canada. The structure’s simple design blends a Canadian architectural form with all the key elements of a Sikh religious building’s structural traditions including the prayer hall, the four entrance doors, the Sukh Aasan, (the room where the Guru Granth Sahib was kept) and the Granthi’s quarters on the second level, the communal kitchen, and the dining area. These architectural features have religious meaning and symbolize the openness of the temple to all, regardless of caste, creed or colour.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, April 2002; Commemorative Integrity Statement.


Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Intérieur d'un temple
Autel surmonté par un dais au temple sikh d’Abbotsford.
© Parcs Canada / Danielle Hamelin, 2002

Le temple sikh d’Abbotsford a été désigné lieu historique national en 2002.

Plaque commémorative : 33089, chemin South Fraser, Abbotsford, Colombie-Britannique Footnote 1

En 1911, des pionniers sikhs originaires de l'Inde bâtissent ce temple, ou Gurdwara, à même le bois d'une scierie où plusieurs d'entre eux travaillent. D'une architecture caractéristique des débuts de l'Ouest et de la tradition sikh, le temple comporte une salle de prière et une cuisine communautaire. Lieu de culte et centre d'activités politiques et sociales pour les immigrants de l'Asie du Sud, il a contribué à l'éclosion d'une vie communautaire intense. Aujourd'hui, ce Gurdwara, le plus ancien qui subsiste, nous rappelle l'expérience de ces immigrants au Canada et continue d'être un symbole sacré de la spiritualité sikh.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Temple-Sikh-d'Abbotsford est situé sur une propriété d’un acre au sommet d’une colline du centre d’Abbotsford, dans la basse vallée du Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. Construit en 1911, ce bâtiment simple, rectangulaire au toit à pignons comporte une structure de bois recouverte de clin de bois. La fausse façade du côté de la rue est typique du style des immeubles commerciaux d'architecture vernaculaire. Une véranda contourne trois des côtés de l’édifice au deuxième étage. La reconnaissance officielle fait référence à ce bâtiment et à son lot cadastral.

 

Plaque commémorative en bronze sur son socle
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le Lieu historique national du Temple-Sikh-d'Abbotsford, date inconnue
Plaque commémorative en bronze devant un bâtiment
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le Lieu historique national du Temple-Sikh-d'Abbotsford, située devant le temple, date inconnue

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Temple sikh d’Abbotsford a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 2002 pour les raisons suivantes :

  • il s’agit du plus vieil exemple encore existant des temples qui ont joué un rôle religieux, social et politique crucial au cours de la phase des pionniers de l’immigration sikhe en Amérique du Nord;
  • il continue de représenter à la fois les croyances fondamentales des sikhs ainsi que leurs premières expériences en tant qu’immigrants au Canada, et;
  • sa forme architecturale représente une adaptation pragmatique des traditions sikhes au contexte canadien.

Le Temple sikh d’Abbotsford est un exemple des premiers temples sikhs et fait partie d’un réseau de temples qui témoigne de la phase des pionniers de la communauté sikhe au Canada. Construit par les premiers immigrants, la structure reflète les ressources limitées de ses constructeurs ainsi que leur adaptation d’un type d’architecture canadien, la fausse façade. Construit en 1911 et utilisé sans arrêt depuis, ce temple est un vestige des premières racines de la communauté sikhe et de la communauté indo-canadienne dans cette région du Canada. La conception simple de cette structure représente un mélange de formes architecturales canadiennes et d’éléments clés des traditions de construction de bâtiments religieux sikhs, comme la salle de prière, les quatre portes d’entrée, le Sukh Aasan, (la salle où le Guru Granth Sahib était conservé) ainsi que les quartiers du Granthi au deuxième étage, la cuisine communautaire et la salle à manger. Ces éléments architecturaux ont une signification religieuse et symbolisent l’ouverture du temple à tous, sans égard à la caste, à la foi ou à la couleur.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, avril 2002; Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus