Frederic Gage Todd (1876-1948)
Frederic Gabe Todd (date unknown)
© City of Montréal Archives

Frederick Gage Todd was Canada's first professional landscape architect. He learned his craft apprenticing at the celebrated Olmsted firm of Boston and popularized the idea of naturalistic open space in Canadian cities. Todd designed some of the country's most beloved urban parks, including Assiniboine Park in Winnipeg (1904-06), Bowring Park in St. John's, Newfoundland (1912-14), and National Battlefields Parks (Plains of Abraham) in Québec City. He was Canada's leading exponent of the Garden City planning model and a master of City Beautiful and Garden City approaches to community planning; he created sophisticated plans for the Town of Mount Royal (1914) and Coldbrook Garden City near Saint John, New Brunswick (1913). Todd's 1903 plan for Ottawa influenced every subsequent plan for the capital and was the first to outline its most salient features: the driveway system, the concept of Gatineau Park, the importance of waterways and the symbolism of Parliament Hill.

Born in 1876 in Concord, New Hampshire, Todd studied site engineering, botany, biology, and agriculture at the Massachusetts Agricultural College (now the University of Massachusetts at Amherst). In 1896, a year before graduation, he joined Olmsted, Olmsted, and Elliot, launching his career in the firm's Brookline, Massachusetts office. He moved to Montréal in 1900 to supervise the construction of Mount Royal Park. Shortly thereafter, he married Montrealer Beatrice Evelyn Pinkerton and established his own landscape architecture firm in the city.

Following a period of productive work on urban parks, residential suburbs, and urban plans in the beginning of the 20th century, Todd's career enjoyed a renaissance during the 1930s and 1940s. He continued his work on the Plains of Abraham design for National Battlefields Park, on Mount Royal Park (with the creation of Beaver Lake), and in Maisonneuve, with the design of Morgan Boulevard. The landscaping of St. Helen's Island, a recreational park on an island facing downtown Montréal, was a new project that prefigured the Île Notre-Dame Beach Park, which opened in 1990. In this project and others, Todd's designs continued to exert an influence after his death.

In addition to his busy practice, Todd was an advocate for the professions of landscape architecture and city planning. He was a founder of the Town Planning Institute of Canada and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects and Town Planners. As the representative of the Civic Improvement League on the Montréal City Council for eight years, he helped forge policies that shaped the city that he adopted decades before while working on the iconic open space of the city: Mount Royal Park.

Over the course of his lifetime, Todd made an outstanding contribution to Canada's urban and suburban landscapes. He lived in Montréal until his death in 1948 and is buried in Mount Royal Cemetery.

Frederic Gage Todd (1876-1948)
Frederic Gabe Todd (date inconnue)
© Archives de la Ville de Montréal

Frederick Gage Todd est le premier architecte paysagiste professionnel au Canada. Il apprend son métier en tant qu'apprenti au célèbre cabinet Olmsted de Boston et il popularise l'idée des espaces ouverts naturels dans les villes canadiennes. Todd conçoit certains des parcs urbains les plus populaires du pays dont le parc Assiniboine à Winnipeg (1904-1906), le parc Bowring à St. John's, à Terre-Neuve-Labrador (1912-1914) et le parc des Champs-de-Bataille (plaines d'Abraham) à Québec. Il est le principal promoteur du modèle de planification des cités-jardins au Canada et il maîtrise avec brio les mouvements d'urbanisme City Beautiful et cité-jardin. Il conçoit des plans sophistiqués pour la Ville de Mont-Royal (1914) et la cité-jardin de Coldbrook près de Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick (1913). Le plan conçu pour Ottawa par Todd en 1903 influence tous les plans subséquents de la capitale nationale et est le premier à en faire ressortir les principales caractéristiques : le réseau de voies publiques, le concept du parc de la Gatineau, l'importance des voies navigables et le symbolisme de la colline du Parlement.

Né en 1876 à Concord, au New Hampshire, Todd étudie l'ingénierie, la botanique, la biologie et l'agriculture au Massachusetts Agricultural College (aujourd'hui l'Université du Massachusetts à Amherst). En 1896, l'année précédant l'obtention de son diplôme, il rejoint le cabinet d'architecture Olmsted, Olmstead, and Elliot, lançant sa carrière au bureau de Brookline au Massachusetts. En 1900, il s'installe à Montréal pour superviser la construction en cours du parc du Mont-Royal. Peu après, il y épouse la montréalaise Beatrice Evelyn Pinkerton et y établit son propre cabinet d'architecture paysagère.

Après une période de travaux productifs sur les parcs urbains, les banlieues résidentielles et les plans urbains au début du XXe siècle, la carrière de Todd prend un nouvel essor dans les années 1930 et 1940. Il poursuit son travail au parc des Champs-de-Bataille-Nationaux des plaines d'Abraham, au parc du Mont-Royal (avec la création du lac aux Castors) et dans le quartier Maisonneuve (avec la conception de l'avenue Morgan). L'aménagement paysager de l'île Sainte-Hélène, qui fait face au centre-ville de Montréal, allait éventuellement permettre la création du parc plage de l'île Notre-Dame, inauguré en 1990. Ce nouveau projet et les autres œuvres de Todd continuent d'exercer une influence même après sa mort.

En plus d'exercer sa profession, Todd est un défenseur des professions d'architecture paysagère et d'urbanisme. Il est l'un des fondateurs de l'Institut d'urbanisme du Canada et de l'Association des architectes paysagistes et des urbanistes du Canada. En tant que représentant de la Ligue du progrès civique au conseil municipal de Montréal pendant huit ans, il contribue à l'élaboration de politiques qui ont façonné la ville qu'il avait adoptée des décennies auparavant, tout en travaillant à l'aménagement de l'espace ouvert emblématique de la ville : le parc du Mont-Royal.

Au cours de sa vie, Todd a apporté une contribution exceptionnelle aux paysages des villes et des banlieues du Canada. Il vit à Montréal jusqu'à sa mort en 1948 et est enterré au cimetière Mont-Royal.