A curved road lined with large trees, lamp posts, and piles of leaves in autumn.
Uplands
© Dr. Larry McCann.

Uplands is a residential subdivision of 188 hectares located in the northeastern section of Oak Bay, the oldest suburban municipality in Greater Victoria. Designed in 1908 by John C. Olmsted, senior partner at Olmsted Brothers, for Winnipeg real estate developer William Gardner, it is an exceptional example of subdivision design and planning and is among the finest works of a renowned landscape architect. The integrated use of design elements such as a gently curving street pattern, sensitivity to local topography and flora, large, irregular lot shapes, ample provision of parks, and the use of protective deed restrictions helped preserve the subdivision’s character and changed the way suburbs were planned well into the 20th century. The subdivision’s heterogeneous collection of high-quality, architect and builder designed single-family houses illustrates a variety of trends in Canadian suburban housing, from the Arts and Crafts to 21st century Neo-Modern styles. Uplands also preserves elements of First Nations archaeology and landscape practices. Uplands Park contains several First Nations burial cairns, and the preservation of the Garry oak meadows within the park and subdivision are attributed, in part, to the seasonal burning practices of the Songhees First Nation that preceded European colonization.

Uplands contains 600 single-family dwellings housing roughly 2,000 people. Its idyllic coastal site is bordered by the Salish Sea, the Uplands Golf Course, the Municipality of Saanich to the north, and Oak Bay to the southeast. Uplands is among the earliest subdivisions in Canada wholly planned as a residential park – a group of houses arranged in a pastoral setting. The Olmsted firm designed Uplands in the tradition of naturalistic or garden suburbs like Llewellyn Park, New Jersey (1853) and Riverside, Illinois (1869). Novel in Canada at the turn of the century, the residential park typology proved deeply influential.

Uplands’ organic design sits in dramatic contrast with the surrounding municipalities of Greater Victoria, whose boundaries encompass a patchwork of gridiron subdivisions with small, rectangular lots. Like other planned subdivisions in Canada and around the world, Uplands developed in phases. The first house was completed in 1912, and construction continued until 1976, by which time every lot had been built on. A number of the houses in Uplands were designed by Canada’s and British Columbia’s leading architects.

John Charles Olmsted’s respect for local landscapes and his technique of planning “with the land” had the benefit of preserving elements of First Nations archaeology and landscape practices. The Garry oak savannahs that John Olmsted found on site when he first visited in 1907 have successfully been protected and can be seen in yards, parklets, and in Uplands Park, a large natural park covering 31 hectares of land deeded by William Gardner to the municipality in 1946.

De grands arbres, des lampadaires, et des tas de feuilles le long d'une rue courbée en automne.
Uplands
© Larry McCann.

Uplands est un lotissement résidentiel de 188 hectares situé dans la partie nord est d’Oak Bay, la plus ancienne municipalité de banlieue du Grand Victoria. Conçu en 1908 par John C. Olmsted, associé principal dans le cabinet d’architectes Olmsted Brothers, pour William Gardner, promoteur immobilier de Winnipeg, le quartier Uplands est un exemple exceptionnel de conception et de planification de banlieue, et constitue l’une des plus belles œuvres d’un architecte paysager de renom. L’utilisation intégrée d’éléments de conception comme le réseau de rues au tracé légèrement incurvé, le respect de la topographie et de la flore locale, les formes irrégulières et la taille généreuse des terrains, la présence de multiples parcs et les restrictions sur les titres imposés par mesure de protection ont permis de préserver le paysage distinctif du quartier et modifié la façon de concevoir les banlieues pour une bonne partie du XXe siècle. Son regroupement hétérogène d’habitations unifamiliales de haute qualité, conçues par des architectes et des constructeurs, illustre une gamme de tendances observées dans les quartiers de banlieue au Canada, du style Arts and Crafts jusqu’aux styles néo-modernes du XXIe siècle. Uplands préserve également des éléments archéologiques et des pratiques paysagères des Premières Nations. Le parc Uplands comprend plusieurs cairns funéraires des Premières Nations, et la préservation des prés de chênes de Garry dans le parc et le lotissement résidentiel est attribuée en partie aux pratiques saisonnières de brûlage de la Songhees First Nation qui datent d’avant la colonisation par les Européens.

Uplands compte 600 habitations unifamiliales qui abritent quelque 2 000 personnes. Ce site côtier idyllique est bordé par la mer des Salish, le terrain de golf Uplands et les municipalités de Saanich au nord et d’Oak Bay au sud-est. Le quartier Uplands est l’un des premiers lotissements résidentiels au Canada entièrement conçu comme parc résidentiel, c’est-à-dire un ensemble de maisons disposées dans un paysage bucolique. Le cabinet Olmsted conçoit Uplands dans la tradition des banlieues naturalistes ou des cités-jardins comme Llewellyn Park, au New Jersey (1853) et Riverside, en Illinois (1869). Nouveauté au Canada au tournant du siècle, la typologie des parcs résidentiels s’est avérée très influente.

La conception organique d’Uplands contraste de façon spectaculaire avec celle des municipalités avoisinantes du Grand Victoria, dont les limites renferment une mosaïque de lotissements divisés en petits lots rectangulaires. Comme d’autres lotissements résidentiels planifiés au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde, ce quartier s’est développé par étapes. La première maison a été achevée en 1912 et la construction s’est poursuivie jusqu’en 1976, date à laquelle tous les lots avaient été aménagés. Un certain nombre de maisons d’Uplands ont été conçues par les plus grands architectes du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le respect qu’avait John Charles Olmsted pour les paysages locaux et sa technique de planification « avec la territoire » ont eu pour conséquence la préservation d’éléments archéologiques et des pratiques paysagères des Premières Nations. Les savanes de chênes de Garry trouvées sur le site par John Olmsted lors de sa première visite en 1907 ont été protégées et peuvent encore être observées dans les cours, les terrasses publiques et le parc Uplands, un parc naturel de grande dimension qui s’étend sur 31 hectares de terrains légués par William Gardner à la municipalité en 1946.