Sgt. Tommy Prince (R),M.M., 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion, with his brother, Private Morris Prince, at an investiture at Buckingham Palace in February 1945.
© (Christopher J. Woods / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-142289)

Tommy Prince was a prominent Anishinaabe activist and veteran whose brave and tragic life has long held popular resonance. His story is one of the most widely known examples of the wartime contributions of First Nations soldiers in the mid-20th century, and the poor treatment they received upon their return to civilian life in Canada. His accomplishments attracted national media attention during his lifetime and earned him a great many posthumous tributes.

Thomas George Prince was a founding member of the elite 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion and First Special Service Force (Devil’s Brigade) during the Second World War. In 1951, he contributed to the stalwart defence of Hill 677 in the Battle of Kap’yong during the Korean War, for which the United States awarded the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry the Distinguished Unit Citation—the only time a Canadian unit has received this honour. In addition, he was a prominent leader in the First Nations rights movement of the 1940s. He represented the interests of First Nations in Manitoba at the national level, advocating for the abolition of the Indian Act and urging respect for existing treaties during his high-profile testimony before a landmark Special Joint Committee of the Senate and the House of Commons in 1947. The participation of Prince and other First Nations leaders represented important federal recognition of their political leadership that strengthened the movement for First Nations rights.

Prince was born in October 1915 in Petersfield, Manitoba. He was the great-great-grandson of the respected Ojibwa Chief Peguis, and one of eleven children born to Elizabeth and Henry (Harry) Prince. In 1920, they moved their family to Scanterbury, Manitoba, where they lived on the Brokenhead Reserve (Brokenhead Ojibway Nation). At age five, Tommy Prince was forced to leave his community to attend Elkhorn Residential School, where he joined the cadet corps.

In 1940, he volunteered to fight for Canada in the Second World War. He rose from sapper to lance corporal with the Royal Canadian Engineers before volunteering for the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion in 1942. Soon after, he was assigned to the elite 1st Canadian Special Service Battalion, which was attached to the First Special Service Force (Devil’s Brigade). He reached the rank of sergeant by war’s end, and was one of three Canadians to receive both the Silver Star (U.S.) and the Military Medal. King George VI presented him with both honours during a ceremony at Buckingham Palace in 1945, shortly before Prince’s discharge from the army.

After the war, he agreed to serve as spokesperson and vice-president of the Manitoba Indian Association, and appeared on its behalf before a Special Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Commons, tasked with studying the Indian Act. During his testimony in 1947, he advocated for the abolition of the Indian Act and respect for existing treaties, and presented submissions from First Nations in Manitoba, which called for improved schools, better living conditions, and expanded hunting, trapping, and fishing rights.

In 1950, Prince re-enlisted when Canada entered the Korean War. He served with the Second Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry and participated in the stalwart defence of Hill 677 in the Battle of Kap’yong (1951).

Military service took a heavy toll on his health and, following his honourable discharge from the army, he faced a difficult return to civilian life in Manitoba. Tommy Prince endured discrimination, illness, and poverty in the years that followed, and died in 1977.

Le Sergent Tommy Prince (à droite), M.M. Médaille militaire, 1er bataillon de parachutistes canadiens, en compagnie de son frère, le Soldat Morris Prince, à une cérémonie d'investiture au palais de Buckingham.
© (Christopher J. Woods / Canada. Min. de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-142289)

Tommy Prince était un important activiste et ancien combattant anishinaabe dont la vie courageuse et tragique trouve depuis longtemps une résonnance populaire. Son histoire est un des exemples les plus connus des contributions des soldats autochtones en temps de guerre au milieu du XXe siècle, ainsi que du mauvais traitement reçu à leur retour à la vie civile au Canada. Ses réussites ont attiré l’attention des médias nationaux durant sa vie et lui ont mérité de nombreux hommages posthumes. 

Thomas George Prince est membre fondateur du corps d’élite que fut le 1er Bataillon de parachutistes canadien et Première Force de Service spécial (Brigade du diable) pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 1951, il participe à la valeureuse défense de la colline 677 dans la bataille de Kap’yong pendant la guerre de Corée, pour laquelle le Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry reçoit la Distinguished Unit Citation des États-Unis – la seule occasion où une unité canadienne a reçu cette distinction. De plus, il est un dirigeant éminent du mouvement des droits des Premières Nations dans les années 1940. Il représente les intérêts des Premières Nations au Manitoba à l’échelle nationale, préconisant l’abolition de la Loi sur les Indiens, et exigeant le respect des traités existants lors de son témoignage très médiatisé devant un comité spécial mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes en 1947. La participation de Prince et d’autres dirigeants des Premières Nations constitue une étape importante dans la reconnaissance de leurs dirigeants politiques par le gouvernement fédéral, renforçant le mouvement des droits des Premières Nations.

Prince est né en octobre 1915 à Petersfield, au Manitoba. Il est l’arrière-arrière-petit-fils du respecté Chef ojibway Peguis, et l’un des onze enfants issus de l’union d’Elizabeth et Henry (Harry) Prince. En 1920, ils déménagent leur famille à Scanterbury, au Manitoba, pour s’installer dans la réserve de Brokenhead (aujourd’hui la Nation ojibway Brokenhead). À l’âge de cinq ans, Tommy Prince est forcé de quitter sa communauté pour entrer au pensionnat indien d’Elkhorn, où il se joint au corps des Cadets.

En 1940, Prince se porte volontaire pour combattre pour le Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il passe de sapeur à caporal suppléant au sein du Génie royal canadien, avant de se porter volontaire dans le 1er Bataillon de parachutistes canadien en 1942. Peu de temps après, il est affecté au corps d’élite qu’est le 1er Bataillon canadien du service spécial, rattaché au Première Force de Service spécial (Brigade du diable). Devenu sergent à la fin de la guerre, il est l’un des trois Canadiens à recevoir à la fois la Silver Star (É.-U.) et la Médaille militaire. Le roi George VI lui remet les deux décorations lors d’une cérémonie au palais de Buckingham en 1945, peu de temps avant que Prince ne soit libéré de l’armée.

Après la guerre, il accepte d’occuper la fonction de vice-président et de porte-parole de la Manitoba Indian Association et comparaît à ce titre devant un comité spécial mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes chargé d’étudier la Loi sur les Indiens. Lors de son témoignage en 1947, il plaide en faveur de l’abolition de la Loi sur les Indiens et du respect des traités existants. Il y présente également des mémoires de Premières Nations au Manitoba préconisant, par exemple, l’amélioration des écoles, de meilleures conditions de vie et l’élargissement des droits de chasse, de piégeage et de pêche.

Lorsque le Canada s’engage dans la guerre de Corée en 1950, Prince se porte de nouveau volontaire. Il sert avec le 2e Bataillon, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry et prend part à la valeureuse défense de la colline 677 lors de la bataille de Kap’yong (1951).

Le service militaire affecte lourdement sa santé et, après sa libération honorable de l’armée, il fait face à un retour difficile à la vie civile au Manitoba. Tommy Prince fait face à de la discrimination, à la maladie et à la pauvreté dans les années qui suivent. Il décède en 1977.