Portrait of Thomas Adams
Thomas Adams
© Nova Scotia Archives.

Thomas Adams was a prominent town planner in early-20th-century Canada. He influenced the adoption and amendment of provincial planning legislation modelled on the British example in Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island. In the process, he helped to implement and enforce the responsibility of professional planners in the civil service, and strengthened the role of government in managing urban growth. He was also a sought-after planner who provided advice on the design of urban landscapes in Canada and Newfoundland, and led the development of company towns and innovative public housing projects, such as Lindenlea in Ottawa and the Hydrostone district of Halifax, which he planned as part of a broader effort to rebuild the working-class neighbourhood of Richmond after the Halifax Explosion of 1917. These designs, together with his mentorship of other planners, helped advance an approach to planning that married a City Efficient philosophy with the characteristic elements of a Garden City. In addition, he led the early professionalization of planning in Canada, establishing the first professional journal (1915), publishing the influential Rural Planning and Development: A Study of Rural Conditions and Problems in Canada (1917), and serving as founding president of the Town Planning Institute of Canada in 1919, which continues to provide leadership to planning professionals as the Canadian Institute of Planners.

Born in the Scottish village of Corstophine, Thomas Adams was largely self-educated and held a variety of positions before he joined the Garden City Association in 1901. He played a leading role in its development of several model Garden Cities on the British Isles, including the well-known Letchworth Hall estate. In 1909, he joined the British Local Government Board as Town Planning Assistant, a position that brought him to North America. Recruited by the Canadian Commission of Conservation, which was exploring the possibilities of urban reform, Adams served as its Town Planning Advisor from 1914 until its abolition in 1921. Thereafter, Adams and other members of its Town Planning Branch came under the purview of the National Parks Division of the Department of the Interior. He remained in this position until 1923.

During his short time in Canada, from 1914 to 1923, Adams used his position as Town Planning Advisor to the federal government and his authority as a prominent British planning expert to advance the profession of town planning. He advocated for the adoption of planning legislation, published landmark studies, and established the Town Planning Institute of Canada in 1919. In addition, he consulted on the design of communities across Canada and Newfoundland.

After 1921, Adams spent more and more time in the United States, where he consulted on planning projects and lectured at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. When his contract with the federal public service ended in 1923, Adams left Canada, and accepted an appointment as Director of Plans and Surveys for the Committee on the Regional Plan of New York and Its Environs. He resigned in 1929, after leading the preparation of a ground-breaking, 10-volume regional plan for New York. Adams taught planning at Harvard University and published several more books before his death in Sussex, England, in 1940, after a short illness.

Portrait de Thomas Adams
Thomas Adams
© Les archives de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Thomas Adams est un éminent urbaniste au début du XXe siècle au Canada. Il a influencé l’adoption et la modification de lois provinciales sur l’urbanisme inspirées de l’exemple britannique en Ontario, en Saskatchewan, en Alberta, au Manitoba, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. À travers ce processus, il a participé à faire de la mise en œuvre et de l’exécution la responsabilité des urbanistes professionnels dans la fonction publique, en plus de renforcer le rôle du gouvernement dans la gestion de la croissance urbaine. Urbaniste prisé, il a donné des conseils sur la conception de paysages urbains au Canada et à Terre-Neuve, et a dirigé la création de villes de compagnie et de projets de logements sociaux novateurs, dont le quartier Lindenlea à Ottawa et l’arrondissement Hydrostone à Halifax, qui faisait partie d’un vaste effort de reconstruction du quartier ouvrier de Richmond à la suite de l’explosion d’Halifax en 1917. Ces projets, ainsi que son mentorat à l’égard d’autres urbanistes, ont contribué à faire progresser une approche d’urbanisme qui mariait la philosophie de ville intégrée avec les éléments caractéristiques d’une cité-jardin. De plus, il a guidé les débuts de la professionnalisation de l’urbanisme au Canada en établissant la première revue professionnelle du domaine (1915), en publiant l’important ouvrage intitulé Rural Planning and Development : A Study of Rural Conditions and Problems in Canada (1917) et en occupant la fonction de président fondateur de l’Institut d’urbanisme du Canada en 1919, qui demeure une autorité auprès des urbanistes professionnels en tant qu’Institut canadien des urbanistes.

Né dans le village écossais de Corstorphine, Thomas Adams est en bonne partie autodidacte et occupe divers postes avant de se joindre à la Garden City Association en 1901. Il y joue un rôle prépondérant dans le développement de plusieurs cités-jardins modèles dans les îles Britanniques, dont le domaine bien connu de Letchworth Hall. En 1909, il se joint au Local Government Board de Grande-Bretagne à titre d’urbaniste adjoint, poste qui l’amène en Amérique du Nord. Recruté par la Commission de la conservation au Canada, qui explore les possibilités de réforme urbaine, Adams occupe le poste de conseiller en urbanisme de 1914 jusqu’à son abolition en 1921. Dorénavant, Adams et d’autres membres de la Direction de l’urbanisme relèvent de la Division des parcs nationaux du ministère de l’Intérieur. Il continue d’exercer ces fonctions jusqu’en 1923.

Durant la courte période qu’il passe au Canada, de 1914 à 1923, Adams utilise son poste de conseiller en urbanisme au gouvernement fédéral et son autorité d’éminent expert britannique en urbanisme pour faire valoir la profession d’urbaniste. Il défend ardemment l’adoption de lois d’urbanisme, il publie des études marquantes et il met sur pied l’Institut d’urbanisme du Canada en 1919. De plus, il est consulté au sujet de la conception de communautés partout au Canada et à Terre-Neuve, notamment l’arrondissement Hydrostone, à Halifax.

Après 1921, Adams passe de plus en plus de temps aux États-Unis, où il agit comme expert-conseil pour des projets d’urbanisme et il enseigne au Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Lorsque son mandat au sein de la fonction publique fédérale prend fin en 1923, Adams quitte le Canada et accepte une nomination de Director of Plans and Surveys pour le Committee on the Regional Plan of New York and Its Environs. Il démissionne en 1929, après avoir dirigé la préparation d’un plan régional innovant en dix volumes pour New York. Adams enseigne l’urbanisme à l’Université Harvard et publie plusieurs autres ouvrages avant sa mort en 1940, dans le Sussex, en Angleterre, des suites d’une brève maladie.