Four men hold up a large piece of a torpedo after the German U-boat attacks.
German U-Boat Attacks at Bell Island
© Lt Gerald M. Moses, Canada. Dept. of National Defence, Library and Archives Canada, PA-188854.

During the Second World War, Newfoundland’s Bell Island, a strategically vital iron-ore processing and shipping centre in Conception Bay, was targeted by German U-boats seeking to disrupt the supply of iron ore to Canada’s steel mills. In September and November 1942, ships in Bell Island’s harbour and Scotia Pier itself were attacked by German U-boats, with the sinking of four merchant ships, the loss of 70 men, and the destruction of the pier. The soldiers and civilians of Bell Island cared for the survivors and buried the dead from the U-boat attacks. The funerals were the largest in the history of Bell Island, and the deadly attacks spurred the Canadian and Newfoundland governments to construct anti-submarine nets at Conception Bay in December 1942.

For much of the 20th century, Bell Island was a strategically important site for Newfoundland and Canada. Its iron ore mines were a major supplier for Cape Breton’s steel mills, accounting for more than one-third of Canada’s steel production and an integral part of Canada’s military-industrial war effort. Their strategic value and their vulnerability to attack from the sea was quickly recognized by the two governments. Two 4.7-inch guns and two searchlights in the nearby cliffs were installed and manned by Royal Canadian Artillery personnel until the Newfoundland Militia’s 1st Coastal Defence Battery took over in August 1940.

When the war broke out in 1939, Nazi Germany sent its U-boats into the North Atlantic to destroy the merchant ship convoys supply line between North America and Great Britain. For Bell Islanders, the U-boat anti-merchant terror struck its greatest blows in 1942. On September 5, two ships at anchor in Bell Island and nearby Little Bell Island, SS Saganaga and SS Lord Strathcona, were sunk just before noon by German U-boat U-513. Despite being fired upon by other ships in the harbour and by the Newfoundland Militia’s shore battery, U-513 sailed away from Bell Island intact.

Even with an increase in naval strength around Bell Island, German U-boats attacked Bell Island again two months later. In the early morning of November 2, U-518 fired a torpedo at Anna T, a 3000-ton coal boat anchored off Bell Island’s Scotia Pier. The torpedo missed Anna T and struck the pier, causing more than $30,000 in damage (a considerable sum in 1942) and shattering windows on the island. U-518 then fired two torpedoes at SS Rose Castle and also sank The Free French vessel PLM 27 before escaping.

In addition to engulfing four merchant ships, the German U-Boat attacks killed 70 men and thousands of tons of valuable iron ore sank to the bottom of Bell Island’s harbour. In the aftermath of these tragic events, the doctors, nurses, and ordinary civilians of Bell Island cared for the survivors. The 1942 attacks continue to resonate today, generating books, articles, and television documentaries, as well as the interest of sports divers seeking to explore the sunken iron-ore vessels that are still visible on a clear day.

Quatre hommes soulevent un morceau d'une torpille après les attaques par des sous-marins allemands.
Les attaques par des sous-marins allemands à l’île Bell
© Lt Gerald M. Moses, Canada. Défense nationale, Bibliothèques et Archives Canada, PA-188854.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’île Bell de Terre-Neuve est un centre crucial sur le plan stratégique de traitement et d’expédition de minerai de fer à la baie de la Conception et est la cible des sous-marins allemands qui cherchent à perturber l’approvisionnement en minerai de fer des aciéries canadiennes. En septembre et novembre 1942, les navires au quai Scotia et au port de l’île Bell sont attaqués par des sous-marins allemands, ce qui entraîne le naufrage de quatre navires marchands, la perte de 70 hommes et la destruction du quai. Les soldats et les civils de l’île Bell s’occupent des survivants et enterrent les morts à la suite de ces attaques. Les funérailles qui suivent sont les plus importantes de l’histoire de l’île Bell. Ces attaques meurtrières inciteront les gouvernements du Canada et de Terre-Neuve à construire des filets anti-sous-marins à la baie de la Conception en décembre 1942.

Pendant la majeure partie du XXe siècle, l’île Bell occupe une position stratégique importante pour Terre-Neuve et le Canada. Ses mines de minerai de fer sont un important fournisseur des aciéries du Cap-Breton, représentant plus du tiers de la production d'acier du Canada et faisant partie intégrante de l'effort de guerre militaire et industrielle du Canada. Leur valeur stratégique et leur vulnérabilité aux attaques en provenance de la mer sont rapidement reconnues par les deux gouvernements. Deux canons de 4,7 pouces et deux projecteurs dans les falaises avoisinantes sont installés et manœuvrés par le personnel de l'Artillerie royale canadienne jusqu'à ce que la 1re batterie côtière de la milice de Terre-Neuve prenne la relève en août 1940.

Lorsque la guerre éclate en 1939, l’Allemagne nazie envoie ses sous-marins dans l’Atlantique Nord pour détruire la ligne d’approvisionnement des convois de navires marchands entre l’Amérique du Nord et la Grande-Bretagne. Pour les habitants de l’île Bell, la terreur anti-marchande occasionnée par les sous-marins allemands atteint son paroxysme en 1942. Le 5 septembre, deux navires ancrés à l’île Bell et à l’île Little Bell non loin de là, le S.S. Saganaga et le S.S. Lord Strathcona, sont coulés un peu avait midi par le sous-marin allemand U-513. Essuyant les coups de feu d’autres navires du havre et de la batterie côtière de la milice de Terre-Neuve, le U-513 quitte l’île Bell indemne.

Malgré l’intensification de la force maritime autour de l’île Bell, les sous-marins allemands prennent encore une fois l’île Bell d’assaut deux mois plus tard. Au petit matin du 2 novembre, le U-518 lance une torpille vers l’Anna T, un navire charbonnier de 3 000 tonnes ancré au quai Scotia de l’île Bell. La torpille rate sa cible, mais heurte le quai, entraînant des dommages évalués à plus de 30 000 $ (une somme considérable en 1942) et fracassant des fenêtres sur l’île. Le U-518 lance ensuite deux torpilles vers le S.S. Rose Castle et coule aussi le navire de la France Libre PLM 27 avant de prendre la fuite.

En plus d’engloutir quatre navires marchands, les attaques des sous-marins allemands coûtent la vie à 70 hommes et des milliers de tonnes de précieux minerai de fer sombrent au fond du havre de l’île Bell. Lors de ces événements tragiques, les médecins, les infirmières et les civils de l’île Bell se portent au secours des survivants. Les attaques de 1942 continuent d’avoir un écho jusqu’à nos jours. Elles sont relatées dans des livres, des articles et des documentaires pour la télévision, et suscitent l’intérêt des plongeurs amateurs désireux d’explorer les épaves chargées de minerai de fer qui sont encore visibles par beau temps.