Reader Rock Garden from 25th Street SW and McLeod Trail.
© J. Cousineau, Parks Canada

Established in 1913 and developed until 1942, this garden is a showcase for the horticultural, ecological, and aesthetic possibilities of gardening in the harsh climate of Calgary. Its creation demonstrates the need to illustrate the potential of gardening in Western Canada. In its heyday, it was regarded as one of the most beautiful and successful gardens in Western Canada, combining the informal aesthetics of the Edwardian Arts and Crafts movement with the structure and content of the highly popular alpine rock garden typology. Its founder, William Roland Reader, was one of a small number of municipal parks superintendents in Canada who significantly shaped the open space systems of their cities through professional skill and knowledge, personal energy, dedication, and long-service. This garden supported horticultural work in the larger urban parks system, including the adjacent cemeteries developed by Reader.

Reader Rock Garden is built into a steep hillside south of downtown Calgary. It is an Arts and Crafts style alpine rockery, a garden type popular in Europe and North America at the beginning of the 20th century. Rock gardens of this type feature naturalism, informality, hardy plant species, and microscopic alpine settings within the garden. Reader Rock Garden consists of a matrix of rock paths, steps, and walls that form numerous planting beds divided into sections containing thousands of native and non-native plant specimens.

Although the century-old garden can be appreciated for the beauty of its plantings and the ingenuity of its design, it is also interesting as an example of how the horticultural possibilities of the Canadian Prairies were promoted when European settlement in Western Canada was in its infancy. Reader created one of the few significant gardens in Western Canada in an environment believed to be hostile to agricultural endeavour. Undaunted by desert-like conditions, chinook winds, and extremes of temperature, his personal garden became not only a vehicle for promoting settlement but also a successful experiment in civic beautification. Taking inspiration from the City Beautiful movement, which linked civic beauty with social progress, as well as Thomas Mawson’s garden-city plan for Calgary, Reader worked tirelessly to advance the City Beautiful principles he believed would draw settlers to the region. Species cultivated successfully in Reader’s garden and propagated in his nurseries were planted throughout Calgary as part of the Calgary Parks’ mission. Private citizens were encouraged to follow Reader’s example, having also been invited to visit his garden and take inspiration from it.

To the extent that trees, parks, and gardens of all kinds can be seen to flourish in southern Alberta, they owe a significant debt to the horticultural achievements of William Roland Reader, the fruits of which can be enjoyed in the Reader Rock Garden today.

Reader Rock Garden vue de la 25th Street SW et McLeod Trail.
© J. Cousineau, Parcs Canada

Fondé en 1913 et aménagé jusqu’en 1942, ce jardin présente des possibilités horticoles, écologiques et esthétiques auxquelles se prête le jardinage dans le climat rigoureux de Calgary. Sa création démontre la nécessité d’illustrer la possibilité de jardiner dans l’ouest du Canada. À son apogée, le jardin était considéré comme l’un des plus beaux et des plus réussis de l’Ouest canadien, par son mariage de l’esthétique informelle du mouvement Arts and Crafts édouardien avec la structure et le contenu des très populaires des jardins de rocaille alpins. Son fondateur, William Roland Reader, faisait partie d’un petit groupe de directeurs de parcs municipaux qui, par leurs compétences et leurs connaissances professionnelles, leur dynamisme, leur dévouement et leurs services continus, contribuèrent grandement à façonner les espaces ouverts de leurs villes au Canada. Ce jardin appuyait le travail horticole réalisé dans le réseau élargi des parcs urbains, y compris dans les cimetières adjacents aménagés par Reader.

Le Reader Rock Garden est aménagé sur une colline escarpée au sud du centre ville de Calgary. Il s’agit d’un jardin de rocaille alpin typique du mouvement Arts and Crafts, un modèle de jardin en vogue en Europe et en Amérique du Nord au début du XXe siècle. Les jardins de rocaille de ce type ont un aspect naturaliste et informel et renferment des espèces de végétaux rustiques et des milieux alpins microscopiques. Le Reader Rock Garden est composé d’une matrice de marches, de murets et d’allées en pierre qui encadrent de nombreuses planches de culture divisées en sections où poussent des milliers de spécimens de plantes indigènes et non indigènes.

Bien que ce jardin centenaire puisse être admiré pour la beauté de ses plantations et l’ingéniosité de sa conception, il constitue aussi un exemple intéressant de la promotion des possibilités horticoles faites dans les prairies canadiennes à l’époque où la colonisation par les Européens dans l’Ouest canadien en était à ses débuts. Reader a créé l’un des quelques jardins importants de l’ouest du Canada dans un milieu considéré comme hostile à l’agriculture. Il ne s’est pas laissé décourager par les conditions désertiques, le vent chinook et les écarts de températures extrêmes. Son jardin personnel est devenu non seulement un véhicule de promotion de la colonisation, mais aussi une expérience réussie d’embellissement municipal. S’inspirant du mouvement City Beautiful, qui associait la beauté des villes au progrès social, et du plan de ville-jardin établi par Thomas Mawson pour Calgary, Reader a travaillé sans relâche pour appliquer les principes du mouvement City Beautiful qui, croyait-il, attireraient les pionniers dans la région. Les espèces qui florissaient dans le jardin de Reader et qui se multipliaient dans ses pépinières ont été plantées dans toute la ville dans le cadre de la mission de l’organisme Calgary Parks. Les citoyens étaient encouragés à suivre l’exemple de Reader en les invitant à visiter son jardin et à s’en inspirer.

La richesse des arbres, des parcs et des jardins de tous genres dans le sud de l’Alberta est en grande partie attribuable aux exploits horticoles de William Roland Reader, à qui nous devons une fière chandelle et dont les résultats sont encore visibles dans le Reader Rock Garden aujourd’hui.