Portrait of Donald Strathearn Rawson
Donald Strathearn Rawson
© University of Saskatchewan, University Archives & Special Collections, Photograph Collection, A-3380.

Donald Strathearn Rawson was a pioneering professional limnologist in western Canada in the first half of the 20th century. He conducted scientific studies of inland aquatic ecosystems, including the first extensive studies of the large lakes of the northwest, including Great Slave Lake and Lake Athabasca. His limnological research on Great Slave Lake led to its classification as a body of water of comparable production to the upper Great Lakes, and to the establishment of a lucrative commercial fishery there in 1945. Through his research, principally his holistic limnological chart titled “Trophic Nature of the Lake,” Rawson helped scientists understand the interrelated factors that determine a lake’s productivity levels (the amount of algae, aquatic plants, and animal life that a lake can support). This led to the development by others of the “morphoedaphic index” (MEI), a widely used tool providing limnologists with a means of predicting a lake’s productivity that balances the effects of shape and mineral content of the lake’s basin.

Rawson was born near Uxbridge, Ontario, and educated in biology at the University of Toronto, where he specialized in the emerging field of limnology. In 1928, he joined the biology department at the University of Saskatchewan, which he led as department chair from 1949 to 1961. Saskatchewan’s Fisheries Branch sponsored Rawson’s work for more than a decade, establishing a Fisheries Laboratory at the University of Saskatchewan’s Department of Biology, with Rawson at its head from 1948 to 1960. Rawson operated in the nexus between limnology, conservation, and the study and management of fisheries, writing scientific reports that also detailed the potential productivity of lakes for commercial fisheries. As an early Canadian limnologist, Rawson contributed to the growth of this relatively new scientific field, advancing Canadian science at the national and international levels.

Between 1928 and 1935, he conducted pioneering studies on lakes and fisheries in Prince Albert National Park (Saskatchewan) and Riding Mountain National Park (Manitoba). He adopted a novel and holistic (all-inclusive, universal) approach to limnological studies of lakes, involving an interdependence of factors such as human impact, edaphic conditions (soil factors and how they affect living organisms), the shape of a lake’s basin, and climate, leading to a better understanding of lake productivity and fisheries potential.

In recognition of his contributions to scientific research and conservation, Rawson was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1944) and made a member of the Fisheries Research Board of Canada (1959-61). He also served on the Royal Commission on the Fisheries of Saskatchewan (1946-47), was president of the Canadian Committee for Freshwater Fisheries Research (1951), and the Limnological Society of America (1947), the international limnological organization. In addition, he helped found the Canadian Society of Wildlife and Fishery Biologists in 1958 (now known as the Canadian Society of Environmental Biologists), an organization dedicated to research and conservation of natural resources.

Portrait de Donald Strathearn Rawson
Donald Strathearn Rawson
© Université de la Saskatchewan, Archives et collections spéciales, Collection photographique, A-3380.

Donald Strathearn Rawson est un pionnier de la limnologie professionnelle dans l’Ouest canadien dans la première moitié du XXe siècle. Il mène des études scientifiques sur les écosystèmes aquatiques intérieurs, notamment les premières études scientifiques approfondies sur les grands lacs du Nord-Ouest, dont le Grand lac des Esclaves et le lac Athabasca. Ses recherches limnologiques sur le Grand lac des Esclaves permettent de le catégoriser comme un plan d’eau de production comparable à celle des Grands Lacs d’amont, et d’y établir des activités de pêche commerciale lucrative en 1945. À travers ses travaux scientifiques, en particulier son graphique limnologique holistique intitulé « Trophic Nature of the Lake », Rawson aident les scientifiques à comprendre les facteurs interreliés qui influencent la productivité lacustre (le niveau d’algues, de plantes et de faune aquatiques qu’un lac peut supporter). Ces travaux mènent d’autres spécialistes à créer l’« indice morphoédaphique » (IME), un outil couramment utilisé par les limnologues afin de prédire la productivité lacustre en tenant compte de la forme du bassin d’un lac et des minéraux qu’il contient.

Rawson naît près d’Uxbridge, en Ontario, et étudie la biologie à l’Université de Toronto, où il se spécialise dans le domaine émergent de la limnologie. En 1928, il se joint au Département de biologie de l’Université de la Saskatchewan, dont il devient directeur de 1949 à 1961. La direction des pêches de la Saskatchewan finance son travail pendant plus d’une décennie, lui permettant d’établir un laboratoire dédié aux pêches au Département de biologie de l’Université de la Saskatchewan dont Rawson assure la direction de 1948 à 1960. Les activités de Rawson le placent au point de rencontre entre la limnologie, la conservation et l’étude et la gestion des pêches, rédigeant des rapports scientifiques qui exposent en détail la productivité lacustre potentielle pour la pêche commerciale. Limnologue canadien d’avant-garde, Rawson contribue à l’acquisition de connaissances scientifiques dans ce domaine relativement nouveau, ce qui permet l’avancée des sciences aux niveaux national et international.

De 1928 à 1935, Rawson dirige des études d’avant-garde sur les lacs et la pêche au parc national de Prince Albert, en Saskatchewan, et au parc national du Mont-Riding, au Manitoba. Rawson adopte une approche novatrice et globale (inclusive et universelle) pour l’étude limnologique des lacs, se penchant sur l’interdépendance des facteurs, tels que les répercussions des activités humaines, les conditions édaphiques (c’est-à-dire les variables liées au sol et les effets qu’elles peuvent avoir sur les organismes vivants), la forme d’un bassin et le climat. Cette méthode lui permet de mieux comprendre la productivité lacustre et le potentiel des pêches.

Grâce à ses contributions à la recherche scientifique et à la conservation, Rawson est élu membre de la Société royale du Canada (1944) et nommé membre de l’Office des recherches sur les pêcheries du Canada (1959-1961). De plus, il siège à la Royal Commission on the Fisheries of Saskatchewan (1946-1947) et occupe les postes de président au Canadian Committee for Freshwater Fisheries Research (1951) et à la Limnological Society of America (1947), l’organisation internationale de limnologie. Qui plus est, il contribue, en 1958, à la création de la Société canadienne des biologistes de la faune et des pêches (maintenant connue sous le nom de Société canadienne des biologistes de l’environnement), une organisation vouée à la recherche et à la conservation des ressources naturelles.