Backgrounder

Viola Desmond
Viola Desmond, early 1940s
Used with permission of Wanda Robson

In mid-20th century Canada, Viola Desmond brought nationwide attention to the African Nova Scotian community’s struggle for equal rights. An African-Canadian businesswoman, she confronted the racism that Black Nova Scotians routinely faced by refusing to sit in a segregated space in a public theatre in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia in 1946. After her arrest and conviction on spurious charges that concealed racial discrimination behind the arrest, Desmond fought the charges with the help of the Nova Scotia Association for the Advancement of Coloured People (NSAACP). Now a symbol of the struggle for equal rights, Viola Desmond’s defiance in the face of injustice became a rallying cry for Black Nova Scotians and Canadians determined to end racial discrimination.

Viola Desmond was born in 1914, the daughter of a middle-class mixed-race family in Halifax. When Desmond graduated from high school she worked as a teacher in Black schools, one of very few employment avenues open to her. Black women in Nova Scotia were restricted from going to beauty salons and studying beauty culture (hair-styling, cosmetics, or wig making), so Desmond attended schools in Montréal and New York. When she obtained her diplomas she opened a salon and eventually a beauty school beside her husband Jack Desmond’s barbershop in Halifax. As an entrepreneur, she achieved financial independence and became a role model to African-Canadian women through the success of her enterprises, which included skin and hair care products for Black women that had previously been unavailable to Nova Scotians.

In November of 1946, Viola Desmond was travelling on business from Halifax to Sydney, Nova Scotia, when car trouble obliged her to stop overnight in New Glasgow. She attended a local movie theatre where she encountered segregated seating rules. When told to move to another seat, she refused to comply. She was forcibly removed from the theatre, arrested, held in jail overnight, and then charged, tried, and convicted with tax evasion. That charge, based on the one cent difference in tax between floor and balcony seats, was the only legal infraction that could be invoked to justify placing her in jail.

The physical injury, humiliation, and injustice that Desmond suffered outraged the Nova Scotian Black community. The newly established NSAACP took her case on and engaged a lawyer to contest her conviction. Although they did not succeed in overturning her conviction, the case became a rallying point for Black Nova Scotians seeking to end discrimination in their province. Viola Desmond’s act of defiance has since become iconic for Canadians, representing a turning point in the struggle for rights in Canada.

Fiche d’information

Viola Desmond
Viola Desmond, début des années 1940
Utilisé avec la permission de Wanda Robson

Au milieu du XXe siècle, au Canada, Viola Desmond attire l’attention du pays sur la lutte de la communauté noire néo-écossaise pour l’égalité des droits. Entrepreneure afro-canadienne, elle s’oppose au racisme quotidien dont sont victimes les Néo-Écossais noirs en refusant de s’asseoir dans la section ségréguée d’un cinéma à New Glasgow, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1946. Après son arrestation et sa condamnation, fondée sur des accusations frauduleuses pour cacher la discrimination raciale, elle conteste la décision en cour avec l’aide de la Nova Scotia Association for the Advancement of Coloured People (NSAACP). Désormais un symbole de la lutte pour l’égalité des droits, la révolte de Viola Desmond contre l’injustice a été un cri de ralliement pour les Néo-Écossais noirs et les Canadiens déterminés à mettre fin à la discrimination raciale.

Viola Desmond naît à Halifax en 1914 au sein d’une famille multiraciale de classe moyenne. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaire, elle travaille comme enseignante dans des écoles fréquentées par des Noirs, l’une des rares possibilités d’emploi auxquelles elle a accès. Puisque les femmes noires en Nouvelle-Écosse ne peuvent ni fréquenter un salon de beauté ni étudier en soins de beauté (coiffure, cosmétique ou fabrication de perruques), elle fréquente des écoles à Montréal et à New York. Diplômes en main, elle ouvre un salon de beauté et, ultérieurement, une école en soins de beauté à côté du salon de coiffure pour hommes de son mari, Jack Desmond, à Halifax. Étant entrepreneure, elle acquiert une autonomie financière et devient un modèle pour les Afro-Canadiennes grâce au succès de ses entreprises, lesquelles comprennent la vente de produits de soins de la peau et pour les cheveux aux femmes noires, produits auxquels les Néo-Écossaises n’avaient pas accès auparavant.

En novembre 1946, Viola voyage pour affaires d’Halifax à Sydney, en Nouvelle-Écosse; des problèmes de voiture l’oblige à s’arrêter pour la nuit à New Glasgow. Elle se rend au cinéma local où les sections de sièges sont ségréguées selon la couleur de la peau. Lorsqu’on lui demande de s’asseoir à un autre endroit, elle refuse. Elle est expulsée de force du cinéma, arrêtée et emprisonnée pour la nuit. Le jour suivant, elle est accusée, jugée puis condamnée pour évasion fiscale. Ce chef d’accusation, fondé sur la différence d’un cent en taxe entre le prix d’une place au parterre et d’une place au balcon, est la seule infraction à la loi pouvant être invoquée pour justifier sa détention.

Les blessures physiques, l’humiliation et l’injustice subies par Desmond provoquent l’indignation de la communauté noire néo-écossaise. La NSAACP, nouvellement formée, décide de s’occuper de cette affaire et embauche un avocat pour contester la condamnation devant les tribunaux. Bien qu’ils ne réussissent pas à annuler la condamnation, l’affaire devient un cri de ralliement pour les Néo-Écossais noirs qui veulent mettre fin à la discrimination dans leur province. Le geste de contestation posé par Viola est depuis devenu un symbole pour les Canadiens et représente un moment décisif dans la lutte pour les droits au Canada.