The Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA) was the first global Black nationalist organization with a chapter in Canada, and played a crucial role in fostering unity and pride among Canadians of African descent. The UNIA established an organizational framework within which Black Canadians could develop their talents and assume positions of leadership at a time when they were denied these opportunities elsewhere. Liberty Halls, whether owned or rented by the UNIA, were centres for Black political, social, and cultural activity when Black Canadians had little access to spaces that made community gatherings possible. The organization fostered a strong West Indian-Canadian leadership, further binding the members of this motivated ethnic group to each other and to a national and international network of proud Black activists.

The UNIA was founded in Jamaica in 1914 by Marcus Mosiah Garvey. Within less than a decade, it evolved to become the central organ of the largest global Black nationalist movement in history, with over 1,000 chapters in 40 countries. In June 1919, the first Canadian division of the UNIA opened in Montréal, followed closely by one in Toronto in December of the same year. By 1922, there were 32 chapters of the UNIA in Canada, ranging geographically from Sidney, Nova Scotia, to Victoria, British Columbia. One quarter of Black Canadians, or close to 5,000 people, are believed to have been members of the UNIA at its peak in the early 1920s. After Marcus Garvey’s death in 1940, activity and membership went into decline. The Toronto division closed in 1982, but the Montréal division continues to offer services today.

Historically, the UNIA’s numerous executive positions were filled by men and women who ran weekly meetings, regional conferences and international conventions, raised funds, organized classes, and ran subsidiary social and cultural groups such as the Black Cross Nurses, the School of African Philosophy, and the Literary Club, among many others. By providing leadership roles within the organization, the UNIA deliberately cultivated a Black leadership class in Canada at a time when such opportunities were limited. The UNIA’s Liberty Halls were the site of the majority of the UNIA’s activities, and the purchase of a hall was a major accomplishment for Canada’s UNIA chapters. They were some of the few places, other than churches, where large gatherings of Black Canadians were allowed to occur.

The success of the UNIA in Canada is closely associated with the West Indians who made up a majority of its members in Canada and were especially dominant in the major urban centres and in Nova Scotia. In addition to connecting them to a global diaspora of West Indians economic migrants and UNIA members worldwide, the UNIA offered Afro-Caribbean immigrants an instrument with which to mitigate the systemic racism that affected their ability to find housing and employment and circumscribed their social activity. West Indian leaders of UNIA modeled lives of engagement and activism for their own communities and for all Canadians.

À titre de première organisation mondiale de nationalisme noir avec une section au Canada, l'Universal Negro Improvement Association (Association universelle pour la promotion des Noirs ou UNIA) a joué un rôle déterminant en favorisant l'unité et la fierté des Canadiens d'ascendance africaine. L'UNIA a établi un cadre organisationnel dans lequel les Canadiens noirs pouvaient développer leurs talents et exercer des fonctions de leadership à une époque où de telles occasions leur étaient refusées ailleurs. Les Liberty Halls de l'UNIA, des salles louées ou appartenant à l'organisation, constituaient des centres d'activité politique, sociale et culturelle pour les Canadiens noirs à une époque où ils avaient peu accès à des endroits permettant des rassemblements communautaires. L'Association a consolidé le leadership des Canadiens d'origine antillaise, liant encore plus étroitement les uns aux autres les membres de ce groupe ethnique motivé et à un réseau national et international de fiers militants noirs.

L'UNIA a été fondée en Jamaïque en 1914 par Marcus Mosiah Garvey. En moins d'une décennie, elle a évolué pour finalement devenir l'organe central du plus important mouvement nationaliste noir mondial de l'histoire, comptant plus de 1 000 sections dans 40 pays. En juin 1919, la première division canadienne de l'UNIA a ouvert ses portes à Montréal, suivie de près par celle de Toronto en décembre de la même année. En 1922, l'UNIA comptait 32 sections au Canada, s'étendant géographiquement de Sidney, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique. Un quart des Canadiens noirs, soit près de 5 000 personnes, auraient été membres de l'UNIA à son apogée au début des années 1920. Après la mort de Garvey en 1940, les activités de l'organisation et le nombre de membres ont commencé à décliner. La division de Toronto a fermé ses portes en 1982, mais celle de Montréal continue aujourd'hui d'offrir des services.

Historiquement, de nombreux postes de cadres de l'UNIA étaient occupés par des hommes et des femmes qui présidaient des réunions hebdomadaires, des conférences régionales et des colloques internationaux en plus de recueillir des fonds, d'organiser des cours et de diriger des groupes sociaux et culturels subsidiaires comme les Black Cross Nurses, la School of African Philosophy et le Literary Club, entre autres. En confiant des rôles de leadership aux membres de l'organisation, l'UNIA cultivait délibérément une classe de dirigeants noirs au Canada à une époque où de telles possibilités étaient limitées. La majorité des activités de l'UNIA se déroulaient dans les Liberty Halls, salles dont l'achat représentait un accomplissement majeur pour les sections du Canada. À l'exception des églises, il s'agissait de l'un des rares endroits où les Canadiens noirs avaient le droit de se rassembler en grand nombre.

Le succès de l'UNIA au Canada est étroitement associé aux Antillais, qui composaient la majorité de ses membres au Canada, et qui étaient particulièrement prédominants dans les grands centres urbains et en Nouvelle-Écosse. En plus de les mettre en relation avec des membres de l'UNIA partout dans le monde et une diaspora mondiale de migrants économiques originaires des Antilles, l'UNIA constituait pour les immigrants afro-antillais un instrument leur permettant d'atténuer le racisme systémique qui réduisait leur capacité à trouver un logement et un emploi et qui limitait leurs activités sociales. Les dirigeants antillais de l'UNIA sont des modèles d'engagement et de militantisme pour les membres de leur propre communauté et pour l'ensemble des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.