Backgrounder

Roger-Gaudry Building
Roger-Gaudry Building

Located at the heart of the Université de Montréal campus, the Roger Gaudry Building is a prominent Montréal landmark. Built between 1928 and 1943, it was designed by architect and engineer Ernest Cormier. Its grand scale and functional layout, which was originally designed to include laboratories and a teaching hospital, reflects French Canada’s new appreciation of scientific disciplines and research during the interwar period and it speaks to the emergence of a dynamic Francophone academic and scientific elite committed to higher education.

This large sprawling structure has an imposing 82 metre high central tower. In its design, it combines the symmetrical and hierarchical layout of the French Beaux-Arts tradition with features more typical of 20th century architectural modernity, such as a concrete frame, sparse masonry facades, and stylized geometrical motifs. The monumental scale, quality finishes, and attention to colour, lighting, and texture of the principal ceremonial spaces – specifically the Hall of Honour and the main amphitheatre – offer a rare and remarkable sequence of Art Deco-inspired interiors.

The building was designed to encompass all the university’s faculties and schools, as well as a university hospital. It followed an innovative layout for the time, referred to as a “compact plan.” This complex layout was designed according to a symmetrical and highly hierarchical concept, reflecting a profound attachment to the Beaux-Arts tradition. The building has a long main axis, dominated by the 22-storey tower, from which radiate in mirror-image fashion horizontal wings and vertical outliers. The west end of the building is dominated by a gable topped by a small bell tower, while the east end has a small tiered tower, marking the location of superimposed amphitheatres. The treatment of the central tower and exterior facades is marked by strong vertical lines and the presence of jutting and set-back elements and by a few stylized geometrical motifs, attesting to the influence of aesthetic ideas associated with modernity, among them Art Deco.

The Roger Gaudry Building was the first building to be constructed by the Université de Montréal after it gained its autonomy from Laval University in 1920. The new institution grew spectacularly during the 1920s with the establishment of a science faculty and a school of social, economic, and political sciences. Today, the Roger Gaudry Building is surrounded on all sides by numerous university buildings erected over the years to meet the demands of the institution’s growth. This first building, however, put its stamp on the campus around it, and remains the most imposing element therein. Its commanding presence on the mountain speaks to Quebec’s dynamic academic life in the interwar years.

Fiche d’information

Pavillon Roger Gaudry
Le pavillon Roger-Gaudry

Situé au cœur du campus de l’Université de Montréal, le pavillon Roger Gaudry est un emblème montréalais important. Construit entre 1928 et 1943, il a été conçu par l’architecte-ingénieur Ernest Cormier. La grande envergure et l’aménagement fonctionnel du pavillon, conçu à l’origine pour accueillir des laboratoires et un hôpital universitaire, témoignent de la nouvelle appréciation du Canada français pour les disciplines scientifiques et la recherche au cours de l’entre-deux-guerres ainsi que de l’émergence d’une élite académique et scientifique francophone déterminée à soutenir l’enseignement supérieur.

Cette vaste structure tentaculaire possède une tour centrale imposante de 82 mètres de hauteur. Sa conception combine la disposition symétrique et hiérarchique de la tradition française des Beaux-Arts avec des caractéristiques types de l’architecture moderne du XXe siècle, comme une ossature en béton, des façades de maçonnerie éparses et des motifs géométriques stylisés. L’envergure monumentale, les finitions de qualité et l’attention à la couleur, à l’éclairage et à la texture des principaux lieux de cérémonie — en particulier le hall d’honneur et l’amphithéâtre principal — offrent une succession rare et remarquable d’intérieurs inspirés de l’Art déco.

Le bâtiment fut conçu pour accueillir sous un même toit toutes les facultés et les écoles de l’université, ainsi qu’un hôpital universitaire. À l’époque, il s’agissait d’un aménagement novateur, appelé « plan compact ». Cette disposition complexe a été conçue selon une conception symétrique et hautement hiérarchique, reflétant un attachement profond à la tradition des Beaux-Arts. Le bâtiment possède un long axe principal, dominé par la tour de 22 étages, de laquelle rayonnent symétriquement les ailes horizontales et les éléments verticaux. L’extrémité ouest du pavillon est dominée par un pignon surmonté d’un petit clocher, tandis que l’extrémité est dispose d’une petite tour à paliers, marquant l’emplacement des amphithéâtres superposés. Le traitement de la tour centrale et des façades extérieures est marqué par de fortes lignes verticales et la présence d’éléments en saillie et en retrait ainsi que par quelques motifs géométriques stylisés, attestant l’influence des idées esthétiques associées à la modernité, notamment l’Art déco.

Le bâtiment Roger Gaudry fut le premier édifice construit par l’Université de Montréal après avoir acquis son autonomie de l’Université Laval en 1920. La nouvelle institution s’est développée de façon spectaculaire au cours des années 1920 avec la création d’une faculté de sciences et d’une école de sciences sociales, économiques et politiques. Aujourd’hui, le pavillon Roger Gaudry est entouré de nombreux bâtiments universitaires érigés au fil des ans pour répondre aux besoins de l’institution grandissante. Ce premier bâtiment, cependant, a fait sa marque sur le campus autour de lui et demeure l’élément le plus considérable. Sa présence imposante sur la montagne témoigne de la vie académique québécoise dynamique durant la période de l’entre-deux-guerres.