Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft)
Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft)
© Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/MIKAN 3629837

Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft) was an important First Nations political leader in the period following the First World War. In 1919, he founded the League of Indians of Canada, the first pan-Indigenous political organization, which advocated for land rights and improved education for Indigenous Peoples, and helped lay the foundations for later Indigenous political activism. Throughout his life, Onondeyoh wrote, lobbied, and spoke eloquently on behalf of Indigenous Peoples, advocating for the replacement of residential schools with day schools, lobbying for self-government, and protesting forced enfranchisement and the expropriation of reserve lands without consent or fair compensation. During the First World War, he promoted the enlistment of First Nations people in the armed forces and sought to use the exemplary record of Indigenous service personnel as political leverage after the war.

Onondeyoh (“Beautiful Mountain”) was born in 1861 at Six Nations of the Grand River in Ontario and educated at several nearby schools, including the Mohawk Institute, a residential school in Brantford. He worked as a bookkeeper, journalist, timber inspector, and, in 1890, became an accountant in the provincial government. In the 1890s, he started to lobby the federal government for reforms that included the elimination of residential schools. In 1917, after helping to recruit First Nations people across Ontario for military service, he joined the armed forces as a lieutenant in the Forestry Corps, despite being over the age limit for military service. While he served in France, the Six Nations Council conferred on him the unusual honour of a pine tree chieftainship, which allowed him to meet with King George V on behalf of the First Nation in 1918.

Frustrated by the treatment of First Nations, Onondeyoh founded the League of Indians of Canada, which held its first nationwide meeting in 1919 at Ketegaunseebee (Garden River) First Nation in Ontario. The Department of Indian Affairs, under the leadership of Duncan Campbell Scott, hindered its expansion in the 1920s and treated Onondeyoh as a subversive, unsuccessfully trying to enfranchise him as a way of revoking his Indian status and undermining his leadership.

Onondeyoh retired from the Ontario public service in 1926 and left Canada to care for his ailing wife, who was living in her hometown of Chicago, Illinois, although he continued to advocate for Indigenous rights in the years that followed. He died in Toronto in 1934. While the League of Indians of Canada enjoyed some early success, by the time of his death, most branches outside of the prairies were no longer active. However, the chapters in Alberta and Saskatchewan helped pave the way for the founding of the National Indian Brotherhood, which eventually became the Assembly of First Nations. Through his earlier writings and advocacy as well as his work with the League, Onondeyoh did much to raise awareness of the rights of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada and the injustices inherent in the Indian Act.

Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft)
Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft)
© Ministère de la Défense nationale Canada/ Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / MIKAN 3629837

Onondeyoh (Frederick Ogilvie Loft) est un important dirigeant politique des Premières Nations durant la période suivant la Première Guerre mondiale. En 1919, il fonde la League of Indians of Canada, première organisation politique pan-autochtone au pays, qui milite pour la conservation et le contrôle des territoires autochtones, pour l'amélioration de l'éducation pour les peuples autochtones et qui contribue à jeter les bases de l'activisme politique autochtone. Tout au long de sa vie, Onondeyoh écrit, milite et parle avec éloquence au nom des peuples autochtones en revendiquant le remplacement des pensionnats par des externats, faisant pression pour l'autonomie gouvernementale et luttant contre l'émancipation involontaire de ceux qui ont le statut d'Indien et l'expropriation des terres de réserve sans consentement ou indemnisation juste. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il contribue au recrutement des membres des Premières Nations dans les forces armées, puis après la guerre, il tente d'utiliser le service exemplaire des militaires autochtones pour exercer une influence politique.

Onondeyoh (« belle montagne ») est né en 1861 dans la Première Nation Six Nations of the Grand River, en Ontario, et fréquente plusieurs écoles locales, notamment le Mohawk Institute, un pensionnat autochtone à Brantford. Il travaille comme aide-comptable, journaliste, inspecteur du bois et, en 1890, il devient comptable au sein du gouvernement provincial. C'est à cette époque qu'il commence à faire pression sur le gouvernement fédéral en faveur de réformes incluant l'élimination des pensionnats autochtones. En 1917, après avoir aidé à recruter des membres des Premières Nations partout en Ontario pour le service militaire, il rejoint les forces armées en tant que lieutenant dans le corps forestier, bien qu'il ait dépassé l'âge limite pour le service militaire. Au cours de son service en France, le Six Nations Council lui accorde l'honneur exceptionnel de « chef de l'Arbre de la paix », ce qui lui permet de rencontrer le roi George V au nom de la Première Nation en 1918.

Frustré par le traitement réservé aux Premières Nations, Onondeyoh fonde la League of Indians of Canada, qui tient sa première réunion nationale en 1919 dans la Première Nation Ketegaunseebee (Garden River), en Ontario. Le ministère des Affaires indiennes, sous la direction de Duncan Campbell Scott, entrave son expansion dans les années 1920 et traite Onondeyoh comme un radical, essayant en vain de l'émanciper afin de lui faire retirer son statut d'Indien et, ainsi, d'affaiblir son autorité.

Onondeyoh prend sa retraite de la fonction publique ontarienne en 1926 et quitte le Canada pour prendre soin de sa femme malade, qui vit alors dans sa ville natale de Chicago, dans l'Illinois. Il continue de défendre les droits des Autochtones dans les années qui suivront. Il meurt à Toronto en 1934. Malgré le succès obtenu par la League of Indians of Canada dans ses premières années d'existence, la plupart des sections locales à l'extérieur des Prairies ne sont plus en activité au moment de son décès. Cependant, les sections de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan demeurent actives et contribuent à ouvrir la voie pour la fondation de la National Indian Brotherhood, qui deviendra par la suite l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. À travers ses premiers écrits et ses activités de sensibilisation, de même que par son travail au sein de la League of Indians of Canada, Onondeyoh contribue largement à faire connaître les droits des peuples autochtones au Canada et les injustices découlant de la Loi sur les Indiens.