Based at Victoria College, University of Toronto, from 1939-1991, Northrop Frye was a pre-eminent literary theorist and critic. His classificatory and systematic approach to literature, which examined the underlying myths and symbols that inform all of literature, challenged existing critical paradigms and had a significant international influence on the field. Frye's critical work on English Canadian literature, especially poetry, had a profound impact on how Canadian literature was studied, written and perceived. He influenced the work of a number of noted poets and his idea of the “garrison mentality” as a defining myth in the Canadian imagination became a crucial way of interpreting Canadian literature. As a major intellectual in English-speaking Canada in the second half of the 20th century, Frye's ideas about education, literature, and Canadian culture were widely disseminated in the Canadian media and contributed to how Canadians saw themselves and their literature.

Born in 1912 in Sherbrooke, Quebec and raised largely in Moncton, New Brunswick, Frye began his studies at Victoria College, University of Toronto, in 1929. After receiving an MA at Oxford in 1938, he permanently joined the English department at Victoria College. He remained in that department for the rest of his career, becoming an assistant professor in 1942, an associate professor in 1946, chairman of the English department in 1952, principal of Victoria College (1959-67), and then chancellor of the college (1978-91). His many students include poets and authors Margaret Atwood, Dennis Lee, James Reaney, Eli Mandel, and Don Coles.

In 1957, Frye published his best known book, Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays. This book had an enormous influence on modern critical theory, and Frye gained a considerable international reputation. Over the next decades, he was a visiting professor at a number of major universities, delivered public lectures around the world, and received 38 honorary doctorates from many of the major universities in the Western world. Despite this international acclaim, Frye felt closely connected to his Canadian roots. He was responsible for the University of Toronto Quarterly's annual review of Canadian poetry in English from 1950-60, and in 1962, delivered the Massey Lectures for CBC Radio (published as The Educated Imagination). He also served on the board of the newly-established Canadian Radio Television Commission (CRTC) from 1968-77. He was an early proponent of Canadian poetry and spoke widely on Canadian culture and identity.

Following Anatomy of Criticism, Frye published an additional 19 books, as well as some 300 essays and articles. These include The Bush Garden: Essays on the Canadian Imagination (1971), a collection of essays analysing Canadian poetry, literature, and painting, as well as two books on the connections that can be made between the Bible and English literature. In the 1970s and 1980s, new theoretical discourses such as post-structuralism became dominant and Frye's ideas lost their prominent place within the field. However, his influence continues to be felt. Frye died in Toronto on January 23, 1991.

Occupant un poste au Collège Victoria de l'Université de Toronto de 1939 à 1991, Northrop Frye a été un éminent théoricien et un critique littéraire. Son approche taxinomique et systématique de la littérature, qui consiste à examiner les tendances mythiques et symboliques itératives dans la littérature, a remis en cause les grands paradigmes existants et a eu une incidence importante dans ce domaine partout dans le monde. Ses travaux décisifs sur la littérature canadienne-anglaise, notamment sur la poésie, ont eu une grande incidence sur la façon dont la littérature canadienne est analysée, écrite et perçue. Il a influencé les travaux de nombreux grands poètes et son concept de la « mentalité de garnison », en tant que mythe déterminant de l'imaginaire canadien, est devenu la principale manière d'interpréter la littérature canadienne. Frye a été un grand érudit du Canada anglais pendant la deuxième moitié du XXe siècle. Ses idées sur l'éducation, la littérature et la culture canadiennes ont été largement diffusées dans les médias canadiens, et elles ont contribué à la perception qu'ont les Canadiens et les Canadiennes d'eux-mêmes et de leur littérature.

Northrop Frye naît à Sherbrooke, au Québec, en 1912 et passe une grande partie de sa jeunesse à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1929, Frye commence ses études au Collège Victoria de l'Université de Toronto. Après avoir reçu un diplôme de maîtrise ès arts d'Oxford en 1938, il obtient un poste permanent au département d'anglais du Collège Victoria. Il y reste jusqu'à la fin de sa carrière, gravissant les échelons de professeur adjoint en 1942, à professeur associé en 1946, puis directeur du département d'anglais en 1952, directeur du Collège Victoria (1959-1967) et enfin recteur (1978-1991). Parmi ses nombreux étudiants figurent les poètes et auteurs Margaret Atwood, Dennis Lee, James Reaney, Eli Mandel, et Don Coles.

En 1957, Frye publie son ouvrage le plus connu, Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays. Cette œuvre eut une énorme influence sur les théories d'analyse critique modernes, et contribua au rayonnement international de Frye. Au cours des décennies suivantes, Frye œuvre comme professeur invité dans plusieurs grandes universités, donne des conférences partout dans le monde et reçoit 38 doctorats honorifiques de plusieurs grandes universités occidentales. Malgré cette renommée internationale, Frye se sent étroitement lié à ses origines canadiennes. De 1950 à 1960, il dirige la revue annuelle de poésie canadienne-anglaise University of Toronto Quarterly et, en 1962, il donne les Massey Lectures à la radio du réseau anglais de la Société Radio-Canada (publiées sous le nom The Educated Imagination). Il est également membre du conseil d'administration du Conseil de la radio-télévision canadienne (CRTC), nouvellement créée, de 1968 à 1977. Il est l'un des premiers défenseurs de la poésie canadienne et aborde souvent la question de la culture et de l'identité canadiennes.

Après la publication d'Anatomy of Criticism, Frye publie 19 autres ouvrages et quelque 300 essais et articles, dont The Bush Garden : Essays on the Canadian Imagination (1971), qui réunit des essais d'analyse sur la poésie, la littérature et la peinture canadiennes et deux livres portant sur les liens pouvant être établis entre la Bible et la littérature anglaise. Au cours des années 1970 et 1980, de nouveaux discours théoriques émergent, comme le post-structuralisme, et les concepts de Frye n'occupent plus la place privilégiée dont ils jouissaient auparavant dans le domaine. Néanmoins, son influence est encore ressentie. Frye meurt à Toronto le 23 janvier 1991.