Mary Grannan receiving the key to the City of Fredericton from Mayor Ray Forbes, Stewart Neill in 1948. Credit: Canadian Broadcasting Corporation / Library and Archives Canada / e003895009

Mary Grannan was an internationally-recognized, award-winning pioneer of English-language Canadian children's broadcasting. Through landmark programs such as Just Mary and Maggie Muggins, she helped establish a tradition of gentle, fantastical, elegantly slow-paced, wholesome storytelling. She was a bestselling author of children's books based on her scripts, which captured in print the rhythms and patterns of radio speech. She also wrote original works of fiction that inspired the creation of treasured Canadian radio and television shows. Her written works illustrate the influence of broadcasting on print in the mid-20th century. She made a historic stand that won her recognition from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) as the copyright owner of all books based on her writing after 1945. An active promoter of her books and broadcasts, she participated in publicity campaigns, international book tours, and merchandising, which included the sale of tens of thousands of Maggie Muggins dolls, created at her request.

Born in 1900 in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Grannan delighted in entertaining her sisters with concerts and plays staged in the backyard of their childhood home. She developed her abilities as a storyteller as a teacher, while in her spare time, she acted in amateur theatre companies, studied visual arts, learned to type, and took lessons in elocution. All of this training prepared her for a career in broadcasting. Her first radio performance was on CFNB Fredericton during Education Week in 1935. This led to the chance to produce programs of her own, including Aggravating Agatha (1936) and Just Mary (1937). Having decided on a career in broadcasting, Grannan moved to Toronto in 1939, where she joined the staff of the CBC.

Her first production for the CBC was the landmark Just Mary radio series, which started airing nationwide in 1938 and remained a fixture on the network until 1962. She went on to create many more radio programs about and for children, including The Children's Scrapbook (1939-1946), Sonnie and Susie (1944-1945), The Land of Supposing (1946-1948, 1950), Maggie Muggins (1947-1953), Karen Discovers America (1952), Jubilee Road (1953-1956), Mr. McGarrity's Garden (1954-1955), and Kim and Katy Circus Days (1958). She later adapted two of her radio shows for television, namely: Maggie Muggins (1955-1962) and Just Mary (1960). She received national and international recognition for her work, including two honourable mentions from the Institute for Education by Radio at Ohio State University, a Beaver Award for excellence in radio broadcasting, and an honorary membership to the International Mark Twain Society of Saint Louis, Missouri.

Books filled with new stories and others based on her scripts sold an estimated 400,000 copies by the time of her retirement. She actively participated in marketing campaigns to sell her books and promote her broadcasts, which transformed her into a public figure, known nationwide for her distinctive manner of dress, defined by oversized jewellery and extravagant hats.

After retiring from the CBC staff in 1960, she left Toronto for Fredericton, where she lived with her sisters, Ann and Helen. Mary Grannan died in January 1975.

Mary Grannan reçoit la clé de la ville de Fredericton du maire Ray Forbes, Stewart Neill en 1948. Crédit : Canadian Broadcasting Corporation / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / e003895009)

Pionnière primée de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la radiodiffusion d'émissions pour enfants en anglais au Canada, Mary Grannan a contribué à établir une tradition d'émissions de fantaisie, douces et élégantes au rythme paisible, notamment grâce à des émissions phares comme Just Mary et Maggie Muggins. Elle a été une auteure à succès de livres pour enfants basés sur ses scénarios, qui reproduisaient sous forme écrite les rythmes et particularités du langage radiophonique. Elle a également composé des œuvres de fiction originales qui ont inspiré la création d'émissions canadiennes adorées à la radio et à la télévision. Ses écrits témoignent de l'influence de la radiodiffusion sur les médias imprimés au milieu du XXe siècle. Elle a pris une position historique lui permettant d'être reconnue comme propriétaire des droits d'auteur de tous les livres basés sur ses écrits après 1945 par le réseau anglais de la Société Radio-Canada (CBC). Elle a fait une promotion active de ses livres et de ses émissions, participant à des campagnes de publicité, à des tournées internationales de promotion de livres et à des activités de marchandisage, notamment la vente de dizaines de milliers de poupées Maggie Muggins, créées à sa demande.

Né en 1900 à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, Grannan prend plaisir à divertir ses sœurs par des concerts et des pièces de théâtre présentés dans la cour arrière de leur maison d'enfance. Elle développe ses habiletés de conteuse tandis qu'elle enseigne. Dans ses temps libres, elle est actrice dans des troupes de théâtre amateur, étudie les arts visuels, apprend la dactylographie et suit des cours d'élocution. Toutes ces formations la préparent à une carrière en radiodiffusion. Sa première représentation à la radio a lieu à CFNB Fredericton à l'occasion de la Semaine de l'éducation en 1935. Ceci lui donne la chance de produire ses propres émissions, dont Aggravating Agatha (1936) et Just Mary (1937). Ayant choisi de faire carrière en radiodiffusion, Grannan déménage à Toronto en 1939, où elle se joint à l'équipe de la CBC.

Sa première production est la série phare de la radio Just Mary, diffusée partout au pays à compter de 1938 et maintenue à l'antenne du réseau jusqu'en 1962. Grannan crée par la suite de nombreuses autres émissions radiophoniques au sujet et à l'intention des enfants, notamment The Children's Scrapbook (1939-1946), Sonnie and Susie (1944-1945), The Land of Supposing (1946-1948, 1950), Maggie Muggins (1947-1953), Karen Discovers America (1952), Jubilee Road (1953-1956), Mr. McGarrity's Garden (1954-1955) et Kim and Katy Circus Days (1958). Plus tard, elle adapte deux de ses émissions radiophoniques pour la télévision, soit Maggie Muggins (1955-1962) et Just Mary (1960). Grannan acquiert une renommée nationale et internationale pour son œuvre, notamment deux mentions honorables de l'Institute for Education by Radio de l'Université Ohio State, un prix Beaver pour l'excellence en radiodiffusion, et elle est admise à titre honoraire à la Société internationale Mark Twain de Saint Louis, au Missouri.

Les livres remplis de récits nouveaux ou basés sur ses scénarios se sont vendus à environ 400 000 exemplaires lorsqu'elle prend sa retraite. Elle participe activement aux campagnes visant à promouvoir ses émissions et à vendre ses livres, lesquelles l'ont transformée en un personnage public connu partout au pays pour son apparence particulière, caractérisée par d'énormes bijoux et des chapeaux extravagants. Après avoir pris sa retraite de la CBC en 1960, elle quitte Toronto pour retourner s'établir à Fredericton, où elle habite avec ses sœurs, Ann et Helen. Mary Grannan décède en janvier 1975.