Backgrounder

Mabel Hubbard Bell made important contributions to the work of her husband, inventor Alexander Graham Bell, and was a community leader on Cape Breton Island. The active partner of her husband, she provided business and financial guidance to his work as an inventor and scientist, personally financing the Aviation Experiment Association (AEA). This association contributed to early aviation history by creating four airplane prototypes, including the Silver Dart which achieved the first human flight in Canada. She was also a leader in her adopted Canadian community of Baddeck, where she founded the Young Ladies’ Club of Baddeck in 1891, the first Montessori School in the country, and the Parents Association of Baddeck, which ultimately led to the founding of a national Home and School Federation. In addition, she coped with deafness from childhood and became successfully integrated into North American society, ably demonstrating the effectiveness of the oral method of educating the deaf, as advocated by her father and husband.

Mabel Bell was born in the United States on November 25, 1857 and at the age of five contracted scarlet fever, which resulted in a complete loss of hearing and impaired balance. Sign language was the preferred method of deaf education, but by using the oral method instead she continued to speak and learned to read lips. Her testimony in Massachusetts’ state legislature demonstrated the method’s effectiveness and helped secure the reform of deaf education.

In 1877, Mabel Bell married her speech teacher, Alexander Graham Bell, who was also an inventor. Alexander Bell and his father-in-law partnered to secure his telephone patent and they launched the American Bell Telephone Company. Mabel Bell understood and discussed the technical aspects of his inventions and experiments with him and always encouraged commercial applications. She also managed their household and finances. To assist her husband in his goal of achieving human flight through tetrahedral kite experiments, Bell recruited young engineers to guide his research and add more precision to his measurements. She also proposed the creation of the AEA in 1907 and funded it entirely, becoming the first woman to invest in aviation.

The couple and their children built a home in Baddeck, Nova Scotia, and Bell added considerably to the community’s cultural and intellectual environment. Mabel Bell died on January 3, 1923, leaving a broad legacy. She was an intellectual and financial partner to her inventor husband, while her leadership in health, education, and women’s affairs benefitted her adopted Canadian community.

Panels on Mabel Bell at Alexander Graham Bell Museum, Cape Breton
Panels on Mabel Bell at Alexander Graham Bell Museum, Cape Breton

Fiche d’information

Mabel Hubbard Bell a apporté des contributions importantes aux travaux de son mari, l’inventeur Alexander Graham Bell, en plus d’exercer une influence positive remarquable dans sa communauté de l’île du Cap Breton. Partenaire active de son mari, elle a offert de nombreux conseils concernant les aspects commerciaux et financiers de ses travaux scientifiques et de ses inventions, finançant elle-même l’Aviation Experiment Association (AEA). Cette association a contribué à l’histoire naissante de l’aviation en créant quatre prototypes d’avion, notamment le Silver Dart avec lequel le premier vol humain a été effectué au Canada. Elle s’est grandement impliquée au sein de sa communauté canadienne d’adoption, celle de Baddeck, où elle a fondé le Young Ladies’ Club of Baddeck en 1891, la première école Montessori au pays, ainsi que la Parents Association of Baddeck, qui a finalement mené à la création de la Fédération canadienne des associations foyer-école. Par ailleurs, malgré la surdité dont elle était atteinte depuis l’enfance, elle a réussi à s’intégrer à la société nord-américaine, démontrant de façon manifeste l’efficacité de la méthode orale d’enseignement aux sourds préconisée par son père et son mari.

Mabel Bell naît aux États-Unis le 25 novembre 1857 et contracte la scarlatine à l’âge de cinq ans, provoquant chez elle une perte totale de l’ouïe et un trouble de l’équilibre. Le langage des signes est alors la méthode privilégiée d’enseignement aux sourds, mais, en utilisant la méthode oraliste, elle continue à parler et apprend à lire sur les lèvres. Son témoignage devant l’Assemblée législative de l’État du Massachusetts démontre l’efficacité de cette méthode et contribue à assurer une réforme de l’enseignement aux sourds.

En 1877, Mabel Bell épouse son professeur de langage, Alexander Graham Bell, qui est aussi un inventeur. Alexander Bell et son beau-père s’associent pour l’obtention de son brevet de téléphone et mettent sur pied l’entreprise American Bell Telephone Company. Mabel Bell comprend les aspects techniques des inventions et des expériences de son mari, elle en discute avec lui et en encourage toujours les applications commerciales. Elle se charge également de gérer leur foyer et leurs finances. Pour aider son mari à atteindre son objectif de faire voler les humains grâce à des expériences avec le cerf-volant tétraédrique, Bell recrute de jeunes ingénieurs pour orienter ses recherches et améliorer la précision de ses mesures. Elle propose aussi de créer l’AEA en 1907 et finance entièrement l’association, devenant ainsi la première femme à investir dans l’aviation.

Les deux époux et leurs enfants établissent leur foyer à Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Bell apporte une grande contribution au milieu culturel et intellectuel de la communauté. Mabel Bell décède le 3 janvier 1923, laissant un riche héritage. Elle a été une partenaire intellectuelle et financière de son mari inventeur et une figure de proue dans les domaines de la santé, de l’éducation et de la condition féminine, servant sa communauté canadienne d’adoption.

Panneaux sur Mabel Bell au Musée Alexander Graham Bell, Cap Breton
Panneaux sur Mabel Bell au Musée Alexander Graham Bell, Cap Breton