Ludger Duvernay
Ludger Duvernay, artist unknown
© Library and Archives Canada/MIKAN 4313019

A key player in the political and intellectual life of Lower Canada from 1817 until his death in 1852, Ludger Duvernay was a printer-publisher and owner of a Patriote and then a ministerial newspaper. Under his leadership, La Minerve became a principal newspaper of Lower Canada's Reformers by championing ideas, such as the establishment of responsible government, among the people of Lower Canada. A person of patriotic, political, and social convictions, Duvernay fought against colonial power by disseminating democratic and republican ideas of the time both through his newspaper and by publishing other printed material. A proud promoter of the freedom of the press, he would pay to defend his right of expression at the expense of his own freedom and to his financial detriment. Finally, he revived Saint-Jean-Baptiste celebrations in 1834, and was president of the Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal from 1851 to 1852.

Born on January 22, 1799 to a family of modest means of Verchères, Lower Canada, Duvernay had the opportunity to be educated and began his apprenticeship as a printer in Montréal in 1813. In 1817, he opened the first printing house in Trois-Rivières and started the first newspaper in Lower Canada to be published outside of Montréal and Québec City. After purchasing La Minerve in 1827, he made it the primary mouthpiece of the Parti Patriote in Montréal and the largest French-language newspaper in the city. A man of the press and of conviction, he used his newspaper and his printed material to educate people as well as to enlighten and awaken them to the liberal and philosophical ideas of the time. Duvernay was imprisoned several times following repeated statements against political censorship and in favour of freedom of the press.

In addition to opening his newspaper to the constitutional protest movement of 1837, Duvernay also took part in the battle of Moore's Corner (now Saint-Armand) in December of the same year as officer of a small Patriote battalion. Following the defeat of the Patriotes in this battle, he took refuge in the United States where, for five years, his newspaper Le Patriote canadien served as a form of communication between exiled Patriotes. After his return from exile in 1842, Duvernay made La Minerve one of the main bodies of the ministerial press. As the newspaper of Lower Canada Reformers, La Minerve was a strong supporter of the political fight led by La Fontaine's party. In 1848, responsible government – a government which is responsible to the people, which operates responsibly, and whose Ministers are accountable to Parliament – was achieved in the Province of Canada.

Duvernay's action was not limited to the world of the press and politics. It was his idea to revive Saint-Jean-Baptiste celebrations, and he served as a founding member and backbone of the Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal. He was president of this association from June 1851 until his death on November 28, 1852.

Ludger Duvernay
Ludger Duvernay, artiste inconnu
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / MIKAN 4313019

Acteur clé de la vie politique et intellectuelle du Bas-Canada de 1817 à sa mort en 1852, Ludger Duvernay est un imprimeur-éditeur, propriétaire d'un journal patriote, puis ministériel. Sous sa direction, La Minerve devient un important journal des réformistes bas-canadiens en faisant la promotion d'idées, comme l'obtention du principe de la responsabilité ministérielle, au sein de la population du Bas-Canada. Homme de convictions patriotiques, politiques et sociales, Duvernay lutte contre le pouvoir colonial en diffusant les idées démocratiques et républicaines de l'époque tant par les écrits de son journal que par la publication d'imprimés. Fier promoteur du principe de la liberté de presse, il paie la défense de ce droit d'expression au prix de sa propre liberté et au détriment de sa situation financière. Enfin, il fait revivre les célébrations de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste en 1834 et préside l'Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal de 1851 à 1852.

Né le 22 janvier 1799 dans une famille modeste de Verchères, au Bas-Canada, Duvernay a la chance d'être scolarisé et amorce dès 1813 son apprentissage du métier d'imprimeur à Montréal. En 1817, il ouvre la première imprimerie à Trois-Rivières et lance le premier journal du Bas-Canada à être publié à l'extérieur de Montréal et de Québec. Après avoir acquis La Minerve en 1827, il en fait le principal organe d'expression du Parti patriote à Montréal et le plus important journal de langue française de la ville. Homme de presse et de conviction, il utilise son journal et ses imprimés pour éduquer le peuple en plus de l'éclairer et de l'éveiller aux idées libérales et philosophiques de l'époque. Duvernay effectue plusieurs séjours en prison à la suite de prises de position répétées contre la censure politique et pour la liberté de presse.

En plus d'ouvrir son journal au mouvement de protestation constitutionnelle de 1837, Duvernay participe également à la bataille de Moore's Corner (aujourd'hui Saint-Armand) au mois de décembre de cette année à titre d'officier d'un petit bataillon de patriotes. Après la défaite des Patriotes à cette bataille, il se réfugie aux États-Unis où, pendant cinq ans, son journal Le Patriote canadien sert de courroie de communication entre les patriotes exilés. À son retour d'exil en 1842, Duvernay fait de La Minerve l'un des principaux organes de la presse ministérielle. À titre de journal des réformistes bas-canadiens, La Minerve constitue un solide appui dans le combat politique mené par le parti de La Fontaine. En 1848, la responsabilité ministérielle – principe selon lequel le gouvernement doit être à l'écoute de ses citoyens, doit fonctionner de manière responsable et doit rendre des comptes au Parlement – est finalement adoptée dans la Province du Canada.

L'action de Duvernay ne se limite pas au monde de la presse et de la politique. Il est à l'origine de l'idée de faire revivre la célébration de la fête de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Il est également membre fondateur et cheville ouvrière de l'Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal dont il est le président du 2 juin 1851 jusqu'à sa mort survenue le 28 novembre 1852.