Portrait of Kahgegagahbowh, c.1860
Kahgegagahbowh (George Copway) (1818–1869)
© Library of Congress, Marian S. Carson Collection, LC-USZ62-121977

Kahgegagahbowh (George Copway) was an early Anishinaabe author of popular non-fiction books, which expressed pride in his nation, engaged with Victorian and Romantic literatures to challenge their racism, and offered non-Indigenous readers—in Canada and abroad—important insights into Mississauga spirituality, history, and culture. An international literary celebrity, he contributed to general knowledge of the First Nations in Canada, giving well-attended lectures on Mississauga life to audiences in North America, Great Britain, and Western Europe, and speaking on behalf of Indigenous peoples at the Third World Peace Congress in Frankfurt, Germany (1850). He exemplified the transnational cultural ties and the politicization of Canadian Indigenous authors in the mid-19th century: he leveraged his celebrity to fight for the rights of First Nations in the United States; he helped organize the American Christian Association for Protective Justice to Indians; he used his short-lived newspaper Copway’s American Indian (1851) to challenge the U.S. government; and he petitioned the U.S. Congress in 1850 for the creation of a self-governed First Nations state, called Kahgega.

Kahgegagahbowh was born in 1818. His mother was from the Eagle clan and his father—a medicine man, traditional chief, and veteran of the War of 1812—was from the Crane clan. The family belonged to the nation at Rice Lake (Pam-e-dash-cou tay-ang or Pamadusgodayong) in Upper Canada. Kahgegagahbowh converted to Christianity in 1830, changing his name to George Copway, and four years later left Rice Lake in the company of a missionary party destined for the northern United States. From the American Methodist Church, he received funds to attend the Ebenezer Manual Labor School in Illinois, where he studied from 1838 to 1839. He returned to Upper Canada and married Elizabeth Howell in 1840. Kahgegagahbowh worked for the next five years as a missionary, interpreter, and minister in the United States and Canada. Accused of embezzlement, he was expelled from the church and imprisoned for several weeks in 1846. He left prison determined to write his autobiography.

"The Life, History, and Travels of Kah-ge-ga-gah-bowh (George Copway)" (1847) was popular enough to demand seven printings by 1848 and two revised editions in 1850. Kahgegagahbowh leveraged his new-found celebrity in the United States to petition Washington to support his ambitions for a self-governed First Nations territory (“Kahgega”) that would have eventually achieved statehood, arguing his case to Congress in "Organization of a New Indian Territory, East of the Missouri River" (1850). When his lobbying failed, Kahgegagahbowh returned to writing. He drew from Anishinaabeg and Euro-American cultural traditions to write his pioneering history, "The Traditional History and Characteristic Sketches of the Ojibwa Nation" (1850), a travelogue documenting his popular lecture tours, entitled "Running Sketches of Men and Places in England, Germany, Belgium and Scotland" (1851), and the short-lived weekly, "Copway’s American Indian" (1851), which he published in New York City.

In the years that followed, Kahgegagahbowh struggled to make a living and largely disappeared from the historical record. He died in Ypsilanti, Michigan, in 1869.

Portrait de Kahgegagahbowh, vers 1860
Kahgegagahbowh (George Copway) (1818–1869)
© Bibliothèque du Congrès, Collection Marian S. Carson, LC-USZ62-121977

Kahgegagahbowh (George Copway) est l’un des premiers auteurs anishinaabe d’œuvres populaires non romanesques, lesquelles manifestent sa fierté envers sa nation, s’intéressent aux littératures victorienne et romantique en s’opposant à leur racisme et donnent aux lecteurs non autochtones, au Canada et à l’étranger, une connaissance approfondie de la spiritualité, de l’histoire et de la culture des Mississaugas. Célébrité internationale du domaine littéraire, il contribue à l’enrichissement des connaissances sur les Premières Nations au Canada en donnant des conférences fort courues sur la vie des Mississaugas, se produisant en Amérique du Nord, en Grande-Bretagne et en Europe occidentale, et il représente les peuples autochtones au troisième Congrès international de la paix à Francfort, en Allemagne (1850). Il démontre bien les liens culturels transnationaux et la politisation des auteurs autochtones canadiens au milieu du XIXe siècle; il met son succès au service de la lutte pour les droits des Premières Nations aux États-Unis et participe à la formation de l’American Christian Association for Protective Justice to Indians. Il utilise également son journal éphémère Copway’s American Indian (1851) pour contester le gouvernement américain et présente une pétition au Congrès américain en 1850 proposant la création d’un État autonome, appelé Kahgega, pour les Premières Nations.

Kahgegagahbowh naît en 1818. Sa mère fait partie du clan de l’Aigle et son père – guérisseur, chef traditionnel et combattant de la guerre de 1812 – du clan de la Grue. Sa famille appartient à la nation de Rice Lake (Pam-e-dash-cou tay-ang ou Pamadusgodayong) dans le Haut-Canada. Il se convertit à la foi chrétienne en 1830 et change son nom pour George Copway. Quatre ans plus tard, il quitte Rice Lake en compagnie d’un groupe de missionnaires en direction du nord des États-Unis. Il reçoit des fonds de l’Église méthodiste américaine pour faire des études à l’Ebenezer Manual Labor School en Illinois, où il étudie de 1838 à 1839. À son retour au Haut-Canada, en 1840, il épouse Elizabeth Howell. Au cours des cinq années suivantes, il travaille comme missionnaire, interprète et pasteur aux États-Unis et au Canada. Accusé de détournement de fonds, il est expulsé de l’Église méthodiste et incarcéré pendant plusieurs semaines en 1846. Il sort de prison déterminé à écrire son autobiographie.

« The Life, History, and Travels of Kah-ge-ga-gah-bowh (George Copway) » (1847) connaît un succès suffisamment important pour justifier sept impressions avant 1848 et deux éditions révisées en 1850. Kahgegagahbowh se sert alors du succès qu’il connaît aux États-Unis et présente une pétition à Washington pour soutenir sa volonté de créer un territoire autonome géré par les Premières Nations (« Kahgega ») qui aurait finalement atteint un statut d’État. Il plaide sa cause au Congrès dans son livre intitulé Organization of a New Indian Territory, East of the Missouri River (1850). Son lobbying ayant échoué, Kahgegagahbowh se remet à l’écriture. S’inspirant des traditions culturelles anishinaabeg et euro-américaine, il écrit son histoire pionnière dans « The Traditional History and Characteristic Sketches of the Ojibwa Nation » (1850), puis en 1851, il publie « Running Sketches of Men and Places in England, Germany, Belgium and Scotland », un récit de voyage dans lequel il décrit ses populaires tournées de conférences. Enfin, il crée l’hebdomadaire éphémère « Copway’s American Indian » (1851) publié à New York.

Au cours des années qui suivent, Kahgegagahbowh a du mal à gagner sa vie et disparaît presque entièrement des archives historiques. Il décède à Ypsilanti, Michigan, en 1869.