Hart Massey House, facade detail is cantilevered
Hart Massey House, Ottawa, Ontario

The heritage value of Hart Massey is based on its architectural and environmental interests. The house was built in 1959, designed by the architect Hart Massey, who lived there until the 1970s. It is an iconic example of mid-20th century modernism in residential architecture in Canada, and a Canadian example of International style because of its sensitivity to its natural surroundings. Built on a rectilinear plan, the minimalist structure is made up of a series of modular boxes enclosed by alternating glass and opaque walls, which open the house to its site creating a completely unique architectural ensemble. This prestigious house reflects the personal tastes and the modernist ideals of architect, Hart Massey, who designed it for himself and his family. The design earned him the Silver Medal of the Massey Awards for Architecture, the highest honour at the time. Elevated on thin steel columns so that it appears to float above its sloped site on McKay Lake, the house was designed to preserve the integrity of its natural environment. Its architecture is an extension of the landscape, and its dramatic expanses of glass erase the line between indoor and outdoor space.

The Massey House is situated in the Ottawa residential community of Rockcliffe Park, one of the few houses built directly on the shoreline of McKay Lake. The house has two storeys. The common areas are on the lower level, while the bedrooms are on the second floor. Massey wished to preserve the natural environment of the site which he accomplished by elevating the house above ground on thin pillars. There are mature trees including a large willow to the north, shrubs, bushes, flowers, perennial plants and grassy areas throughout the property, all of which integrate nicely into the sloped site. The façades are smooth and unadorned and the large glass surfaces expose a structural system based on a steel frame or reinforced concrete. The east side of the house, which faces the lake, features floor to ceiling windows that provide an unobstructed view of the surrounding landscape. Inside, partition walls on the ground floor are only three-quarters high contributing to an open plan. A common colour scheme of beige and black extends throughout the house. 

The building has undergone changes over the years. The most important was the enlargement of the house to the north in 1993 with the addition of a modular box on each level. However, the integrity of its aesthetic design as well as the treatment of materials has been maintained. Subsequent owners have carefully restored and renovated the house while meticulously respecting its original concept. Some changes have also been made to the landscaping in keeping with the architecture of the house. Gardens have been successfully integrated and new varieties of plants and flowers continue to be introduced.

Maison Hart Massey, détail de la façade est en porte-à-faux
La maison Hart Massey, Ottawa, Ontario

La valeur patrimoniale de la maison Hart Massey repose sur ses intérêts architectural et environnemental. Elle a été érigée en 1959 selon les plans de l’architecte Hart Massey, qui l’habitat jusque dans les années 1970. Cette résidence est un exemple emblématique de l’architecture moderne résidentielle de la moitié du XXe siècle au pays et un spécimen canadien de style international en raison de sa prise en compte du paysage environnant. Conçue à partir d’un plan rectiligne, il s’agit d’une structure minimaliste composée d’une série de boîtes modulaires, certaines vitrées, d’autres à parois opaques, qui s’ouvrent sur la nature et qui en font un ensemble architectural tout à fait unique. Cette prestigieuse résidence reflète les goûts personnels et les idéaux modernistes de l’architecte Hart Massey, qui l’a conçue pour lui et sa famille et qui lui a valu la médaille d’argent des prix Massey pour l’architecture, la plus haute distinction de l’époque. Suspendue sur de fines poutres d’acier qui semblent flotter au-dessus d’un terrain fortement incliné face au lac Mckay, la maison a été conçue dans le souci de préserver l’intégrité de son environnement naturel; son architecture se prolongeant dans le paysage et ses immenses parois vitrées supprimant les barrières entre l’espace intérieur et extérieur.

La maison Massey est située dans le quartier résidentiel de Rockcliffe Park, à Ottawa. C’est l’une des rares propriétés construites directement sur les rives du lac McKay. Elle compte deux étages. Les aires communes sont situées au niveau inférieur tandis que les chambres sont situées au deuxième étage. Dans son désir de préserver la nature du site, Massey éleva la maison hors terre sur de fines colonnes. Des arbres matures, incluant un grand saule au nord, des arbustes, des buissons, des fleurs, des plantes vivaces et des aires gazonnées agrémentent la propriété, le tout intégré à un site en pente. Les façades sont lisses et dépourvues d’ornementation et les grandes surfaces de verre exposent un système structurel basé sur une ossature en acier ou en béton armé. Le côté de la maison faisant face au lac, comporte des fenêtres du sol au plafond qui donnent une vue entièrement dégagée du paysage environnant. À l’intérieur, les murs de séparation du rez-de-chaussée ont une hauteur aux trois quarts pour créer une aire ouverte. On trouve un agencement de beige et de noir dans toute la maison.

Le bâtiment a subi des changements au fil des ans. Le plus important fut certes l’agrandissement de la maison au nord en 1993 par l’ajout d’une boîte modulaire sur chacun des niveaux. Toutefois, l’intégrité de sa conception esthétique ainsi que du traitement des matériaux a été maintenue. Les propriétaires suivants ont soigneusement restauré et rénové la maison tout en respectant méticuleusement son concept d’origine. Quelques changements ont aussi été apportés à l’aménagement paysager en accord avec l’architecture de la maison. Des jardins ont été intégrés avec succès et de nouvelles variétés de plantes et de fleurs continuent d’être introduites.