Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow
Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow, George Metcalf Archival Collection, Canadian War Museum
© George Metcalf Archival Collection, Canadian War Museum

Francis Pegahmagabow was a highly-effective sniper and scout in the First World War, and his military service and passionate advocacy for Indigenous rights continue to be an inspiration to his Nishnaabe community. He was among the earliest enlistees following the declaration of war. He fought in a number of significant battles and received the Military Medal and two bars for his bravery in action. Facing discrimination and strict regulation under the Indian Act upon his return that contradicted his voluntary military service to Canada, he became a political leader in Wasauksing First Nation, and later nationally, and fought for treaty rights, persevering in the face of restrictions placed upon First Nations by the federal government. Pegahmagabow is a recognized Canadian war hero and a respected figure in Wasauksing First Nation.

Francis Pegahmagabow was born on March 9, 1889 at what is now Shawanaga First Nation, on the eastern shore of Georgian Bay, Ontario, the only child of Michael Pegahmagabow and Mary Contin. He was an Ojibwe Nishnaabe, a member of the Caribou clan, and part of the Wasauksing First Nation. On August 13, 1914, ten days after the declaration of war, Pegahmagabow enlisted to serve as a member of the 1st Battalion, 1st Division of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, which was part of the first contingent sent overseas. Over the course of the war, Pegahmagabow was promoted to corporal, and received the Military Medal and two bars for bravery on the battlefield. He became widely-known as a skilled sniper and scout, and fought in a number of major battles, including the Second Battle of Ypres, the Battle of Passchendaele, and the Hundred Days Offensive. In 1919, he was one of almost 200 veterans to be decorated with his awards by the visiting Prince of Wales, the future King Edward VIII, at the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto.

After the war, Pegahmagabow re-entered civilian life, determined to establish himself at Wasauksing First Nation. There, he married Eva Tronche, and together they had eight children, losing two sons in early childhood. Between the 1920s and his death in 1952, Pegahmagabow was a community leader and political organizer who fought for the rights of Indigenous Peoples. As chief of Wasauksing First Nation from 1921 to 1925, he tried to address numerous treaty transgressions and voiced grievances to the Department of Indian Affairs. He again served as chief from 1942 to 1945 and, during this time, he became part of Indigenous political organizing at the national level. In 1943 and 1944, he attended conventions that brought together Indigenous leaders from across the country, the second of which resulted in the founding of the North American Indian Brotherhood. In 1945, he became a member of the National Indian Government, an organization that advocated for the autonomy of First Nations from the Indian Act, and served two terms as Supreme Chief of this organization in 1949 and 1950. He travelled widely and corresponded with Indigenous Peoples across Ontario, who sought his guidance on a wide range of issues from unresolved land claims to curtailed fishing and trapping rights.

Francis Pegahmagabow died at St. Joseph's Hospital in Parry Sound, Ontario, onAugust 5, 1952, after suffering a heart attack. He is buried in a military grave in Parry Sound. A bronze statue of Pegahmagabow also stands in Parry Sound, and his military medals and headdress are part of the permanent exhibit at the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa. He was nominated for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada by family members and his nomination was supported by Wasauksing First Nation.

Caporal Francis Pegahmagabow
Caporal Francis Pegahmagabow, Collection d’archives George-Metcalf, Musée canadien de la guerre
© Collection d’archives George-Metcalf, Musée canadien de la guerre

Francis Pegahmagabow est un tireur d'élite et éclaireur très efficace pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, et son service militaire ainsi que sa pugnacité dans la défense des droits des Autochtones demeurent une inspiration pour sa communauté nishnaabe. Il est l'un des premiers à s'enrôler après la déclaration de la guerre. Il prend part à plusieurs grandes batailles et reçoit la Médaille militaire et deux agrafes pour sa bravoure au combat. Confronté à son retour de la guerre à la discrimination et aux règles strictes de la Loi sur les Indiens qui sont en contradiction avec son service militaire volontaire pour le Canada, Pegahmagabow devient un dirigeant politique dans la Première Nation Wasauksing et, plus tard, sur la scène nationale. Il défend les droits issus de traités et persévère face aux restrictions imposées aux Premières Nations par le gouvernement fédéral. Il est héros de guerre canadien reconnu et une figure respectée de la Première Nation Wasauksing.

Francis Pegahmagabow est né le 9 mars 1889 dans ce qui est aujourd'hui la Première Nation Shawanaga, sur la rive est de la baie Georgienne, en Ontario. Enfant unique de Michael Pegahmagabow et de Mary Contin, Francis Pegahmagabow est Ojibway Nishnaabe, membre du clan du Caribou, et fait partie de la Première Nation Wasauksing. Le 13 août 1914, dix jours après la déclaration de guerre, Pegahmagabow s'enrôle dans l'armée. Membre du 1er Bataillon de la 1re Division du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, il fait partie du premier contingent envoyé outremer. Pendant la guerre, il est promu au grade de caporal et reçoit la Médaille militaire et deux agrafes pour ses actes de bravoure au champ de bataille. Il est reconnu comme un tireur d'élite et un éclaireur très efficace, et il prend part à plusieurs batailles importantes, notamment la deuxième bataille d'Ypres, la bataille de Passchendaele et l'offensive des Cent Jours. En 1919, il est l'un des quelque 200 anciens combattants à recevoir ses décorations des mains du prince de Galles, le futur roi Édouard VIII, à l'Exposition nationale canadienne à Toronto.

Une fois la guerre terminée, Pegahmagabow reprend la vie civile, déterminé à s'établir dans la Première Nation Wasauksing. C'est à cet endroit qu'il épouse Eva Tronche et qu'ils fondent une famille de huit enfants. Deux de leurs fils meurent en bas âge. Des années 1920 jusqu'à son décès en 1952, Pegahmagabow est une figure importante dans sa communauté et un organisateur politique qui défend les droits des peuples autochtones. En tant que chef de la Première Nation Wasauksing de 1921 à 1925, il cherche à redresser de nombreuses violations de traités et fait part de ses revendications au ministère des Affaires indiennes. Il est à nouveau chef de 1942 à 1945 et, pendant cette période, il participe à l'organisation politique des Autochtones à l'échelle nationale. En 1943 et 1944, il prend part à des congrès qui réunissent des dirigeants autochtones de l'ensemble du pays. Le deuxième auquel il assiste mène à la fondation de la North American Indian Brotherhood. En 1945, il devient membre du National Indian Government, organisme revendiquant l'autonomie des Premières Nations en regard de la Loi sur les Indiens, et remplit deux mandats comme chef suprême de cet organisme en 1949 et 1950. Il voyage beaucoup et correspond avec des Autochtones de l'ensemble de l'Ontario, qui le consultent sur un large éventail d'enjeux, allant des revendications territoriales non résolues aux droits de pêche et de trappage brimés.

Francis Pegahmagabow meurt des suites d'un infarctus au St. Joseph's Hospital à Parry Sound, en Ontario, le 5 août 1952. Sa tombe, située à Parry Sound, porte la marque militaire. Une statue de Pegahmagabow se dresse à Parry Sound, et ses médailles militaires et sa coiffure de chef font partie de l'exposition permanente du Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa. Il a été nominé pour la considération de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada par des membres de sa famille et a reçu l'appui de la Première Nation Wasauksing.