Backgrounder

Red River Expedition of 1870
Painting of the Red River Expedition at Kakabeka Falls
Credit: Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1989-400-1 In memory of Viscount Wolseley

In May 1870, Col. Garnet J. Wolseley led an expedition from Toronto, Ontario, to the Red River Settlement in what is now Manitoba to oversee the transfer of power from the provisional government, led by Louis Riel, to the Dominion of Canada. This was the last British military operation on North American soil. It served both international and domestic political purposes. As a firm display of Canadian sovereignty, it demonstrated to American expansionists that Canada intended, with Britain's support, to assert control over its new territorial acquisition, recently acquired from the Hudson's Bay Company. At the same time, its despatch appeased the anger of some Protestants in Ontario that had been aroused by the actions of the provisional government.

Under Wolseley's command were two militia battalions, the 1st (Ontario) Rifles and the 2nd (Quebec) Rifles, and one battalion of British regulars (373 officers and men from the 60th Rifles), plus small detachments from the Royal Artillery, the Royal Engineers, the Army Service Corps, and the Army Hospital Corps. In total, there were 1,214 officers and men. The troops travelled primarily by steamboat from Toronto to Port Arthur (Thunder Bay). An inland road from Lake Superior had not yet been completed. The 94-day journey overland across more than 1,100 km, was all the more strenuous with few roads, bridges, or supply depots to aid them. They finally arrived at Upper Fort Garry (Winnipeg), in a downpour, on 24 August 1870.

At this time, the Red River Settlement had 13,000 residents, the largest population west of Lake Superior. Approximately 90 percent of the residents were of mixed Indigenous and European ancestry, some of which were Métis. Many of their families had been living on these lands for generations. A provisional government, led by Louis Riel, had been formed in December 1869, and Ottawa directed that this provisional government was to remain in place until the summer of 1870, when administration of the settlement could be handed over to dominion authorities, including a new civilian lieutenant-governor. However, this new lieutenant-governor was delayed en route, and Wolseley's expedition arrived first. Riel and other leading members of the provisional government, not sure what to expect with the arrival of the troops at the settlement, vacated Upper Fort Garry shortly before Wolseley and his men arrived.

Anti-Riel sentiment in Ontario, spurred in part by the provisional government's execution of Thomas Scott, meant that Wolseley's military expedition was seen by many in that province as a way of putting the “rebels” in their place. Some of the members of the expedition, including Wolseley himself, expressed disappointment that Riel had left before they reached Upper Fort Garry. Once the expedition arrived in Manitoba, the absence of effective civil authority created a political and legal vacuum. A number of Métis became victims of verbal and physical altercations and assault, and most of the suspected wrongdoers were not punished, and those that were punished received only light sentences or fines. Many long-term residents of Red River felt considerable anxiety in this chaotic environment, and some Métis families liquidated their assets and moved beyond the reach of newcomers.

The British regulars soon returned to the East, but the militia regiments remained as a garrison for the new province of Manitoba. The difficult situation was not necessarily eliminated by disbanding the regiments in the summer of 1871. Many of the militiamen stayed in Manitoba, settling in the growing towns or staking out good farmland, some of which was already occupied by Métis families.

Fiche d’information

Expédition de la rivière Rouge de 1870
Peinture de l’expédition à la rivière Rouge aux Chutes de Kakabeka
Crédit : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no d’acquisition 1989-400-1 en mémoire du vicomte Wolseley

En mai 1870, le colonel Garnet J. Wolseley quitte Toronto (Ontario) à la tête d'une expédition qui se dirige vers la colonie de la rivière Rouge, dans ce qui est aujourd'hui le Manitoba, pour superviser la passation des pouvoirs entre le gouvernement provisoire dirigé par Louis Riel et le gouvernement fédéral. Il s'agit de la dernière opération militaire britannique en sol nord-américain. C'est une opération politiquement utile tant sur le plan international que sur le plan intérieur. Cette manifestation ferme de la souveraineté du Canada permet de bien faire comprendre aux expansionnistes américains que le Canada a l'intention d'imposer sa mainmise, avec l'appui des Britanniques, sur le territoire nouvellement acquis de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. L'envoi de cette expédition a aussi pour effet d'apaiser la colère que les actions du gouvernement provisoire avaient déclenchée chez certains protestants de l'Ontario.

Sous le commandement de Wolseley sont déployés deux bataillons de la milice, soit le 1st (Ontario) Rifles et le 2nd (Quebec) Rifles, et un bataillon de réguliers britanniques (373 soldats et officiers du 60th Rifles), de même que de petits détachements de la Royal Artillery, des Royal Engineers, de l'Army Hospital Corps et de l'Army Service Corps. En tout, 1 214 soldats et officiers sont mobilisés. Les troupes se déplacent principalement par bateau à vapeur de Toronto à Port Arthur (Thunder Bay), car la liaison routière à partir du lac Supérieur n'est pas encore terminée. Le périple de 94 jours couvrant plus de 1 100 km par voie terrestre est d'autant plus ardu qu'il manque de routes, de ponts ou de dépôts de ravitaillement. L'expédition atteint finalement Upper Fort Garry (Winnipeg), sous une pluie diluvienne, le 24 août 1870.

À l'époque, la colonie de la rivière Rouge compte 13 000 habitants, ce qui représente le plus grand regroupement de population à l'ouest du lac Supérieur. Environ 90 pour cent des habitants sont d'ascendance mixte autochtone et européenne, et certains sont Métis. Bon nombre de familles vivent sur ces terres depuis plusieurs générations. Un gouvernement provisoire dirigé par Louis Riel a été constitué en décembre 1869, et Ottawa a en ordonné le maintien jusqu'à l'été 1870, après quoi l'administration de la colonie serait transférée aux autorités fédérales, notamment à un nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur civil. Cependant, ce nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur est retardé en cours de route, et Wolseley gagne la colonie en premier. Incertains de ce qui se déroulerait à l'arrivée des troupes dans la colonie, Louis Riel et d'autres membres responsables du gouvernement provisoire quittent Upper Fort Garry peu de temps avant l'arrivée de Wolseley et de ses hommes.

L'exécution de Thomas Scott par le gouvernement provisoire suscite de la rancœur à l'endroit de Riel en Ontario. L'expédition militaire de Wolseley y est donc largement considérée comme un moyen de rappeler les « rebelles » à l'ordre. Certains des membres de l'expédition, dont Wolseley lui-même, ne cachent pas leur déception de voir que Riel est parti avant qu'ils n'aient gagné Upper Fort Garry. À leur arrivée au Manitoba, l'absence de pouvoir civil effectif crée un vide politique et juridique. Plusieurs Métis deviennent victimes d'altercations et d'agressions physiques, et la plupart des suspects ne sont pas punis. Quant aux suspects qui sont punis, ils ne se voient infliger que des peines légères ou de faibles amendes. Bon nombre d'habitants de la rivière Rouge éprouvent une grande anxiété dans cet environnement chaotique, au point où certaines familles métisses liquident leurs biens et quittent la région pour pouvoir échapper aux nouveaux venus.

Les troupes régulières britanniques retournent rapidement dans l'Est, mais les régiments de la milice demeurent sur place pour former la garnison de la nouvelle province du Manitoba. Le démantèlement des régiments au cours de l'été 1871 ne fait pas nécessairement disparaître le problème. Bon nombre de miliciens restent au Manitoba, où ils s'installent dans les villages en pleine croissance ou s'approprient de bonnes terres agricoles, dont certaines sont déjà occupées par des Métis.