Backgrounder

Designed and built in 1939-1940, Our Lady of the Assumption Cathedral speaks to the history of the Acadian people. Decorative elements related to their religious and secular history are found throughout the cathedral; these include an exterior sculpture of the Virgin Mary, patron saint of the Acadians, and stained glass windows depicting significant religious and historical events. Its exterior architecture is an accomplished and eclectic blend of Gothic Revival and Art Deco styles, while the interior draws from the Romanesque style. Built to affirm the Acadian identity and pay tribute to their resilience, its construction mobilized the Acadian community and diaspora behind a project to erect the first large-scale building commemorating them as a distinct people. The cathedral is associated with the establishment of the Archdiocese of Moncton in 1937 and embodies the final phase of the Acadian Renaissance. This place of worship continues to be a tangible symbol of the achievements of Acadians throughout their history.

Built according to plans drafted by the architect Louis Napoléon Audet (1881-1971), the cathedral measures about 70 metres long by 43 metres wide. In addition to the church, the building includes two chapels, two sacristies, and many rooms located on multiple floors. Many of its decorative elements refer to the Acadian people and their history. Inside the church, the crowns (capitals) on the pillars facing the main altar were carved by Acadian craftspeople and depict objects associated with various trades practised by the Acadians throughout their history. The two large stained-glass windows in the cathedral transepts depict significant events in the religious and secular history of Acadia and its people.

Our Lady of the Assumption Cathedral is the physical manifestation of the culmination of decades of efforts by Acadians to win recognition for their presence, their demographic importance, and their legitimate rights as full citizens in the political, social, economic, cultural, and religious contexts of the Maritime provinces. The construction project was supported by Acadians in the archdiocese, the Maritime provinces, Quebec, Louisiana, and New England.

The cathedral stands on the former site of a crypt and unfinished chapel that was used as a place of worship in the first French-speaking parish in Moncton, which was itself born out of the breaking up of St. Bernard’s Parish in 1914. The cathedral is the achievement of this parish’s first archbishop, Mgr. Louis-Joseph-Arthur Melanson (1879-1941). Acadians in New Brunswick and the Maritime provinces consider it to be a crown jewel of their architectural heritage, and its historical and heritage value stems in large part from the associative and symbolic values conferred on it by the Acadian community.

Fiche d’information

Conçue et édifiée en 1939-1940, la cathédrale raconte l’histoire du peuple acadien. Des éléments décoratifs dépeignent leur histoire religieuse et séculière partout dans la cathédrale, y compris la sculpture extérieure de la Vierge Marie, sainte patronne des Acadiens, et des vitraux qui illustrent des épisodes historiques et religieux importants de ce peuple. Son architecture extérieure est un mélange achevé et éclectique de néogothique et d’Art déco, alors que l’intérieur emprunte au style roman. Édifiée comme instrument d’affirmation identitaire et pour rendre hommage à la résilience des Acadiens, la construction de cette église a rassemblé la communauté et la diaspora acadiennes autour d’un projet visant à ériger le premier grand édifice qui les glorifierait comme peuple distinct. Indissociable de la création de l’archidiocèse de Moncton en 1937, la cathédrale témoigne de la phase ultime de la Renaissance acadienne. Ce lieu de culte demeure un symbole tangible des réalisations des Acadiens tout au long de leur histoire.

Construit selon les plans dressés par l’architecte Louis-Napoléon Audet (1881-1971), la cathédrale mesure environ 70 mètres de longueur et 43 mètres de largeur. Outre l’église elle-même, le bâtiment comporte deux chapelles, deux sacristies et de nombreuses salles réparties sur plusieurs étages. Plusieurs des éléments décoratifs font référence au peuple acadien et à son histoire. À l’intérieur, les chapiteaux des colonnes faisant face au maître-autel et réalisés par des artisans acadiens sont décorés d’objets associés aux différents métiers exercés par les Acadiens à travers leur histoire. Les deux grandes verrières, situées dans les transepts de la cathédrale, illustrent les grands moments de l’histoire religieuse acadienne et les moments forts de l’histoire laïque ou civique du peuple acadien.

La cathédrale de Notre-Dame-de-l’Assomption est la manifestation physique de l’apogée de décennies de revendications menées par les Acadiens et Acadiennes pour faire reconnaître leur présence, leur poids démographique, ainsi que leurs droits légitimes comme citoyens à part entière dans les contextes politique, social et économique, culturel et religieux des provinces maritimes. En plus de bénéficier du soutien des Acadiens de l’archidiocèse, le projet de construction a reçu l’appui d’Acadiens des provinces maritimes, du Québec, de la Louisiane et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Élevée sur l’ancien site d’une crypte et chapelle inachevée qui servait de lieu de culte à la première paroisse francophone de Moncton, née elle-même du démembrement de la paroisse St. Bernard en 1914, elle est l’œuvre de son premier archevêque titulaire, Mgr Louis-Joseph-Arthur Melanson (1879-1941). Les Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick, voire des provinces maritimes, la considèrent comme le principal joyau de leur patrimoine architectural. La valeur historique et patrimoniale de la cathédrale tient donc en grande partie aux valeurs associatives et symboliques que lui confère la communauté acadienne.