Backgrounder

Beinn Bhreagh Hall
South elevation of Beinn Bhreagh Hall

Built in 1892-93, Beinn Bhreagh Hall (BBH) was the summer residence, estate, and laboratory of inventor and scientist Alexander Graham Bell and his wife, Mabel Bell. It is a grand Queen Anne Revival/Shingle style residence, an outstanding example of this architectural style that was popular in New England and favoured on the American seaboard. It features original stone fireplaces and interior workmanship, and its lush gardens were created by Mabel Bell. BBH was an inspiration to Alexander Graham Bell during his late career, serving as both a private home and the nerve centre for innovative experiments with kites, tetrahedral construction, and hydrofoils, as well as sheep breeding.

The Bells were a prominent American family whose permanent residence was in Washington, DC. They began summering in Nova Scotia in 1885, and in 1892, began construction of BBH as a summer home. In fact, they liked Baddeck so much that they often lived there for much of the year, even building research laboratories nearby. Their home was a welcoming centre to scientists and local residents who often visited and partook of lively discussions. Alexander Graham Bell had a prolific mind and was always exploring new ideas. He often hired local townspeople to assist in his experiments. While residing at BBH, he conducted research in many fields including sound transmission, medicine, aeronautics, marine engineering, and space-frame construction. It was here that, in 1907, Mabel and Alexander Bell founded the Aerial Experiment Association which developed four prototype airplanes, including the Silver Dart, which flew across Bras D’Or Lake in February 1909.

Located at the point of Red Head Peninsula between Beinn Bhreagh Mountain and Bras D’Or Lake, BBH affords magnificent views of the lake and the town of Baddeck. The Queen Anne Style, two-storey residence features a massive central-tiered stone chimney, a large central sun porch with wood railing and large windows, and two large turrets which wrap around the corners of the house. Its 11.7 hectares (28.9 acres) of landscaped gardens benefit from an unusually warm microclimate and feature a number of rare plants, including Cypress trees and Japanese Barbery. A three-tiered garden with annuals, perennials, and a magnolia tree planted in 1913 are located to the north of the house. Designed by Arthur G. Everett with input from the Bells, BBH is one of the few surviving examples of an Atlantic Canadian ‘summer’ home built by a prominent American. It retains much of its original features, speaking to its role as the central hub of a unique scientific and technical ‘laboratory’ created by Bell, his wife, and associates.

Fiche d’information

Beinn Bhreagh Hall
Élévation sud de Beinn Bhreagh Hall

Construit en 1892-1893, Beinn Bhreagh Hall (BBH) est la résidence d’été, le domaine et le laboratoire de l’inventeur et chercheur, Alexander Graham Bell, et de son épouse, Mabel Bell. Cette grande résidence de style néo-Queen Anne/Shingle est un très bel exemple de ce style architectural alors en vogue en Nouvelle-Angleterre et prisé sur le littoral américain. Il se distingue par ses foyers en pierre d’origine, la finesse d’exécution de son intérieur et les jardins luxuriants créés par Mabel Bell. Vers la fin de sa carrière, BBH est une inspiration pour Alexander Graham Bell qui l’utilise comme résidence privée et comme centre névralgique de ses expériences novatrices avec des cerfs-volants, des structures tétraèdres et des hydroptères, ainsi que pour l’élevage de moutons.

Les Bell sont alors une famille américaine renommée dont la résidence permanente se trouve à Washington, DC. Ils passent leur premier été en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1885, et amorcent la construction de BBH en 1892 pour en faire leur résidence estivale. En fait, ils aiment tant Baddeck qu’ils y restent souvent une grande partie de l’année, construisant même des laboratoires de recherche à proximité. Ils accueillent volontiers les scientifiques et les résidents locaux qui viennent y prendre part à des discussions animées. Alexander Graham Bell a toujours l’esprit en éveil et explore constamment de nouvelles idées. Il retient souvent les services de gens du coin pour l’aider dans ses expériences. À BBH, il mène des recherches dans différents domaines, dont la transmission sonore, la médecine, l’aéronautique, le génie maritime et les structures en treillis. C’est ici qu’en 1907, Mabel et Alexander Bell fondent l’Aerial Experiment Association qui met au point quatre prototypes d’aéronef, notamment le Silver Dart, qui survole le lac Bras d’Or en février 1909.

Située à l’extrémité de la péninsule Red Head, entre le mont Beinn Bhreagh et le lac Bras d’Or, BBH offre des vues imprenables sur le lac et la ville de Baddeck. Cette résidence à deux étages de style Queen Anne est dotée d’une énorme cheminée étagée en pierre, ainsi que d’un grand solarium central avec balustrade en bois et grandes fenêtres; elle est flanquée de deux imposantes tourelles qui enveloppent ses angles. Ses 28,9 acres de jardins paysagers profitent d’un microclimat particulièrement chaud et comptent un certain nombre d’espèces rares, dont des cyprès et des épines-vinettes du Japon. Le côté nord de la maison donne sur un jardin à trois niveaux où poussent des plantes annuelles, des plantes vivaces et un magnolia planté en 1913. Conçu par Arthur G. Everett avec la participation des Bell, BBH est l’un des quelques exemples qui subsistent de résidences d’été du Canada atlantique construites par un Américain renommé. Il conserve la plupart de ses éléments d’origine qui témoignent de son rôle de pivot du « laboratoire » scientifique et technique exceptionnel créé par Bell, son épouse et leurs associés.