The Residential School System is a topic that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering. A National Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former residential school students and their families. You can access information on the website or access emotional and crisis referral services by calling the 24-Hour National Crisis Line: 1-866-925-4419.

On September 1, 2020, the Government of Canada announced the designation of the Residential School System as a national historic event under the National Program of Historical Commemoration.

The Residential School System has impacted multiple generations of Indigenous peoples, with long-term detrimental effects on First Nations, Inuit, and Métis communities, cultures, economies, traditional knowledge and ways of life, languages, family structures, and connections to the land.

The Government of Canada recognizes this as a tragic event in our shared history and, with Indigenous peoples and communities who are ready to do so, is committed to raising awareness of the experiences of the children who attended these schools to ensure that this history is acknowledged and better understood by all Canadians.

Recent designations of national historic significance

The Residential School System National Historic Event

Residential schools for Indigenous children existed in Canada from the 17th century until the late 1990s. During the 19th and 20th centuries, a formal system for the residential schooling of Indigenous children was established and expanded throughout Canada. It is estimated that at least 150,000 First Nations, Inuit, and Métis children attended residential schools during this period. These schools were largely operated by certain churches and religious organizations and administered and funded by the federal government as a key aspect of colonialism. The system was imposed on Indigenous peoples as part of a broad set of assimilation efforts to destroy their rich cultures and identities and to suppress their histories. Throughout this period, Indigenous peoples fought against the system in many ways. The efforts of residential school survivors to tell their stories and to seek justice have been a crucial catalyst in the growing public recognition of the harm and effects of residential schools.

The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) nominated the Residential School System for consideration under the National Program of Historical Commemoration and its designation as a national historic event reflects the input of Survivors from across the country.

Communities interested in installing a Historic Sites and Monument Board of Canada bronze plaque to mark the national historic event designation of the Residential School System at a former residential school site should contact Parks Canada at pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca.

Backgrounder: The Residential School System National Historic Event.

News release: Government of Canada recognizes the National Historic Significance of the Residential School System and former Residential School sites


Former Muscowequan Indian Residential School National Historic Site
Large Building
Former Muscowequan Indian Residential School, located on Muskowekwan First Nation, Saskatchewan, 2020.
© Parks Canada / Allison Sarkar

Designated National Historic Site in 2021

Located on the reserve lands of Muskowekwan First Nation in Treaty 4 Territory (southeastern Saskatchewan), the Former Muscowequan Indian Residential School is the only standing residential school in Saskatchewan, and one of the few remaining residential school buildings in Canada. The former school building was built in 1930-31 to replace residential school buildings dating to the late-19th century, and remained open until 1997. For over a century, First Nations and Métis children from Treaty 4 Territory, across Saskatchewan, and elsewhere in Canada were sent to this school.

This site was nominated for designation by Muskowekwan First Nation. Parks Canada and the nominator worked collaboratively to identify the historic values of this former residential school, and to develop the report on the history of the school and the experiences of students, which was reviewed by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Backgrounder: Former Muscowequan Indian Residential School National Historic Site


Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School National Historic Site
Large Building
Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School
© Parks Canada / Nathalie Ouellette

Designated National Historic Site in 2021

Located in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, on Robinson-Huron territory on the traditional homeland of the Anishinaabe and the Métis, the Shingwauk Indian Residential School was built in 1934-35 to replace the original school building which dated to the late-19th century. From 1935 to its closure in 1970, more than a thousand Indigenous children from Ontario, Quebec, the Prairies, and the Northwest Territories were sent to this school.

This site was nominated for designation by the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC). Parks Canada, the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, and the SRSC worked collaboratively to identify the historic values of the site, and to develop the report on the students’ experiences and the history of the school for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Backgrounder: Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School National Historic Site


Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School National Historic Site, Manitoba
Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School
Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School
© Parks Canada / Allison Sarkar, 2019

Designated National Historic Site in 2020

Built in 1914-1915, the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School is located on the Keeshkeemaquah Reserve, part of the reserve lands of Long Plain First Nation. Children from many First Nations and other Indigenous communities in Manitoba and elsewhere were sent to this residential school, which remained open until 1975.

This former residential school site was nominated for designation by the site owner, Long Plain First Nation. Parks Canada worked collaboratively with Long Plain First Nation to identify the historic significance of this former residential school and to develop the submission report for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Backgrounder: Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School National Historic Site


Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School National Historic Site, Nova Scotia
Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School
Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School
© Sisters of Charity, Halifax, Congregational Archives

Designated National Historic Site in 2020

The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was built in 1928-29 in the Sipekni’katik district of Mi’kma’ki, Nova Scotia and was in use from 1930 to 1967. Many Mi’kmaw and Wolastoqkew children from Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and Quebec were forced to attend this residential school. It is also possible that children from other Indigenous communities were sent to this school.

The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was nominated by the co-chair of the Tripartite Culture and Heritage Working Committee of the Mi’kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Tripartite Forum on behalf of Survivors of the Shubenacadie Indian Residential School and their descendants. Parks Canada and the nominator worked collaboratively to identify the historic significance of this former residential school and to develop the submission report for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Backgrounder: Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School National Historic Site

Nominate a site, person, or event

There are many historical subjects related to the histories and legacies of the Residential School System in Canada that could be eligible for designation under the National Program of Historical Commemoration.

Are you aware of a person, event or site that should be recognized by the Government of Canada for its national historic significance? Learn about the National Program of Historical Commemoration, or contact the Secretariat for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada at pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca, or toll-free phone number: 1-855-283-8730.

Please note that for all site nominations, a letter of permission from the site owner is a necessary component of the nomination. The designation of a site is honorific in nature and does not legally protect the site, or transfer site ownership or management to Parks Canada.

Parks Canada and call to action 79

Call to action 79 of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission asks the federal government to “commemorate residential school sites, the history and legacy of residential schools, and the contributions of Indigenous peoples to Canada’s history."

Commemoration is not celebration — it is recognition and acknowledgement of the history that has shaped Canada.

Budget 2018 allocated $23.9 million over five years towards the implementation of Call to Action 79, and to support Parks Canada initiatives to integrate Indigenous views, histories and heritage into national parks, marine conservation areas, and historic sites administered by the Agency.

Parks Canada and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation are working together to support the commemoration of former residential school sites, in direct response to Call to Action 79, including engagement and outreach initiatives.

Parks Canada is also advancing the implementation of the Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019. The Framework supports greater inclusion of Indigenous peoples’ history, voices and perspectives in the National Program of Historical Commemoration and other public history activities. It outlines an approach to sharing the stories of Canada through diverse, wide-ranging, and sometimes complex perspectives, including difficult and tragic periods of the country’s past. It also creates new opportunities for Indigenous communities to share their stories in their own way at heritage places administered by Parks Canada.

Parks Canada’s work is part of a commitment by the Government of Canada to respond to all of the Calls to Action. Other federal government departments are leading on related work, notably for residential school cemeteries (Missing Children and Burials), and special projects to recognize the histories and legacies of residential schools.

Le système des pensionnats autochtones est un sujet pouvant causer des traumatismes évoqués par des souvenirs d’abus passés. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d’établir des mesures de sécurité afin de minimiser le risque de déclencher une réaction à l’évocation de violences passées. Une ligne d’écoute téléphonique des pensionnats autochtones a été établie au niveau national pour apporter du soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats et leur famille. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’information sur le site Web ou accéder en tout temps à des services de soutien affectif et d’aiguillage en situation de crise en composant le : 1-866-925-4419.

Le 1er septembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la désignation du Système de pensionnats comme un événement historique national par le biais du Programme national de commémoration historique.

Le système de pensionnats indiens a eu des effets néfastes sur des générations de peuples autochtones, avec des incidences durables sur les communautés, les cultures, les économies, les connaissances et savoirs traditionnels, les langues, les structures familiales et les liens avec la terre des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que ceci est un moment tragique de notre histoire commune et, avec les peuples et les communautés autochtones qui sont prêts à le faire, s’engage à accroître la sensibilisation quant aux expériences des enfants qui ont fréquenté ces écoles pour s’assurer que cette histoire soit reconnue et mieux comprise par les tous les Canadiens.

Récentes désignations d’importance historique nationale

L’événement historique national du système des pensionnats autochtones

Les pensionnats destinés aux enfants autochtones ont existé au Canada du XVIIe siècle jusqu’à la fin des années 1990. Au cours des XIXe et XXe siècles, un système officiel de pensionnats pour les enfants autochtones a été mis sur pied et s’est étendu partout au Canada. Selon les estimations, au moins 150 000 enfants des Premières Nations, inuits et métis ont fréquenté ces établissements. Ces écoles étaient en grande partie dirigées par certaines églises et organismes religieux et administrés et financés par le gouvernement fédéral comme un élément essentiel du colonialisme. Ce système a été imposé aux peuples autochtones dans le cadre d’un vaste ensemble d’efforts délibérés d’assimilation visant à détruire leurs cultures et identités riches et à annihiler leurs histoires. Tout au long de l’histoire du système des pensionnats, les peuples autochtones ont lutté contre le système de nombreuses façons. Les efforts déployés par les survivants pour raconter leur histoire et obtenir justice ont été le catalyseur indispensable d’une plus grande reconnaissance publique des torts causés par le système de pensionnats et de ses conséquences.

Le Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation a proposé le système de pensionnats indiens aux fins de considération; cette désignation repose sur les commentaires des survivants de partout au pays.

Les communautés qui aimeraient marquer l’événement historique national du système de pensionnat sur le site d’un ancien pensionnat à l’aide d’une plaque de bronze de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada sont priées de communiquer avec Parcs Canada à pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca.

Fiche d’information : L’événement historique national du système des pensionnats autochtones.

Communiqué de presse : Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l’importance historique nationale du système des pensionnats autochtones et de sites d’anciens pensionnats autochtones


Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Muscowequan
Grand bâtiment
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Muscowequan, situé sur les terres de réserve de la Première Nation Muskowekwan, Saskatchewan, 2020.
© Parcs Canada / Allison Sarkar

Désigné lieu historique national en 2021

Situé sur les terres de réserve de la Première Nation Muskowekwan, dans le territoire visé par le Traité n° 4 (le sud-est de la Saskatchewan), l’ancien pensionnat indien de Muscowequan est le seul pensionnat encore debout en Saskatchewan et l’un des rares bâtiments de ce type qui subsistent au Canada. Le bâtiment de l’ancien pensionnat a été construit en 1930-1931 pour remplacer les bâtiments du pensionnat datant de la fin du XIXe siècle, et est demeuré ouvert jusqu’en 1997. Pendant plus d’un siècle, des enfants métis et des Premières Nations du territoire visé par le Traité n° 4, de toute la Saskatchewan et d’ailleurs au Canada ont été envoyés dans ce pensionnat.

Cet ancien pensionnat a été proposé pour désignation par la Première Nation Muskowekwan. Parcs Canada et la Première Nation Muskowekwan ont collaboré pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat, et pour développer le rapport pour la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada sur l’histoire du pensionnat et les expériences des élèves.

Fiche d’information : Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Muscowequan


Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk
Grand bâtiment
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk
© Parcs Canada / Nathalie Ouellette

Désigné lieu historique national en 2021

Situé à Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario) sur le territoire visé par le traité Robinson-Huron, territoire traditionnel des Anishinaabe et des Métis, l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk a été construit en 1934-1935 pour remplacer le bâtiment d’origine datant de 1875. Plus de mille enfants autochtones de l’Ontario, du Québec, des Prairies et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont été envoyés dans ce pensionnat.

Ce site a été proposé pour désignation par le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC). Parcs Canada, la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association et le SRSC ont collaboré pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat, et pour développer le rapport pour la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada sur l’histoire du pensionnat et les expériences des élèves.

Fiche d’information : Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk


Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie, Manitoba
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie
© Parcs Canada / Allison Sarkar, 2019

Désigné lieu historique national en 2020

Construit en 1914-1915, l’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie est situé dans la réserve Keeshkeemaquah, laquelle fait partie des terres de réserve de la Première Nation Long Plain. Des enfants de nombreuses Premières Nations et d’autres communautés autochtones du Manitoba et d’ailleurs ont été envoyés dans ce pensionnat, qui est resté ouvert jusqu’en 1975.

Cet ancien pensionnat a été proposé pour désignation par le propriétaire du site, la Première Nation Long Plain. Parcs Canada a travaillé en collaboration avec la Première Nation Long Plain pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat et pour rédiger le rapport de recherche historique préparé pour la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Fiche d’information : L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie au Manitoba


Lieu historique national de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie, Nouvelle-Écosse
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie
© Sœurs de la Charité, Halifax, Archives de la congrégation

Designé lieu historique national en 2020

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie a été construit en 1928-1929 dans le district Sipekni’katik de Mi’kma’ki en Nouvelle-Écosse. De 1930 à 1967, période pendant laquelle le pensionnat était ouvert, de nombreux enfants mi’kmaw et wolastoqkew de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Québec y ont été envoyés de force.

La demande de désignation de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie a été soumise par le coprésident du groupe de travail sur la culture et le patrimoine du Forum tripartite Mi’kmaq-Nouvelle-Écosse-Canada au nom des survivants du pensionnat de Shubenacadie et de leurs descendants. Parcs Canada et le demandeur ont collaboré pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat et pour rédiger le rapport de recherche historique préparé pour la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Fiche d’information : L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie en Nouvelle-Écosse

Proposer un lieu, une personne ou un événement

De nombreux sujets historiques liés à l’histoire et à l’héritage du système des pensionnats au Canada pourraient être admissibles à une désignation dans le cadre du Programme national de commémoration historique.

Connaissez-vous une personne, un événement ou un lieu qui devrait être reconnu par le gouvernement du Canada pour son importance historique nationale? Apprenez-en plus sur le Programme national de commémoration historique, ou communiquez avec le Secrétariat de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada à l’adresse suivante : pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca, ou au numéro sans frais suivant : 1-855-283-8730.

Veuillez noter que pour toutes demandes de désignation d’un lieu, il est nécessaire d’obtenir par écrit l’appui du ou des propriétaires du lieu. La désignation d’un site est de nature honorifique. Elle n’offre aucune protection légale au site et ne transfère pas la propriété du site ou les fonctions de gestion à Parcs Canada.

Parcs Canada et l’appel à l’action no 79

L'appel à l’action no 79de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada demande «  la commémoration des sites des pensionnats, de l’histoire et des séquelles de ces pensionnats et de la contribution des peuples autochtones à l’histoire du Canada  ».

La commémoration n’est pas une célébration. C’est une considération honorifique et la reconnaissance de l’histoire qui a façonné le Canada.

Le budget de 2018 a alloué 23,9 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour la mise en œuvre de l’appel à l’action no 79 et pour soutenir les initiatives de Parcs Canada visant à intégrer les points de vue, les histoires et le patrimoine autochtones dans les parcs nationaux, les aires marines de conservation et les lieux historiques administrés par l’Agence.

Parcs Canada et le Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation travaillent ensemble pour soutenir la commémoration des anciens sites des pensionnats, en réponse directe à l’appel à l’action no 79, notamment par le biais d’initiatives d’engagement et de sensibilisation.

Parcs Canada travaille également à la mise en œuvre du Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019. Le Cadre propose une meilleure intégration de l’histoire, des voix et des points de vue des peuples autochtones dans le cadre du Programme national de commémoration historique et d’autres activités liées à l’histoire publique. Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration décrit une approche pour partager les histoires du Canada à travers des perspectives diverses, vastes et parfois complexes, y compris des périodes difficiles et tragiques du passé du pays. Cela crée également de nouvelles opportunités pour les communautés autochtones de partager leurs histoires à leur manière dans des lieux patrimoniaux administrés par Parcs Canada.

Le travail de Parcs Canada fait partie d’un engagement du gouvernement du Canada à répondre à tous les appels à l’action. D’autres ministères fédéraux dirigent des travaux connexes, notamment pour les cimetières des pensionnats (Enfants disparus des pensionnats - financement de l’aide communautaire). Des projets spéciaux sont également mis en place pour reconnaître l’histoire et les séquelles des pensionnats.