Over time, the Board has developed a number of criteria and guidelines to frame its advice to the Minister. The “criteria” are those found in the “Criteria for National Historic Significance.” The term “guideline” refers to both the “General Guidelines” as adopted by the Board in 1998, and the “Specific Guidelines,” which are based on Board decisions to address specific aspects of commemoration, adopted through the years.

The booklet Criteria and Guidelines for evaluating subjects of potential national historic significance (PDF, 413 Kb) lists the detailed HSMBC criteria and guidelines to date. The following is a summary of the criteria and guidelines that are important to review before nominating a place, event or person for designation.

In keeping with the Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, it is anticipated that the booklet will be a primary focus of review as part of the implementation of Call to Action 79(ii) which calls upon the Government of Canada to revise the policies, criteria, and practices of the National Program of Historical Commemoration to integrate Indigenous Peoples’ history, heritage values and memory practices into Canada’s national heritage and history.

Criteria for National Historic Significance

Any aspect of Canada's human history may be considered for ministerial designation of national historic significance. To be considered for designation, a place, person or event must have had a nationally significant impact on Canadian history, or must illustrate a nationally important aspect of Canadian human history.

Subjects that qualify for national historic significance will meet one or more of the following criteria:

  1. A place may be designated of national historic significance by virtue of a direct association with a nationally significant aspect of Canadian history. An archaeological site, structure, building, group of buildings, district, or cultural landscape of potential national historic significance will:
    1. illustrate an exceptional creative achievement in concept and design, technology and/or planning, or a significant stage in the development of Canada; or
    2. illustrate or symbolize in whole or in part a cultural tradition, a way of life, or ideas important in the development of Canada; or
    3. be most explicitly and meaningfully associated or identified with persons who are deemed of national historic importance; or
    4. be most explicitly and meaningfully associated or identified with events that are deemed of national historic importance.
  2. A person (or persons) may be designated of national historic significance if that person individually or as the representative of a group made an outstanding and lasting contribution to Canadian history.
  3. An event may be designated of national historic significance if it represents a defining action, episode, movement, or experience in Canadian history.

General guidelines

Uniqueness or rarity are not, in themselves, evidence of national historic significance, but may be considered in connection with the above criteria for national historic significance.

Firsts, per se, are not considered for national historic significance.

In general, only one commemoration will be made for each place, person, or event of national historic significance.

PLACES

Buildings, ensembles of buildings, and sites that are 40 years of age or older may be considered for designation of national historic significance.

A place must be in a condition that respects the integrity of its design, materials, workmanship, function and/or setting to be considered for designation of national historic significance, insofar as any of these elements are essential to understand its significance.

The boundaries of a place must be clearly defined for it to be considered for designation as a national historic site.

Large-scale movable heritage properties that would not normally be considered suitable for museum display may be considered for designation of national historic significance.

PERSONS

Persons deceased for at least twenty-five years may be considered for designation of national historic significance, with the exception of Prime Ministers, who are eligible for commemoration immediately upon death.

EVENTS

Events that occurred at least 40 years ago may be considered for designation of national historic significance. Historic events that continue into the more recent past will be evaluated on the basis of what occurred at least 40 years ago.

Au fil du temps, la Commission a élaboré un certain nombre de critères et de lignes directrices pour servir de cadre aux avis qu'elle donne à la ou au ministre. Le terme « critères » s'applique uniquement aux « Critères d'évaluation de l'importance historique nationale », alors que « lignes directrices » se rapporte à la fois aux « Lignes directrices générales » adoptées par la Commission en 1998 et aux « Lignes directrices particulières » élaborées par la Commission au fil des ans pour régir des aspects précis de la commémoration.

Le document Critères et lignes directrices pour l'évaluation des sujets d'importance historique nationale (PDF, 457 Ko) donne une liste complète des critères et lignes directrices de la Commission, mais voici tout de même un résumé des critères et lignes directrices qu'il importe de connaître avant de présenter une demande de désignation pour un lieu, événement ou une personne.

Conformément aux Appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, il est prévu que le document fera l'objet d'une révision, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'Appel à l'action 79 (ii) qui demande au gouvernement fédéral d'examiner les politiques, critères et pratiques se rattachant au Programme national de commémoration historique pour intégrer l'histoire, les valeurs patrimoniales et les pratiques de la mémoire autochtones au patrimoine et à l'histoire du Canada.

Critères d'évaluation de l'importance historique nationale

Tout aspect de l'histoire du Canada peut être désigné d'importance historique nationale par la ou le ministre de l'Environnement. Un lieu, une personne ou un événement peut faire l'objet d'une telle désignation s'il a eu une incidence marquante sur l'histoire du Canada ou s'il constitue une illustration ou un exemple important de l'histoire humaine du Canada.

Les sujets proposés devront satisfaire à au moins un des critères suivants :

  1. Un lieu peut être désigné comme endroit d'importance historique nationale s'il est associé directement à un aspect important de l'histoire du Canada au plan national. Il peut s'agir d'un site archéologique, d'une construction, d'un bâtiment, d'un groupe de bâtiments, d'un arrondissement ou d'un paysage culturel dont l'importance historique nationale potentielle :
    1. illustre une réalisation exceptionnelle par sa conception et son élaboration, sa technologie ou son aménagement, ou représente une période importante de l'évolution du Canada; ou
    2. met en évidence ou symbolise en tout ou en partie une tradition culturelle, une manière de vivre ou de penser qui sont importantes pour l'évolution du Canada; ou
    3. est surtout associée d'une manière évidente et importante à une ou plusieurs personnes considérées d'importance historique nationale; ou
    4. est surtout associée d'une manière évidente et importante à un ou plusieurs événements considérés d'importance historique nationale.
  2. Une personne (ou des personnes) peut être désignée d'importance historique nationale si cette personne, individuellement ou en tant que représentante d'un groupe, témoigne d'une contribution remarquable et durable à l'histoire du Canada.
  3. Un événement peut être désigné d'importance historique nationale s'il représente de façon marquante une action, un épisode, un mouvement ou une expérience de l'histoire du Canada.

Lignes directrices générales

L'unicité et la rareté ne sont pas des qualités suffisantes pour attribuer à un sujet une importance historique nationale; mais on peut en tenir compte quand on examine une demande en fonction des critères susmentionnés.

Les « premières » ne sont pas, en soi, des faits d'importance historique nationale.

En général, chaque lieu, chaque personne ou chaque événement d'importance historique nationale ne sera commémoré qu'une seule fois.

LIEUX

Les bâtiments, groupes de bâtiments et lieux qui ont 40 ans ou plus sont admissibles à la désignation de lieu historique national.

Un lieu ne peut être désigné d'importance historique nationale que si l'intégrité de sa conception, de ses matériaux et de son exécution, de sa fonction ou de son cadre ait été maintenue, dans la mesure où ces aspects sont essentiels pour comprendre son importance historique.

Quand on demande qu'un lieu soit désigné d'importance historique nationale, on doit en déterminer clairement les limites.

Les biens mobiliers patrimoniaux de grandes dimensions qu'on ne présenterait pas normalement dans un musée peuvent faire l'objet d'une demande visant à les désigner d'importance historique nationale.

PERSONNES

Pour être commémorées, les personnes doivent être décédées depuis au moins vingt-cinq ans. Cette règle souffre une exception : les premiers ministres du Canada deviennent éligibles à une commémoration immédiatement suivant leur décès.

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Les événements pouvant faire l'objet d'une demande de désignation se limiteront à ceux qui se sont produits il y a au moins 40 ans. Quant aux événements historiques qui se sont prolongés jusqu'à un passé récent, ils seront évalués en fonction de ce qui s'est passé il y a au moins 40 ans.