Consent of the Property Owner(s)

The written consent of the property / landowner(s) is required if the applicant is not the property or landowner; otherwise, the HSMBC will not consider the application for designation.

If a place belongs to a large number of owners, as in the case of historic districts, consent may take the form of a municipal resolution supporting the application.

Before the HSMBC begins evaluating a potential national historic site related to the history of Aboriginal peoples and located on federal or provincial land subject to pending or ongoing land claims, all such claims must first be settled and land ownership clearly established. If the place being nominated for designation is a site on Aboriginal land (i.e. on a reserve) or on private land, that place may be considered by the HSMBC even if land claim negotiations are pending or underway, provided that the written consent of the landowner has been obtained.

Boundaries of the Site Proposed for Designation

Describe clearly and precisely the boundaries of the historic property being proposed for designation. A sketch map must accompany the nomination clearly delineating the descriptive boundaries of the historic property. Where possible, provide a legal description and survey map of the property on which the historic property is located. The boundaries of the historic property submitted for designation need not be the same as the legal boundaries of the property on which it is located.

Components of the Historic Property

Identify all major built and/or natural components of the property. This is particularly important when submitting a historic district or cultural landscape for consideration.

Site Condition

Describe the condition of the site, identifying any existing or potential threats to the integrity of the site.

Additional Documentation

Include in your application recent photographs of the buildings (four sides) as well as interior and exterior details. Please also include plans and elevations as well as an aerial view, if available.

Consentement du ou des propriétaire(s) du lieu et/ou du terrain

Lorsque l’auteur de la demande n’est pas le propriétaire du lieu, il doit obtenir, par écrit, l’appui du ou des propriétaires du lieu et/ou du terrain, sans quoi la CLMHC n’étudiera pas la demande de désignation.

Lorsqu’un lieu est détenu par un grand nombre de propriétaires, comme c’est le cas des arrondissements historiques, le consentement peut prendre la forme d’une résolution municipale appuyant la demande.

La CLMHC évaluera l'importance historique nationale d’un lieu lié à l'histoire des peuples autochtones situé sur des terres fédérales ou provinciales faisant l’objet de revendications territoriales seulement lorsque ces revendications seront réglées et que la propriété du lieu sera clairement démontrée. Cependant, si le lieu est situé sur des terres autochtones (c.-à-d. une réserve) ou une propriété privée, la CLMHC pourra évaluer la demande de désignation même si des revendications territoriales sont en suspens ou en cours, à la condition toutefois d'obtenir le consentement écrit du propriétaire de l'endroit.

Limites du lieu proposé

Décrivez avec clarté et précision les limites de la propriété historique faisant l'objet de la demande de désignation. Un croquis cartographique doit accompagner la demande et indiquer clairement les limites descriptives de la propriété historique. Veuillez fournir, si possible, une description officielle ainsi qu'une carte de levé du terrain sur laquelle est située la propriété historique. Il n’est pas nécessaire que les limites de la propriété historique faisant l'objet de la demande correspondent aux limites officielles de la propriété.

Composantes de la propriété

Recensez les principales composantes de la propriété, qu’elles soient naturelle ou bâties. Cette démarche est particulièrement importante lorsque la demande concerne un arrondissement historique ou un paysage culturel.

État du lieu

Décrivez l'état du lieu et mentionnez tout danger qui porte ou pourrait porter atteinte à l'intégrité du lieu.

Documents additionnels

Joignez à votre demande des photographies récentes des bâtiments (quatre façades) et des détails intérieurs et extérieurs. Si possible, veuillez aussi inclure les plans et les élévations ainsi qu’une vue aérienne des lieux.