Appointed Members

Ex-officio Members

Parks Canada Staff

Alberta

Dr. Joe Anderson

Dr. Joseph (Joe) Anderson is Professor of History and Associate Dean of Arts-Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement at Mount Royal University in Calgary. A dual citizen of Canada and the United States, Dr. Anderson has specialized in public and agricultural history throughout his career. He spent a decade with Living History Farms in Iowa, where he served as Director of History and Interpretation. Dr. Anderson has also served in leadership roles on the executive board of the Agricultural History Society, an international organization dedicated to promoting the interest, study, and research of the history of agriculture. His research interests include environmental and technology history, food and culture, and rural life. Dr. Anderson is the author of several publications on these topics, including his most recent book Capitalist Pigs: Pigs, Pork, and Power in America, which details the history of pigs and the pork industry in the United States.

  • First appointment: June 18, 2019 to June 18, 2024

British Columbia

Mr. Timothy Christian, British Columbia Representative
© Timothy Christian

Mr. Timothy Christian

Mr. Timothy Christian is Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in History from the University of Alberta as well as a Master of Law degree from the University of Cambridge. As Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Alberta, he created the Indigenous Law Students Program to encourage the recruitment of Indigenous law students. He has published extensively in the fields of constitutional, administrative and labour law, and has decades of experience in mediation, facilitation and negotiation at the provincial and federal levels, including as Chief Federal Negotiator, negotiating settlements between First Nations, provincial governments and the Government of Canada. In 2011, he retired from the practice of law and his work as a federal negotiator in 2011 and now devotes his time to historical research and writing.

 
  • First appointment:May 19, 2018 to May 18, 2023

Manitoba

Ms. Diane Payment, Manitoba Representative
© Diane Payment

Ms. Diane Payment

Diane Payment is an ethnohistorian and author specializing in the history of women, Métis history and the Francophone history of Western and Northern Canada. She has an M.A. in history from the University of Ottawa and a degree in French Literature and Education from the University of Manitoba. She spent thirty years working as an historian and cultural resources specialist for the Parks Canada Agency. She is actively involved in her community, as member of the Union Nationale Métisse, past president of La Société historique de Saint-Boniface and as a member of the Manitoba Heritage Council for over a decade. Today, she continues to conduct research and is a consultant to a number of associations and media on a variety of heritage matters.

 
  • First appointment: May 28, 2019, to May 27, 2024

New Brunswick

Mr. Bernard Thériault, New Brunswick Representative
© Bernard Thériault

Mr. Bernard Thériault

Mr. Bernard Thériault is an historian, researcher, writer and commentor. He has been retired from the New Brunswick public service since 2010, where he was the Director General for the Premier’s Cabinet. He also served as Director for Aboriginal Fisheries, Gulf Region, for Fisheries and Oceans Canada. From 1987 until 2000, Mr. Thériault served as the member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick for the Caraquet riding. During this time, he served as the Minister of Aquaculture and Fisheries, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, as well as acting Minister of Education. He began his career as an historian, head conservator and Director of programs at the Village Historique Acadien, in Caraquet. He grew up in Caraquet and continues to live there today.

 
  • First appointment: June 13, 2018, to June 13, 2023

Newfoundland and Labrador

Dr. Shannon Lewis-Simpson, Newfoundland and Labrador Representative
© Shannon Lewis-Simpson

Dr. Shannon Lewis-Simpson

Dr. Lewis-Simpson is Coordinator, Community Engaged Learning, Student Life, and Adjunct Professor of Archaeology at Memorial University. Her research interests are in the medieval and early modern North Atlantic, naval history, and the history of Newfoundland and Labrador. Dr. Lewis-Simpson has served as an officer in the Royal Canadian Naval Reserve and Royal Naval Reserve for over 20 years, most recently as Commanding Officer of HMCS CABOT, and as Newfoundland and Labrador Liaison Officer for the Canadian Forces Liaison Council. She has over 20 years of experience serving on military, civilian, and academic working groups, committees and boards. Dr. Lewis-Simpson obtained a PhD in Medieval Studies from the University of York (England) and has published on aspects of identity in the medieval north.

 
  • First appointment: June 18, 2017, to June 17, 2022

Northwest Territories

Ms. Lisa Prosper

Ms. Lisa Prosper is a cultural heritage consultant who specializes in the commemoration and conservation of Indigenous and cultural landscape heritage as well as the development of heritage policy. She holds degrees in Art History and Heritage Conservation. From 2012 to 2015 she was the Director of the Willowbank Centre in Queenston, Ontario. In 2017, she served as a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee for the updating of Canada's tentative list for World Heritage nominations. Ms. Prosper is currently a board member of ICOMOS Canada and a member of ICOMOS' International Scientific Committee on Cultural Landscapes. She regularly presents at national and international forums on heritage theory and practice.

 
  • First appointment: March 26, 2018, to March 25, 2023

Nova Scotia

Dr. Nicole Neatby

Dr. Neatby is an Associate Professor of History at Saint Mary’s University in Halifax where she teaches courses in public history, Canadian history and culture, and the histories of Canadian women. In 2006-2012, she was appointed to Canada Post’s Stamp Advisory Committee. She also has been an active member of the Canadian Historical Association and was a member of the Museum of History’s General Advisory Committee. Dr. Neatby has a PhD in History from the Université de Montréal and has a significant portfolio of scholarly publications, conferences papers, engagement in public outreach and volunteering in the community.

 
  • First appointment: June 18, 2017, to June 17, 2022

Nunavut

Dr. Sylvie Leblanc

Dr. LeBlanc received a B.Sc. (Anthropology) from the University of Montreal, an M.A. (Anthropology) from the Memorial University of Newfoundland and a Ph.D. from University of Alberta. She undertook post-doctoral research at the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Carleton University. She is the Territorial Chief Archaeologist, Department of Culture and Heritage for the Government of Nunavut and an Adjunct Research Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Carleton University. Dr. LeBlanc has 20 years of research experience with a current focus on Maritime provinces and Arctic Archaeology. She has several scholarly publications and produced a series of documentaries on the Ikpiktturjuaq area and Inuksuit.

 
  • First appointment: June 18, 2017, to June 17, 2022

Ontario

Dr. Richard M. Alway, Chairman and Ontario representative
© Parks Canada / M. Savard / October 2002

Dr. Richard M. Alway

Chairman and Ontario Representative

An Officer of the Order of Canada, and member of the Order of Ontario,Dr. Alway holds two graduate degrees in Modern History from the University of Toronto. He is presently the Praeses of the Pontifical Institute of Medieval Studies, and was previously the President and Vice-chancellor of the University of St. Michael's College in Toronto.Dr. Alway has served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the National Museums of Canada and Chair of its National Programmes Committee, Chairman of the National Gallery of Canada, as Acting Director of the National Gallery of Canada, Chairman of the National Museum of Natural Sciences, and a member of the Board of the National Postal Museum. Former Chairman and CEO of the Ontario Heritage Foundation, he is currently Chairman of the C.D. Howe Memorial Foundation (Montreal) and a member of the Quebecor Ontario Advisory Board.

  • First appointment: September 10, 1996, to September 9, 2001
  • Second appointment: September 11, 2001, to September 10, 2006
  • Third appointment: March 5, 2007, to March 4, 2012
  • Fourth appointment: May 03, 2012, to May 02, 2017
  • Fifth appointment: May 11, 2017, to January 10, 2018
  • Sixth appointment: January 11, 2018 to January 11, 2023

Prince Edward Island

Mr. Harry Holman, Prince Edward Island representative
© Harry Holman

Mr. Harry Holman

Mr. Holman has been working, for the past few years, as an independent heritage researcher providing research and writing services in the heritage sector. Mr. Holman is a graduate of the University of Alberta and received a Law degree from Queen’s University, and spent 24 years with the Government of Prince Edward Island as Provincial Archivist and Director of Libraries and later the Director of Culture, Heritage and Libraries. He has published a significant number of publications (both popular and scholarly) related to PEI heritage, archival resources, legal, material, public and social history. Mr. Holman was a board member of the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation for more than twenty years.

 
  • First appointment: June 18, 2017, to June 17, 2022

Quebec

Dr. Yolanda Cohen, Quebec Representative
© Yolanda Cohen

Dr. Yolande Cohen

Dr. Yolande Cohen has been a Full Professor at the History Department of the Université du Québec à Montréal for almost 40 years. She is an internationally-known historian specializing in social history. Dr. Cohen has authored ten books and published over 80 articles in academic journals. Dr. Cohen is a member and past president of the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada. She is a recipient of the Order of Québec and is a Chevalier of the National Order of the Legion of Honour of France. She has been involved in many community organizations, civic society groups, and municipal organizations in Montréal, where she also ran for mayor in the 1990s. Dr. Cohen obtained a Doctorat de 3e cycle at l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales in Paris and the Université Paris VIII.

 
  • First appointment: November 22, 2017, to November 21, 2022

Saskatchewan

Dr. Bill Waiser
© Dr. Bill Waiser

Dr. Bill Waiser

Dr. William (Bill) Waiser is a Distinguished Professor Emeritus of the University of Saskatchewan, as well as a full-time writer, consultant, and public speaker. He spent more than three decades with the Department of History at the University of Saskatchewan. Prior to this, he was an historian with the Parks Canada Agency, specializing in the history of the Yukon. Dr. Waiser has extensive experience participating and leading heritage boards and committees at the local, provincial, and national levels, including Canada’s History Society (publisher of Canada’s History, formerly The Beaver magazine). He has published extensively on Canadian history and is best known for Saskatchewan: A New History, which was personally presented to Queen Elizabeth II, as well as A World We Have Lost: Saskatchewan before 1905, winner of the 2016 Governor General’s literary award for non-fiction. He is a frequent contributor to radio, television, and print media. Dr. Waiser was appointed to the Order of Canada in 2017.

 
  • First appointment: January 30, 2019 to January 30, 2024

Yukon

David Neufeld
Mr. David Neufeld, Yukon representative
© David Neufeld

Mr. David Neufeld

For over 25 years, Mr. David Neufeld was the Yukon & Western Arctic historian with the Parks Canada Agency. His main work with Yukon First Nation and Inuvialuit governments focused on national parks and national historic sites in their traditional territories and resulted in the designation of several Indigenous national historic sites in Yukon. He served as a Governor of Yukon College for eight years, later lecturing on northern history. Mr. Neufeld currently sits on the College’s Research Ethics Board as the community representative. He has co-authored two best-selling Yukon history books and continues to study Yukon First Nation issues and environmental history. His 2013 art installation “The Landing” garnered positive peer attention. Mr. Neufeld holds an Honours B.A. in history from the University of Manitoba and a Master’s degree in Canadian history from Western University.

 
  • First appointment: June 2, 2019 to June, 2022

Ex-officio Members

Dr. Guy Berthiaume, Librarian and Archivist of Canada
© Library and Archives Canada

Representative of Library and Archives Canada

Dr. Guy Berthiaume

Dr. Guy Berthiaume assumed the position of Librarian and Archivist of Canada on June 23, 2014. Prior to joining Library and Archives Canada, he was the Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec between 2009 and 2014, following a 30 year career in academia. Dr. Berthiaume holds a Doctorate in History.

In addition to serving as a professor of Ancient History at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), he held administrative positions focusing on research and university development. Previous roles include Vice-President, Development and Public Affairs, Université de Montréal, and Vice-President, Research and Creation, UQAM.

Representative of the Canadian Museum of History

Dr. Dean Oliver, Representative of the Canadian Museum of History
© Canadian Museum of History

Dr. Dean Oliver

Dr. Oliver joined the Canadian Museum of History’s staff in 2013, after nearly fourteen years at the Canadian War Museum, the last ten as Director of Research and Exhibitions. His most recent book (with J. L. Granatstein), The Oxford Companion to Canadian Military History, won the annual Charles P. Stacey Award for the best book published on Canadian military history.

Dean Oliver holds a PhD in History from York University and has taught History, Political Science and International Security. A long-time contributor to the Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs and founding editor of the Studies in Canadian Military History monograph series, he is a well-known writer, lecturer and media commentator.

Parks Canada Staff

Secretary and Vice-President, Indigenous Affairs and Cultural Heritage Directorate

Ms. Joëlle Montminy

Ms. Montminy has been with the federal public service for over 20 years. Before joining Parks Canada in 2017, she was Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs, at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC). Ms. Montminy has extensive experience on Indigenous issues having held numerous positions over the years at INAC in the area of policy, negotiations, litigation management and operations. She also served as Executive Director for the Canada 150 Federal Secretariat at Canadian Heritage where she was responsible for the planning of commemoration activities for the 150th anniversary of Confederation. Prior to that, she was Director of Policy for Intergovernmental Affairs in the Privy Council Office.

Ms. Montminy holds a Bachelor of Civil Law from University Laval and a Master of Laws from the University of British Columbia.

Les membres nommés

Les membres d'office

Personnel de Parcs Canada

Alberta

M. Joe Anderson

M. Anderson est professeur d’histoire et doyen associé de la Faculté des arts à la recherche, à l’érudition et à l’engagement communautaire à l’Université Mount Royal de Calgary. Citoyen à double nationalité du Canada et des États-Unis, M. Anderson s’est spécialisé en histoire publique et agricole tout au long de sa carrière. Pendant une décennie, il a agi en qualité de directeur de l’histoire et de l’interprétation pour Living History Farms dans l’Iowa. M. Anderson a également exercé des fonctions de direction au sein du conseil d’administration de l’Agricultural History Society, un organisme international qui se consacre à promouvoir l’intérêt pour l’histoire de l’agriculture ainsi que l’étude et la recherche connexes. Ses intérêts de recherche englobent l’histoire de l’environnement et de la technologie, l’alimentation et la culture et la vie rurale. M. Anderson est l’auteur de plusieurs publications sur ces sujets, y compris son plus récent ouvrage Capitalist Pigs: Pigs, Pork, and Power in America, qui expose l’histoire du porc et de l’industrie porcine aux États-Unis.

  • Premier mandat : 18 juin 2019 au 18 juin 2024

Colombie-Britannique

M. Timothy Christian, représentant de la Colombie-Britannique
© Timothy Christian

M. Timothy Christian

M. Timothy Christian est professeur émérite à la faculté de droit de l’Université de l’Alberta. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat d’arts en histoire (spécialisé) de l’Université de l’Alberta et d’une maîtrise en droit de l’Université de Cambridge. En tant que doyen de la faculté de droit de l’Université de l’Alberta, il a créé le Programme des étudiants autochtones en droit pour encourager le recrutement d’étudiants autochtones. Il a publié de nombreux ouvrages dans les domaines du droit constitutionnel, administratif et du droit du travail et possède des décennies d'expérience en médiation, facilitation et négociation aux échelons provincial et fédéral, notamment en tant que négociateur fédéral en chef, négociateur entre les Premières Nations, les gouvernements provinciaux et le gouvernement du Canada. En 2011, il a pris sa retraite de la pratique du droit et de son travail de négociateur fédéral en 2011 et consacre maintenant son temps à la recherche historique et à la rédaction.

 
  • Premier mandat : 19 mai 2018 au 18 mai 2023

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

M. Harry Holman, représentant de l Île-du-Prince-Édouard
© Harry Holman

M. Harry Holman

M. Holman travaille depuis les dernières années en tant que chercheur indépendant du patrimoine, fournissant des services de recherche et de rédaction dans le domaine du patrimoine. M. Holman est diplômé de l'Université de l’Alberta et a obtenu un diplôme en droit de l'Université Queen’s. Il a travaillé pendant 24 ans au sein du gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à titre d’archiviste provincial et directeur des bibliothèques, et, plus tard, à titre de directeur de la culture, du patrimoine et des bibliothèques. Plusieurs de ses ouvrages (populaires et savants) liés au patrimoine de l’Î.-P.-É, aux ressources archivistiques, au domaine juridique, matériel, public et social, ont été publiés. M. Holman a été membre du conseil d'administration du PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation pendant plus de vingt ans.

  • Premier mandat : 18 juin 2017 au 17 juin 2022

Manitoba

Mme Diane Payment, représentante du Manitoba
© Diane Payment

Mme Diane Payment

Diane Payment est une ethnohistorienne et auteure spécialisée dans l’histoire des femmes, l’histoire des Métis et l’histoire des francophones de l’Ouest et du Nord du Canada. Elle détient une maîtrise en histoire de l’Université d’Ottawa et un diplôme en littérature française et éducation de l’Université du Manitoba. Elle a travaillé pendant trente ans comme historienne et spécialiste des ressources culturelles pour l’Agence Parcs Canada. Elle participe avec dynamisme dans sa communauté en tant que membre de l’Union nationale métisse, ancienne présidente de La Société historique de Saint-Boniface et membre du Conseil du patrimoine du Manitoba depuis plus de dix ans. Aujourd’hui, elle continue de mener des recherches et est consultante auprès de nombreuses associations et médias sur diverses questions relatives au patrimoine.

 
  • Premier mandat : 28 mai 2019 au 27 mai 2024

Nouveau-Brunswick

M. Bernard Thériault, représentant du Nouveau-Brunswick
© Bernard Thériault

M. Bernard Thériault

M. Bernard Thériault est historien, recherchiste, écrivain et chroniqueur. Il est à la retraite de la fonction publique depuis 2010 où il a œuvré en tant que directeur général du cabinet du Premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi qu’en tant que Directeur des Pêches Autochtones, Région du Golfe, pour Pêches et Oceans Canada. Il a été élu député de la circonscription de Caraquet à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick où il a siégé de 1987 à 2000. Pendant ces années, il a aussi occupé les postes de ministre des Pêches et de l’Aquaculture, ministre des Affaires Intergouvernementales et Autochtones ainsi ministre de l’Éducation par intérim. Il a débuté sa carrière en tant qu’historien, conservateur en chef et directeur des programmes d’interprétation au Village Historique Acadien à Caraquet, Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est natif de Caraquet et y habite encore aujourd’hui.

 
  • Premier mandat : 13 juin 2018 au 13 juin 2023

Nouvelle-Écosse

Mme Nicole Neatby

Mme Neatby est professeure agrégée en histoire à l'Université Saint Mary’s à Halifax où elle enseigne l’histoire publique, l’histoire et la culture canadienne et l’histoire des femmes canadiennes. Entre 2006 et 2012, elle a siégé au Comité consultatif sur les timbres-poste de Postes Canada. Elle est aussi une membre active de la Société historique du Canada et a siégé au comité consultatif général du Musée canadien de l’histoire. Mme Neatby est titulaire d’un doctorat en histoire de l'Université de Montréal. Elle a rédigé un grand nombre de publications érudites et articles de conférences. Elle consacre beaucoup de temps à sensibiliser le public et à faire du bénévolat dans la collectivité.

 
  • Premier mandat : 18 juin 2017 au 17 juin 2022

Nunavut

Mme Sylvie Leblanc

Mme LeBlanc est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (anthropologie) de l’Université de Montréal, d’une maîtrise (anthropologie) de l’Université Memorial et d’un doctorat de l’Université de l’Alberta. Elle a poursuivi des recherches postdoctorales au département d’anthropologie et de sociologie de l’Université Carleton. Elle est l’archéologue territoriale en chef du ministère de la Culture et du Patrimoine du Nunavut et professeure auxiliaire à la faculté de sociologie et d’anthropologie à l’Université Carleton. Mme LeBlanc possède 20 ans d’expérience de recherche et elle se concentre présentement ses efforts sur l’archéologie arctique et des provinces maritimes. Elle a publié plusieurs ouvrages et produit une série de documentaires sur la région d’Ikpikitturjuaq et les inuksuit.

 
  • Premier mandat : 18 juin 2017 au 17 juin 2022

Ontario

Dr. Richard M. Alway, Président de la CLMHC et membre de l'Ontario
© Parcs Canada / M. Savard / October 2002

M. Richard M. Alway

Président et membre de l'Ontario

Officier de l'Ordre du Canada et membre de l'Ordre de l'Ontario, M. Alway détient deux grades supérieurs en histoire moderne de l'Université de Toronto. Il est actuellement président du Pontifical Institute of Medieval Studies. Il était auparavant président et recteur de l'Université St. Michael's College à Toronto. M. Alway a été membre du conseil d'administration des Musées nationaux du Canada et président de sa Commission de programmes nationaux, président du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, directeur intérimaire du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, président du Musée national des sciences naturelles et membre du conseil d'administration du Musée canadien de la poste. Auparavant président et directeur général de la Fondation du patrimoine ontarien, il est maintenant président de la Fondation commémorative C.D. Howe (Montréal) et membre du conseil consultatif Quebecor-Ontario.

  • Premier mandat : 10 septembre 1996 au 9 septembre 2001
  • Deuxième mandat : 11 septembre 2001 au 10 septembre 2006
  • Troisième mandat : 5 mars 2007 au 4 mars 2012
  • Quatrième mandat : 3 mai 2012 au 2 mai 2017
  • Cinquième mandat : 11 mai 2017 au 10 janvier 2018
  • Sixième mandat : 11 janvier 2018 au 10 janvier 2023

Québec

Mme Yolande Cohen, représentante du Québec
© Yolande Cohen

Mme Yolande Cohen

Mme Yolande Cohen est professeure titulaire au Département d'histoire de l'Université du Québec à Montréal depuis près de 40 ans. Historienne internationalement connue, spécialisée en histoire sociale et histoire des femmes et du genre, elle est l’auteure d’une dizaine d’ouvrages et de 80 articles publiés dans des revues scientifiques. Mme Cohen est membre et ancienne présidente de l’Académie des arts, des lettres et des sciences humaines de la Société royale du Canada. Elle est chevalière de l’Ordre national du Québec et Chevalière de l'Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur de la France. Elle a été impliquée dans de nombreuses organisations communautaires, de la société civile et de partis municipaux à Montréal (où elle a été candidate à la Mairie pendant les années 1990s). Mme Cohen a obtenu un doctorat de 3e cycle à l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales de Paris et à l’Université Paris VIII.

 
  • Premier mandat : 22 novembre 2017 au 21 novembre 2022

Saskatchewan

M. Bill Waiser, représentant de la Saskatchewan
© Dr. Bill Waiser

M. Bill Waiser

William (Bill) Waiser est un professeur émérite de l’Université de la Saskatchewan, ainsi qu’un écrivain, consultant et conférencier à temps plein. Il a passé plus de trois décennies au département d’histoire de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Auparavant, il était historien à l’Agence Parcs Canada, spécialisé dans l’histoire du Yukon. M. Waiser possède une vaste expérience en tant que membre actif de nombreux conseils et comités du patrimoine aux niveaux local, provincial et national, y compris la Société Histoire Canada (éditeur du magazine, Canada’s history, autrefois The Beaver). Il a publié de nombreux ouvrages sur l’histoire canadienne et est surtout connu pour Saskatchewan: A New History, présentée personnellement à la reine Elizabeth II, ainsi que pour A World We Have Lost: Saskatchewan before 1905, gagnant du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général en 2016, dans la catégorie études et essais de langue anglaise. Il contribue fréquemment à la radio, la télévision et la presse écrite. M. Waiser a été nommé à l’Ordre du Canada en 2017.

 
  • Premier mandat : 30 janvier 2019 au 30 janvier 2024

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Shannon Lewis-Simpson, représentante de Terre-Neuve et Labrador
© Shannon Lewis-Simpson

Mme Shannon Lewis-Simpson

Mme Lewis-Simpson est coordonnatrice de l’apprentissage en milieu communautaire (vie étudiante) et professeure auxiliaire d'archéologie à l'Université Memorial. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur l'histoire médiévale et moderne de l’Atlantique Nord, sur l'histoire navale et sur l'histoire de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Mme Lewis-Simpson sert à titre d’officier de marine dans la Réserve de la Marine royale du Canada et dans la réserve navale depuis plus de 20 ans, plus récemment à titre de commandant du NCSM CABOT, en plus d’agir à titre d’officier de liaison, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, au Conseil de liaison des Forces canadiennes. Elle a plus de 20 ans d'expérience au service de groupes de travail, de comités et de commissions militaires, civils et universitaires. Mme Lewis-Simpson a obtenu un doctorat en études médiévales de l'Université de York (Angleterre) et a publié des écrits portant sur les aspects de l’identité dans le nord médiéval.

 
  • Premier mandat : 18 juin 2017 au 17 juin 2022

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Mme Lisa Prosper

Experte-conseil spécialisée dans le patrimoine culturel, Mme Lisa Prosper travaille à des projets touchant à l’élaboration de politiques sur le patrimoine et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine autochtone. Elle détient des diplômes en histoire de l’art et en conservation du patrimoine. De 2012 à 2015, elle a été directrice du Centre des paysages culturel de la Centre Willowbank en Queenston, Ontario. En 2017, elle était membre du Comité consultatif de la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada pour examiner toutes les demandes de liste indicative pour le patrimoine mondial. À l’heure actuelle, elle siège au conseil d’ICOMOS Canada et au Comité scientifique international sur les paysages culturels de ce même organisme. Mme Prosper présente et publie à l’échelle nationale et mondiale des communications sur la théorie et la pratique rattachées aux paysages culturels.

 
  • Premier mandat : 26 mars 2018 au 25 mars 2023

Yukon

David Neufeld
M. David Neufeld, représentant du Yukon
© David Neufeld

M. David Neufeld

Pendant plus de 25 ans, M. David Neufeld a été l’historien du Yukon et de l’ouest de l’Arctique auprès de l’Agence Parcs Canada. Son travail principal auprès des gouvernements des Premières nations du Yukon et des gouvernements Inuvialuit a porté sur les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de leurs territoires traditionnels et a abouti à la désignation de plusieurs lieux historiques nationaux autochtones au Yukon. Il a été gouverneur du Collège du Yukon pendant huit ans, avant d’enseigner l’histoire du Nord. M. Neufeld siège au comité d’éthique de la recherche du Collège en tant que représentant de la communauté. Il est co-auteur de deux ouvrages parmis les plus vendus sur l’histoire du Yukon, et continue d’étudier les questions relatives aux Premières nations du Yukon et l’histoire environnementale. Son installation artistique de 2013, « The Landing », a suscité une attention positive de la part de ses pairs. M. Neufeld est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en histoire avec mention honorifique de l’Université du Manitoba et une maîtrise en histoire du Canada de l’Université Western.

 
  • Premier mandat : 2 juin 2019 au 2 juin 2022

Les membres d'office

M. Guy Berthiaume, Bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada
© Bibliothèque et archives Canada

Représentant de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

M. Guy Berthiaume

M. Guy Berthiaume est bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada depuis le 23 juin 2014. Avant son arrivée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, monsieur Berthiaume a été président-directeur général de Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec de 2009 à 2014, après avoir fait carrière dans le monde universitaire pendant plus de 30 ans.

En plus d’avoir été professeur d’histoire ancienne à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), il a œuvré dans les domaines de l’administration de la recherche et du développement universitaire. Il a notamment été vice-recteur au développement et aux relations publiques à l’Université de Montréal et vice-recteur à la recherche et à la création à l’UQAM.

Représentant du Musée canadien de l'histoire

M. Dean Oliver, Représentant du Musée canadien de l'histoire
© Musée canadien de l'histoire

M. Dean Oliver

Quand il est entré au Musée canadien de l'histoire en 2013, Dean Oliver avait déjà passé quatorze ans au Musée canadien de la guerre, dont dix comme directeur de la Recherche et des Expositions. Son dernier ouvrage, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Military History (écrit en collaboration avec J. L. Granatstein), a reçu le prix annuel Charles P. Stacey d’excellence en histoire militaire canadienne.

Titulaire d’un doctorat en histoire de l’Université York, Dean Oliver a enseigné l’histoire, les sciences politiques et la sécurité internationale. Bien connu en tant qu’auteur, conférencier et commentateur dans les médias, il a longtemps collaboré à la Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs et a été rédacteur en chef fondateur de Studies in Canadian Military History, une collection de monographies.

Personnel de Parcs Canada

Secrétaire et vice-présidente, Direction générale des affaires autochtones et du patrimoine culturel

Mme Joëlle Montminy

Mme Montminy œuvre au sein de la fonction publique fédérale depuis plus de 20 ans. Avant de se joindre à Parcs Canada en 2017, elle était sous-ministre adjointe, Résolution et affaires individuelles, aux Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC). Mme Montminy possède une vaste expérience des enjeux autochtones. Elle a occupé de nombreux postes au sein des AANC au cours des années dans les domaines du développement des politiques, des négociations, de la gestion des litiges et des opérations. Mme Montminy a aussi occupé le poste de directrice exécutive, Secrétariat fédéral du Canada 150 au ministère du Patrimoine canadien où elle était responsable de la planification des activités de commémoration entourant le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération. Auparavant, elle était directrice des politiques intergouvernementales au Bureau du Conseil privé.

Mme Montminy est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit civil de l’Université Laval et d’une maitrise en droit de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique.