The Indigenous Cultural Heritage Advisory Council (ICHAC) provides advice to Parks Canada on cultural heritage-related projects or initiatives*, with the goal of advancing reconciliation and supporting the Agency in managing the heritage places in its care in the spirit of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

The Council advises Parks Canada on policy, programs and initiatives related to history and heritage, including presentation of history at sites managed by Parks Canada, designations and commemorations, archaeology, collections and repatriation, and the management of cultural resources.

*Cultural heritage-related projects or initiatives refers to the presentation of history at sites managed by Parks Canada, designation and commemoration, archaeology, collections and repatriation, management of cultural resources, and related programs or initiatives.

Members

The Council is made up of eight (8) Indigenous representatives (including a representative from Indigenous Heritage Circle and supported by Parks Canada through a secretariat function. The secretariat function sits with the Executive Director, Cultural Heritage, Parks Canada. 

Members of ICHAC 2020 - 2022

  1. Andrew Carrier, Métis, Manitoba
  2. Belinda Webb, Inuit, Northern Labrador
  3. Catherine C. Cole, Métis, Alberta
  4. Herman J. Michell, Barren Lands First Nation, Saskatchewan
  5. Karen Aird, Saulteau FN, Treaty 8 territory, BC
  6. Karine Duhamel, Anishinaabe & Métis, Manitoba
  7. Lisa Prosper, Mi’kmaq, Ontario and Yukon
  8. Louis Lesage, Huron Wendat First Nation, Québec

The ICHAC acts as an advisory body on cultural heritage to Parks Canada. The members were selected as the result of an open call for expressions of interest.

Members of ICHAC contribute their experience and expertise to the work of the Council independently and not on behalf of any particular association, political body, firm or other organization to which they may belong.

Parks Canada continues to engage with other Indigenous peoples, communities and organizations on various files, as appropriate.

Parks Canada Secretariat

  • Patricia Kell, Executive Director, Cultural Heritage, Parks Canada
  • Dena Rozon, Communications and Engagement Advisor

Contact information

Should you have questions or comments, please email dena.rozon@canada.ca.

Le Conseil consultatif sur le patrimoine culturel autochtone a pour rôle de conseiller Parcs Canada sur les initiatives ou projets liés au patrimoine culturel*, avec l'objectif de faire progresser la réconciliation et d'appuyer l'Agence à gérer les lieux patrimoniaux dont elle est responsable, dans l'esprit de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Le Conseil fournira des conseils à Parcs Canada sur les politiques, programmes et divers initiatives liées à l'histoire et le patrimoine culturel, y compris la présentation de l'histoire dans les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada, les désignations et commémorations, l'archéologie, les collections et le rapatriement, et la gestion des ressources culturelle.

*Les projets ou initiatives liés au patrimoine culturel fait référence à la présentation de l’histoire sur des sites administrés par Parcs Canada, la désignation et la commémoration, l’archéologie, les collections et le rapatriement, la gestion des ressources culturelles, et d'autres programmes ou initiatives connexes.

Membres

Le Conseil est formé de huit (8) représentants autochtones (dont un représentant du Cercle du patrimoine autochtone (en anglais seulement), et il bénéficie du soutien d'un secrétariat fournis par Parcs Canada. La fonction de secrétariat relève de la directrice générale du Patrimoine culturel à Parcs Canada.

Membres du Conseil pour la période de 2020 à 2022

  1. Andrew Carrier, Métis de Rupertsland, Manitoba
  2. Belinda Webb, Inuk, Nunatsiavut (nord du Labrador)
  3. Catherine C. Cole, Métis, Alberta
  4. Herman J. Michell, Première Nation de Barren Lands, Saskatchewan
  5. Karen Aird, Premières Nations des Saulteau, territoire du traité no 8, Colombie-Britannique
  6. Karine Duhamel, Anishinaabe et Métis, Manitoba
  7. Lisa Prosper, Mi'kmaq, Ontario et Yukon
  8. Louis Lesage, Première Nation huronne-wendat, Québec

Le Conseil agit à titre d'organisme consultatif sur le patrimoine culturel pour Parcs Canada.  Les membres ont été choisis suite à un processus appel ouvert à manifestation d'intérêt.

Les membres mettent leurs expériences et leurs expertises au profit du Conseil en contribuant aux travaux en toute indépendance et non pas au nom d'une association, d'un organisme politique, d'une société ou de toute autre organisation à laquelle ils pourraient appartenir.

Parcs Canada continue de collaborer avec d'autres peuples, collectivités et organisations autochtones à divers dossiers, selon les besoins.

Secrétariat de Parcs Canada

  • Patricia Kell, directrice exécutive, Patrimoine culturel
  • Dena Rozon, conseillère en communications et en mobilisation

Personne-ressource

Pour toute question ou tout commentaire, veuillez envoyer un courriel à dena.rozon@canada.ca.