August 15, 2022 – Parks Canada Agency is currently looking to enable Indigenous stewardship across Parks Canada administered places with an approach that: strengthens re-connections to the land, water and ice; empowers Indigenous voices; supports Indigenous leadership; and, respects Indigenous knowledge and knowledge systems. This work is intended to evolve approaches to conservation, commemoration and presentation to be more in line with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and will contribute to the implementation of the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act.

Parks Canada is seeking up to 12 individuals who identify as Métis, Inuit or First Nations and have significant knowledge or experience in the area of Indigenous stewardship, such as with practices on the land, Indigenous languages, Indigenous knowledge, and conservation.

The Circle will serve as an advisory structure, providing ongoing advice, guidance and direction to the Agency’s work on Indigenous stewardship. In addition, the Circle will be a key element in guiding the Agency’s engagement with Indigenous partners.

By working together, we will learn to respect our differences, strengthen our commons goals and values, and celebrate our shared success. This, in itself, is the definition of true partnerships.

Image description

Proposed core elements (shown in green): these four interconnected elements are understood to be central components of Indigenous stewardship. They include Indigenous knowledge and Indigenous knowledge systems; shared governance; practices on the land, water and ice; and economic opportunities.

Proposed enabling elements (shown in blue): these three elements are considered to be foundations for Indigenous stewardship: broader efforts to build and maintain strong relationships between Indigenous peoples and Parks Canada; the need to acknowledge or apologize in those places where past and/or present actions by Parks Canada have impacted Indigenous Peoples, and education and understanding.

For more information on how to apply or nominate an individual, contact the Indigenous Stewardship Engagement team, Parks Canada at intendanceautochtone-indigenousstewardship@pc.gc.ca

15 août 2022 – L’Agence Parcs Canada cherche actuellement à faciliter l’intendance autochtone dans tous les lieux qu’elle administre, en adoptant une approche qui renforce le rétablissement des liens avec la terre, l’eau et la glace; amplifie les voix autochtones; appuie le leadership autochtone; et respecte le savoir et les systèmes de savoir autochtones. Ce travail a pour but de faire évoluer les approches en matière de conservation, de commémoration et de mise en valeur de sorte qu’elles soient plus en adéquation avec la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones. De plus, il contribuera à la mise en œuvre de la Loi concernant la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Parcs Canada recherche jusqu’à 12 personnes qui s’identifient en tant que Métis, Inuit ou membres des Premières Nations et qui ont de vastes connaissances ou expériences dans le domaine de l’intendance autochtone (pratiques sur le territoire, langues autochtones, savoir autochtone et conservation, p. ex.).

Le Cercle consistera en une structure consultative qui fournira des recommandations, des orientations et des directives de manière continue pour guider les travaux de l’Agence en matière d’intendance autochtone. De plus, le Cercle sera l’élément clé pour guider les consultations de l’Agence avec les partenaires autochtones.

En travaillant ensemble, nous apprendrons à respecter nos différences, à renforcer nos valeurs et nos objectifs communs et à célébrer notre réussite partagée. Voilà l’essence même d’un véritable partenariat.

Description de l’image

Éléments essentiels proposés (en vert) : ces quatre éléments interreliés sont perçus comme des éléments centraux de l’intendance autochtone. Ils comprennent le savoir et les systèmes de savoir autochtones; la gouvernance partagée; les pratiques sur les terres, les eaux et les glaces; et les possibilités économiques.

Éléments habilitants proposés (en bleu) : ces trois éléments sont considérés comme les bases de l’intendance autochtone : l’intensification des efforts pour établir et maintenir de solides relations entre les peuples autochtones et Parcs Canada; la nécessité de reconnaître la réalité ou de présenter des excuses là où les actions passées ou présentes de Parcs Canada ont eu une incidence sur les peuples autochtones; ainsi que l’éducation et la compréhension.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en candidature, communiquez avec l’équipe de mobilisation pour l’intendance autochtone de Parcs Canada à l’adresse intendanceautochtone-indigenousstewardship@pc.gc.ca