As the First Peoples of Canada, First Nations, Metis and Inuit have sacred places of great cultural and spiritual importance across this land. Today, Parks Canada is fortunate to work with over 300 Indigenous partners and communities to protect many of these special places and share their stories.

Visiting

At Parks Canada places, Indigenous voices share their own stories of their history and culture. Connecting with these experiences, deepens our understanding of the history, cultures, and important roles of Indigenous Peoples.

Working together

Together, Parks Canada and Indigenous partners work cooperatively to ensure access to traditional lands and waters for cultural activities and ceremonies.

Sitting at the same table, Indigenous knowledge guides the management of Canada’s heritage places and programs. This work is based on respect for Aboriginal rights and our treaty relationships and understanding of the history that shapes our national parks and national historic sites.

En tant que premiers peuples du Canada, les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits ont établi des lieux sacrés disséminés à la grandeur du pays et ayant une grande importance culturelle et spirituelle. Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada a la chance de travailler avec plus de 300 partenaires et collectivités autochtones en vue de protéger plusieurs de ces lieux particuliers et de communiquer leurs histoires.

Visiter

Sur les lieux de Parcs Canada, la voix des Autochtones porte les récits de leur histoire et de leur culture. En établissant une connexion, nous pouvons vivre des expériences enrichissantes, approfondir notre connaissance de l’histoire, de la culture et des rôles importants des peuples autochtones.

Travailler ensemble

Ensemble, Parcs Canada et les partenaires autochtones collaborent pour assurer l’accès aux eaux et aux terres ancestrales pour les activités culturelles et les cérémonies.

Le savoir autochtone oriente la gestion des lieux patrimoniaux du Canada et les programmes qui les touchent. Ce travail collaboratif s’appuie sur le respect des droits autochtones, nos relations issues des traités et notre compréhension de l’histoire qui façonne nos parcs nationaux et nos lieux historiques nationaux.