Did you know?

  • Parks Canada cares for approximately 31 million historical and archaeological objects representing over 11,000 years of human history.
  • The collection represents over 50 years of research and curation and is truly a national collection representing all aspects of Canada’s history from coast to coast to coast.
  • Parks Canada is responsible for protecting significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and showcasing significant examples of our heritage nationally. That is why Parks Canada primarily exhibits the objects under its care at national parks and historic sites in every province and territory.

Together under one roof

Brown arrow.

Indigenous arrow gifted to Major Walsh in the 1800s. Currently on display at Fort Walsh National Historic Site in Saskatchewan.

The national collection is an integral part of interpretation, exhibits, and other programming used to share the stories of Parks Canada’s national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas with visitors.

Parks Canada currently manages and operates six collection storage facilities located in five cities - Winnipeg, Cornwall, Ottawa, Quebec City, and Dartmouth - and work is underway to move the objects in these facilities to a new purpose-built collections facility in Gatineau, Quebec.

Why a new building?

Excluding Dartmouth, the existing storage facilities do not meet environmental and security standards. As a result, approximately 60 percent of the 31 million objects under Parks Canada’s care are under threat due to inappropriate environmental storage conditions and lack of appropriate security.

Upon consolidation, the collection will be stored in the Gatineau facility specifically designed for collections preservation and managed by a national team of curatorial, collections and conservation specialists.

The Dartmouth collections facility in Nova Scotia is the only building where artifacts will continue to be housed as it meets the required conservation and security standards.

Building design and construction

Exterior design of Parks Canada’s new modern collection storage facility. The building is two-stories, yellow and white, and surrounded by trees.

Exterior design of new purpose-built collection storage facility. © Moriyama and Teshima Architects and NFOE Architects, in joint venture.

The 8,200 m2 facility will ensure that the collection under Parks Canada’s care is conserved and cared for over the long-term in a sustainable manner for the benefit of current and future generations. To facilitate access to the collection, approximately 1,350 m2 has been dedicated to workspace for researchers and staff, and spaces for reception, meeting, and ceremonial use.

Preliminary timelines have the construction beginning in the spring of 2020 with a projected completion date of winter 2022. The collection will be moved once the facility is operational.

Key building features

Optimal environmental and storage conditions to safeguard the collection
  • Class A climate control with rigorous temperature and humidity set points.
  • Double wall construction around the collection storage area for additional insulation, to maintain required temperature and humidity requirements, and to protect the collection from external threats, such as pests.
  • Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems that are on emergency generators, to ensure consistent climate control in the event of a power outage.
  • A storage system that maximizes space and provides flexible storage capacity to facilitate access and retrieval, and to account for changes in the collection over time.
Dedicated spaces to facilitate access to the collection for all Canadians, including Indigenous peoples, researchers, institutions, and community groups
  • Access to the collection, as a whole, in one location.
  • Collaborative workspaces to access and view objects and related documentation.
  • Dedicated reception, meeting, and ceremonial spaces, including special ventilation for ceremonies such as smudging, to accommodate visitors, events, and special gatherings.
  • Dedicated packaging workshop, loading dock, and quarantine area to safely ship and receive objects.
Healthy and collaborative workspace for Parks Canada team members
  • Office spaces with abundant daylight and superior indoor air quality.
  • Flexible and collaborative work areas.
  • Gender inclusive washroom facilities for staff, guests, and visitors.
Minimized environmental footprint through green building practices
  • Adopting sustainable and energy-efficient green building standards, such as employing the use of recyclable materials, conserving water use, and workspaces with daylight and superior indoor air quality.
  • Achieving a net zero carbon footprint by solely using renewable energy (hydroelectricity) to power operations.
  • Adopting energy-efficient practices with the goal of reducing energy use to 30% less than the target stipulated in the National Energy code for buildings (NECB), resulting in significant energy cost savings.
  • The use of native species in exterior landscaping and dry ponds to retain excess water from storms.

Design of the storage space in the collection storage facility. The space is white and open and contains storage shelves for artifacts.

Optimal storage conditions. © Moriyama and Teshima Architects and NFOE Architects, in joint venture.

Design of what the offices and workspace in Parks Canada’s new collection storage facility will look like. Both areas are bright and open. The office space and workspace is separated by a wall of windows.

Dedicated researcher and staff workspace. © Moriyama and Teshima Architects and NFOE Architects, in joint venture.

Accessing the collection

Veste militaire verte.

Historic jacket of the 19th century Fenians. Currently on display at Fort Wellington National Historic Site, Ontario

Parks Canada will continue to exhibit the collection under its care at Parks Canada places in every province and territory. Objects located in national parks and historic sites will remain in their present locations to share the stories of these fascinating places with visitors.

Parks Canada will continue to work with cultural and educational institutions to ensure that the collection remains accessible for research, educational, ceremonial and exhibit purposes. Coupled with Parks Canada's loans program, the same level of access to the collection will be maintained, if not enhanced.

Follow #OurVaults on Twitter to see a small sample of the archaeological and historical objects under Parks Canada’s care.

Frequently asked questions

What does Parks Canada’s artifact collection consist of?

Parks Canada cares for approximately 31 million historical and archaeological objects representing over 11,000 years of human history.

Historical objects in the collection have been acquired over the years to support interpretation, exhibits, and visitor experience at Parks Canada's national parks and historic sites. Examples of historical objects include furniture, costumes, textiles, and other everyday objects. These pieces are a mix of objects directly related to Parks Canada's historic sites and period antiques purchased to support visitor programming.

Archaeological objects in the collection are the product of archaeological work at Parks Canada's places and range from household goods and construction materials to pre-contact Indigenous hunting tools.

It is important to note that the majority of the archeological collection is fragmentary, consisting of items such as ceramic fragments, window glass shards, and nails. Artifacts such as these are not, for the most part, suitable for display but are an important historical record and of high interest to researchers and archaeologists in their study of Canada’s history.

Will Canadians continue to have access to the collection once it is consolidated?

Parks Canada will ensure that all interested parties have timely access to archaeological and historical objects.

Parks Canada will continue to work with cultural and educational institutions to ensure that the historical and archaeological objects in the collection remain accessible for research, educational, ceremonial, and exhibit purposes. Coupled with Parks Canada's active loans program, the same level of access to the collection will be maintained, if not enhanced.

In line with this commitment, Parks Canada’s new collection storage facility will include dedicated workspaces for researchers as well as meeting, event, and ceremonial spaces, including special ventilation for smudging ceremonies, to accommodate visitors, events, and special gatherings.

Consolidating the collection will allow all Canadians, including Indigenous peoples, researchers, institutions, and community groups from across the country to access the entire collection. Furthermore, having a collection that is properly stored, managed, and easily retrievable by a national team of collection specialists, curators and conservators, will increase Parks Canada’s ability to share the stories of these objects with Canadians through new and innovative ways such as travelling exhibitions and making the collection accessible for online viewing.

Will objects remain on display at Parks Canada places?

Absolutely. Parks Canada will continue to exhibit archaeological and historical objects at Parks Canada places in every province and territory to help connect visitors with the fascinating history of these places.

Objects currently displayed in national parks and historic sites, as well as objects on loan to partner organizations, will remain in these locations.

Are Indigenous peoples engaged in this project?

The Agency recognizes that Indigenous communities have a vested interest in the Indigenous objects and associated documentation in the collections, and is committed to working with interested Indigenous partners to arrive at solutions that support their interests.

To this end, Parks Canada continues to contact and engage Indigenous partners with an interest in the objects under Parks Canada’s care to further involve Indigenous peoples in the care and presentation of these objects.

What is so special about the new facility?

Parks Canada’s new purpose-built collection storage facility will have optimal storage and environmental conditions required to ensure the protection and conservation of the collection.

At the new facility, the collection will be cared for by a team of specialists, curators and conservators and will be properly managed, stored, and easily retrievable.

Consolidating the collection will allow Indigenous peoples, researchers, institutions, and community groups from across the country to access the entire collection. Archaeological and historical objects will be easily accessible for research, ceremonial, educational, and exhibit purposes. To support this, approximately 1,350 m2 of dedicated workspace for researchers and staff, as well as reception, meeting, and ceremonial spaces have been incorporated in the design.

In addition, the facility will have a reduced environmental footprint, by incorporating sustainable and energy-efficient green building practices and achieving zero carbon emissions through the use of renewable energy.

When is construction on the new purpose-built collection storage facility scheduled to begin and to end? When will the collection be moved?

Construction on the new purpose-built collection storage facility is expected to begin in 2020 with a projected completion date of 2022. The collection will be relocated to the new facility in Gatineau once it is operational.

What is Parks Canada doing to prepare the collection for the move?

In advance of the move, Parks Canada is also undertaking a review of its collection. This review will allow the Agency to focus its resources on the objects that have heritage value and best enable Parks Canada to share our rich and varied history with Canadians. Doing so as part of the consolidation will also ensure that no unnecessary objects are moved to the new facility, reducing the cost to relocate the collection.

A collection review is a normal activity and a standard practice amongst museum and archeological institutions.

Parks Canada has and will continue to review its collection in order to maintain good collection management practices and ensure the responsible use of taxpayer dollars.

How do I stay up-to-date on the project?

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for updates on this project! Check out #OurVaults to see a small sample of the archaeological and historical objects under Parks Canada’s care.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Parcs Canada s’occupe de près de 31 millions d’objets historiques et archéologiques qui témoignent de plus de 11 000 ans d’histoire humaine.
  • La collection, qui représente plus de 50 ans de recherche et de conservation, est véritablement une collection nationale exposant tous les aspects de l’histoire du Canada d’un océan à l’autre.
  • Parcs Canada est responsable de la protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et de la mise en valeur d’exemples significatifs de notre patrimoine à l’échelle du pays. Parcs Canada expose donc principalement les objets sous sa responsabilité dans les parcs et les lieux historiques nationaux dans chaque province et territoire.

Réunis sous un même toit

Flèche brune.

Flèche indigène offerte au major Walsh dans les années 1800. Actuellement exposée au lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh, en Saskatchewan.

La collection nationale fait partie intégrante des programmes d’interprétation, expositions et autres activités qui servent à faire connaître aux visiteurs les histoires des lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.

Parcs Canada gère et exploite actuellement six installations d’entreposage situées dans cinq villes, soit Winnipeg, Cornwall, Ottawa, Québec et Dartmouth, et s’emploie à déplacer les objets dans une nouvelle installation de collections qui sera construite expressément à ces fins pour Parcs Canada à Gatineau, au Québec.

Pourquoi un nouveau bâtiment?

Exception faite de celle de Dartmouth, les installations d’entreposage existantes ne respectent pas les normes relatives à l’environnement et à la sécurité. Par conséquent, environ 60 p. 100 des 31 millions d'objets sous la responsabilité de Parcs Canada sont menacés en raison de conditions ambiantes inappropriées pour l’entreposage et d’une sécurité insuffisante.

Une fois les objets réunis, la collection sera entreposée dans l’installation de Gatineau conçue expressément pour l’entreposage et la conservation de collections et gérée par une équipe nationale de spécialistes.

L'installation des collections de Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse, est le seul bâtiment où les artefacts continueront d'être conservés, car il répond aux normes de conservation et de sécurité requises.

Conception et construction du bâtiment

Conception extérieure de la nouvelle installation moderne d'entreposage des collections de Parcs Canada. Le bâtiment de deux étages, jaune et blanc, est entouré d'arbres.

Conception extérieure d'une nouvelle installation d'entreposage de collections spécialement conçue à cette fin ©Partenariat architectural entre Moriyama & Teshima Architects et la firme d’architectes NFOE

L’installation de 8 200 m2 permettra de s'assurer que la collection dont Parcs Canada a la garde est conservée et entretenue à long terme d'une manière durable pour le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures. Pour faciliter l’accès à la collection, environ 1 350 m2 d’espace de travail réservé aux chercheurs et au personnel ainsi que des lieux de réception, de réunion et de cérémonie ont été intégrés à la conception.

Selon les échéanciers préliminaires, on prévoit que la construction débutera au printemps 2020 et qu'elle devrait se terminer à l'hiver 2022. La collection sera déplacée une fois que l'installation sera en service.

Caractéristiques clés du bâtiment

Conditions environnementales et d’entreposage optimales pour préserver la collection
  • Une régulation du climat de classe A avec consignes rigoureuses de température et d'humidité.
  • Une construction à double paroi autour de l’aire d’entreposage de la collection pour renforcer l’isolation afin de maintenir les conditions de température et d’humidité requises et de protéger la collection des menaces extérieures telles que la vermine.
  • Des systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation et de climatisation branchés sur des génératrices de secours pour assurer le maintien de la régulation du climat en cas de panne d’électricité.
  • Un système d’entreposage qui maximise l’espace disponible et fournit une capacité d’entreposage flexible pour faciliter l’accès et la récupération et pour prendre en compte l’évolution de la collection au fil du temps.
Espaces réservés pour faciliter l'accès à la collection à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, y compris les peuples autochtones, les chercheurs, les institutions et les groupes communautaires.
  • La collection sera correctement gérée, entreposée et facilement récupérable.
  • Accès à l’ensemble de la collection dans un même endroit.
  • Des espaces de travail collaboratifs pour accéder aux objets et aux documents connexes et les voir.
  • Des espaces réservés pour les réceptions, les réunions et la tenue des cérémonies, y compris une ventilation spéciale pour des cérémonies telles que la purification par la fumée, afin d'accommoder les visiteurs, les événements et les rassemblements spéciaux.
  • Un atelier d’emballage, un quai de chargement et une zone de quarantaine spécialement conçus pour l’expédition et la réception sécuritaires des objets.
Un espace de travail sain et collaboratif pour les membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada
  • Des locaux à bureaux qui laissent entrer la lumière du jour et dont la qualité de l’air intérieur est excellente.
  • Des aires de travail flexibles et collaboratives.
  • Des toilettes inclusives pour le personnel, les invités et les visiteurs.
Réduction de l'empreinte environnementale grâce à des pratiques de construction écologiques
  • L’adoption de normes de construction écologique durable et éconergétique, telles que l’utilisation de matériaux recyclables, la conservation de l’eau et l’éclairage par la lumière du jour des espaces de travail.
  • Aucune empreinte de carbone en utilisant uniquement de l'énergie renouvelable (hydroélectricité) pour produire de l'électricité.
  • L’adoption de pratiques éconergétiques dans le but de réduire la consommation d’énergie à 30 % de moins que l’objectif fixé dans le Code national de l’énergie pour les bâtiments (CNEB), ce qui permettra de réaliser d’importantes économies en coûts d’énergie.
  • L'utilisation d'espèces indigènes dans l'aménagement paysager extérieur et des bassins secs pour retenir l'excès d'eau pluviale des tempêtes.

Conception de l'espace d'entreposage dans l'installation d'entreposage des collections. L'espace est blanc et ouvert et contient des étagères de rangement pour les artefacts.

Conditions d'entreposage optimales. ©Partenariat architectural entre Moriyama & Teshima Architects et la firme d’architectes NFOE

Conception de l'aménagement des bureaux et de l'espace de travail de la nouvelle installation d'entreposage des collections de Parcs Canada. Les deux zones sont claires et ouvertes. Les bureaux et l'espace de travail sont séparés par un mur de fenêtres.

Espace de travail réservé aux chercheurs et au personnel. ©Partenariat architectural entre Moriyama & Teshima Architects et la firme d’architectes NFOE

Accès à la collection

Veste militaire verte.

Veste historique des féniens du 19e siècle. Actuellement exposée au lieu historique national du Fort-Wellington, en Ontario.

Parcs Canada continuera de présenter les objets sous sa responsabilité dans les endroits de l’Agence de chaque province et territoire. Les objets qui se trouvent actuellement dans des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux y demeureront pour témoigner de l’histoire de ces lieux fascinants aux visiteurs.

Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec les établissements culturels et d’enseignement afin de s’assurer que la collection demeure accessible à des fins de recherche, d’éducation, de cérémonie et d’exposition. Conjugué au programme de prêts de Parcs Canada, le même niveau d’accès à la collection sera maintenu, voire amélioré.

Jetez un coup d’œil à #NosCoffres sur Twitter pour voir un petit échantillon des objets archéologiques et historiques sous la garde de Parcs Canada.

Foire aux questions

En quoi consiste la collection de Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada prend soin d’environ 31 millions d’objets historiques et archéologiques représentant plus de 11 000 ans d’histoire humaine.

Les objets historiques de la collection ont été acquis au cours des années pour soutenir les activités d’interprétation, les expositions et l’expérience du visiteur dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada. Parmi les exemples d’objets historiques, il y a des meubles, des costumes, des tissus et d’autres objets de la vie quotidienne. Ces éléments sont un mélange d’objets qui ont un lien direct avec les lieux historiques de Parcs Canada et d'antiquités d’époque achetés pour appuyer les programmes destinés aux visiteurs.

Les objets archéologiques de la collection sont le produit de travaux archéologiques effectués dans les lieux de Parcs Canada et vont des articles ménagers et des matériaux de construction aux outils de chasse autochtones avant le contact avec les Européens.

Il est important de souligner que la plupart des objets archéologiques de la collection sont fragmentaires, consistant en des fragments de céramique, des éclats de verre de fenêtre et des clous. Ce genre d’artefacts ne convient pas, dans la plupart des cas, aux fins d’exposition, mais sont d’importants registres historiques qui revêtent un grand intérêt pour les chercheurs et les archéologues dans leurs recherches sur l’histoire du Canada.

Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes continueront-ils d'avoir accès à la collection une fois qu'elle sera consolidée?

Parcs Canada veillera à ce que toutes les parties intéressées aient accès en temps opportun aux objets archéologiques et historiques.

Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec des institutions culturelles et éducatives pour veiller à l’accessibilité des objets archéologiques et historiques de la collection à des fins cérémoniales et éducatives ainsi que pour la recherche et les expositions. En plus du programme de prêts en cours de Parcs Canada, cette démarche assurera le même niveau d’accès, voire amélioré, à la collection.

Pour respecter ces engagements, la nouvelle installation d’entreposage de la collection de Parcs Canada comportera des aires de travail réservées aux chercheurs ainsi que des locaux pour la tenue de réunions, d’activités et de cérémonies, dotés d’une ventilation spéciale pour les cérémonies telles que la purification par la fumée, pour accommoder les visiteurs, les événements et les rassemblements spéciaux.

La consolidation de la collection permettra à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, y compris les peuples autochtones, les chercheurs, les institutions et les groupes communautaires de partout au pays, d'avoir accès à l'ensemble de la collection. De plus, le fait d'avoir une collection qui est bien conservée, gérée et facilement accessible par une équipe nationale de spécialistes des collections et de conservateurs permettra à Parcs Canada de faire connaître ces objets aux Canadiens et Canadiennes par de nouvelles façons novatrices, comme les expositions itinérantes, et de les rendre accessibles pour consultation en ligne.

Les objets demeureront-ils exposés dans les lieux de Parcs Canada?

Absolument. L’Agence continuera d’exposer des objets archéologiques et historiques dans les lieux de Parcs Canada dans chaque province et territoire pour intéresser les visiteurs à la fascinante histoire de ces lieux.

Les objets actuellement exposés dans des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux, ainsi que les objets prêtés à des organismes partenaires, resteront où ils se trouvent.

Les peuples autochtones participent-ils à ce projet?

L'Agence reconnaît que les groupes autochtones s’intéressent tout particulièrement aux objets autochtones des collections et à la documentation qui leur est associée, et s’est engagée à travailler avec les groupes autochtones intéressés afin de trouver des solutions qui soutiennent leurs intérêts.

À cette fin, Parcs Canada continue à mobiliser les groupes autochtones qui sont intéressés par les objets confiés aux soins de Parcs Canada afin de faire participer davantage les peuples autochtones à l'entretien et à la mise en valeur de ces objets.

Qu’est-ce que la nouvelle installation a de si spécial?

La nouvelle installation d’entreposage construite à cette fin offrira les conditions d’entreposage et environnementales optimales requises pour assurer la protection et la conservation de la collection.

Dans la nouvelle installation, une équipe de spécialistes et de conservateurs prendra soin de la collection. Elle sera gérée et entreposée adéquatement tout en étant facilement accessible.

La consolidation de la collection permettra aux peuples autochtones, aux chercheurs, aux institutions et aux groupes communautaires de tout le pays d'avoir accès à toute la collection. Les objets archéologiques et historiques seront facilement accessibles à des fins de recherche, de cérémonie, d'éducation et d'exposition. À cette fin, environ 1 350 m2 d'espace de travail réservé aux chercheurs et au personnel, ainsi que des espaces de réception, de réunion et de cérémonie ont été intégrés à la conception.

De plus, l'installation aura une empreinte environnementale réduite grâce à l'intégration de pratiques de construction écologique durable et éconergétique et à l'élimination des émissions de carbone grâce à l'utilisation d'énergie renouvelable.

Quand la construction de la nouvelle installation doit-elle commencer et se terminer? Quand est-ce que la collection sera déménagée?

Les travaux de construction devraient commencer en 2020 et se terminer en 2022. La collection sera déménagée dans les nouveaux locaux de Gatineau une fois qu'elle sera en service.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour préparer la collection au déménagement?

En prévision du déménagement, Parcs Canada procède aussi à un examen de sa collection. Cet examen permettra à l’Agence de concentrer ses ressources sur les objets à valeur patrimoniale et de mieux faire connaître à la population canadienne son histoire riche et variée. En faisant ce travail dans le cadre du regroupement, l’Agence s’assurera qu’aucun objet inutile ne sera entreposé dans la nouvelle installation, ce qui réduira le coût du déménagement de la collection.

L'examen d'une collection est une activité normale et une pratique courante dans les musées et les établissements archéologiques.

Parcs Canada continuera d’examiner régulièrement les objets dont il a la garde afin d’assurer de bonnes pratiques de gestion des collections et de faire le meilleur usage possible de l’argent des contribuables.

Comment puis-je me tenir au courant du projet?

Suivez-nous sur Facebook, Twitter et Instagram pour des mises à jour sur le projet! Jetez un coup d’œil à #NosCoffres pour voir un petit échantillon des objets archéologiques et historiques sous la garde de Parcs Canada.