Some Parks Canada places have begun a safe, gradual reopening of some outdoor areas and services, including camping. Visitors are encouraged to plan ahead and be well-prepared for their visit. Details here.

The Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre includes a lighthouse station and a rocky outcrop that is great for observing marine mammals as well as animals that live on the seabed and in the intertidal zone. The Chemin du Cap-de-Bon-Désir is accessed via Route 138, between the municipalities of Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins; it should take 20 minutes to get there from Tadoussac.

Getting here

Location

13 Chemin du Cap-de-Bon-Désir
Les Bergeronnes QC G0T 1G0

The Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre is accessed via Route 138 in the Manicouagan region (Côte-Nord). From Quebec City, take Route 138 heading towards Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré, past Baie-Saint-Paul and La Malbaie, then follow directions for Tadoussac. Take the ferry across the Saguenay River (free, continuous service). From Tadoussac, continue along Route 138 past Les Bergeronnes. Follow directions for the Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre (Centre d'interprétation et d'observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir). Learn more

Hours of operation

The site is open from June 20 to October 12, 2020.
Complete schedule

Free admission for youth. Other fees still apply
Detailed fees list

 

Construction Info: Work is underway at the Cap-de-Bon-Desir Interpretation and Observation Center. All areas remain accessible to visitors. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Conservation measures have been put in place to protect archaeological resources. The Cap-de-Bon-Désir site houses over 8,000 years of history, one of the longest and oldest sequences of human occupation in the Haute-Côte-Nord. The area welcomed its first seal hunters more than 8,000 years ago and was occupied almost continuously until the period of contact with Europeans.

Have a good visit!

Facilities and services

Quick facts

  • Sitting on its rocky shores, up to 13 different whale species can be seen.
  • From 1958 to 1982, the lighthouse station was inhabited by the guards and their assistants, learn about their story.

Le Centre d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir comprend une station de phare ainsi qu’un cap rocheux propice à l’observation de mammifères marins et d’animaux peuplant les fonds marins et la zone de marée. On y accède par le Chemin du Cap-de-Bon-Désir à partir de la route 138 entre la municipalité des Bergeronnes et des Escoumins, comptez 20 minutes de transport à partir de Tadoussac.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

13 Chemin du Cap-de-Bon-Désir
Les bergeronnes QC G0T 1G0

En auto
Le Centre d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir est accessible par la route 138 dans la région de Manicouagan (Côte-Nord). Le centre se trouve entre Les Bergeronnes et Les Escoumins. De Québec, prenez la route 138 en direction de Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré, passez Baie-Saint-Paul et La Malbaie et suivez les indications pour Tadoussac. Vous prendrez un traversier pour franchir la rivière Saguenay (service gratuit et en continu). De Tadoussac, continuez sur la 138 et passez Les Bergeronnes. Suivez les indications routières pour le Centre d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir. En savoir plus

Heures d'ouverture

Le site est ouvert du 19 juin au 11 octobre, 2021.
Horaire complet

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes. Les autres frais s'appliquent.
Tarification complète

 

Info-travaux : Des travaux sont en cours au Centre d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir. Tous les secteurs demeurent accessibles pour les visiteurs. Nous nous excusons des inconvénients.

Des mesures de conservation ont été mises en place pour protéger les ressources archéologiques. Le site de Cap-de-Bon-Désir abrite plus de 8000 ans d’histoire, l’une des plus longue et plus ancienne séquence d’occupation humaine en Haute-Côte-Nord. Le secteur accueille ses premiers chasseurs de phoque il y a plus de 8000 ans et est occupé de façon presque continue jusqu’à la période de contact avec les Européens.

Nous vous souhaitons une bonne visite!

Installations et services

Faits en bref

  • Assis sur ses caps rocheux, on peut y observer jusqu’à 13 espèces de baleines différentes.
  • De 1958 à 1982, la station de phare était habitée par les gardiens et leurs assistants, découvrez leur histoire.