From the rocks at Cap de Bon-Désir, you can observe up to 13 species of whales, including the endangered St. Lawrence beluga. There, right in front of you, you could even see a blue whale, the largest marine mammal that has ever existed on the planet. Enjoy a timeless moment and guaranteed thrills.

The St. Lawrence Estuary mixes fresh water from the River and salt water from the Gulf. The characteristics of the Estuary make it a rich environment harbouring a wide variety of life forms. Cap de Bon-Désir is a unique spot to learn about navigation on the St. Lawrence and the diversity of marine life.

Offering a natural platform for observing marine mammals, the site also provides visitors the opportunity of participating in interpretation activities. Accompanied by interpreters, head off to discover the shoreline or, better yet, let the naturalist-divers bring up mysterious animals living at the bottom of the Estuary. Listen to accounts of the history of the lighthouse and of its residents, and discover the evolution of navigation on the St. Lawrence over the years.

Depuis les points d’observation du Cap-de-Bon-Désir, vous pouvez observer jusqu’à 13 espèces de baleines. Parmi elles figure le béluga du Saint-Laurent, une population en voie de disparition. Puis, devant vous, défile une baleine bleue, le plus gros animal au monde. Un moment d’éternité et des frissons garantis.

L'estuaire du Saint-Laurent fait le lien entre les eaux douces du fleuve et les eaux salées du golfe. Les caractéristiques de l'estuaire en font un milieu riche où se rencontrent des formes de vie des plus variées. Le Centre d'interprétation et d'observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir est un endroit unique pour découvrir la navigation sur le Saint-Laurent et la diversité marine.

Plate-forme naturelle pour l'observation des mammifères marins, le lieu vous offre aussi la possibilité de participer à des activités d'interprétation. Avec des guides-interprètes, partez à la découverte du littoral ou laissez des naturalistes-plongeurs vous rapporter des animaux mystérieux peuplant le fond de l'estuaire. Venez écouter l'histoire du phare et des gens qui l'ont habité, découvrez la navigation sur le Saint-Laurent au fil du temps.