Openings and services differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Important information about your visit to Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area

To help Canadians gain access to the health and wellness benefits that come from being outdoors and in nature, a number of Parks Canada places will be gradually restoring visitor access and services. Beginning June 1, 2020, visitors will be welcomed back to Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area with safety being a priority. Access will be focused on the resumption of autonomous day use of trails, grounds, and other outdoor settings and include the continuation of critical services and the gradual resumption of some key field-based ecological and cultural protection activities.

To ensure the safety of visitors, residents and staff, Parks Canada is taking a phased approach to restoring access to the park. In doing so, physical distancing for the public remains a critical requirement in all areas of the park. While some of the restrictions and closures implemented in the park to date as a result of Covid-19 have been lifted, others will remain in effect at this time.

What’s open (updated May 27, 2020)
  • Hiking Trails
  • Visitor Parking
What’s closed (updated May 27, 2020)
  • Visitor Centre
  • Store
  • Roving Interpretation
Your safety when visiting
  • Parks Canada is asking Canadians to stay home and support the national effort to limit the spread of COVID-19.
  • Keep a healthy space of 2 metres between you and others.
  • Be extra cautious when engaging in any activities to avoid injury and/or getting lost to help minimize the demands placed on emergency response, search and rescue teams, and on the health care system.
  • Leave no trace when you visit outdoor spaces. Please take all your garbage with you and help keep these places clean.
  •  Abide by all travel advisories and area closures

Stay informed

Les ouvertures et services varient selon les régions du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Informations importantes sur votre visite au Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac‑Supérieur

Pour aider la population à profiter des avantages du plein air et de la nature pour la santé et le bien-être, Parcs Canada reprendra peu à peu ses services et rétablira l’accès à un certain nombre de ses lieux patrimoniaux. À compter du 1er juin 2020, les visiteurs auront de nouveau accès au Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac‑Supérieur, mais la sécurité demeurera une considération prioritaire. L’accès sera axé sur la reprise de la fréquentation diurne autonome des sentiers, des terrains et d’autres cadres extérieurs. De plus, Parcs Canada continuera de fournir ses services essentiels et reprendra progressivement certaines activités clés de protection écologique et culturelle sur le terrain.


Pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs, des résidents et du personnel, Parcs Canada adopte une approche par étapes pour rétablir l’accès au parc. L’éloignement physique demeure une exigence essentielle dans tous les secteurs du parc. Certaines restrictions et fermetures imposées en raison de la Covid-19 sont levées, mais d’autres resteront en vigueur jusqu’à nouvel avis. 

Ce qui est ouvert (mise à jour : 27 Mai 2020)
  • Sentiers plein air
  • Stationnement pour visiteurs
Ce qui est fermé (mise à jour : 27 Mai 2020)
  • Centre d’accueil
  • Boutique
  • Interprétation nomade
Votre sécurité lors de votre visite
  • Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens de rester chez eux et d'appuyer l'effort national visant à limiter la propagation du COVID-19.
  • Gardez une distance de 2 mètres entre vous et les autres.
  • Faites preuve de prudence additionnelle lors de toutes activités afin d’éviter de vous blesser ou de vous perdre pour minimiser la pression sur les équipes de recherche et sauvetage et sur le réseau de la santé.
  • Ne laissez aucune trace quand vous visitez les espaces extérieurs. Veuillez rapporter vos déchets avec vous et nous aider à garder ces endroits propres.
  • Respectez tous les conseils aux visiteurs.

Restez informé