By Lisa Nyman

 

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA) is home to 70 known archaeological sites--from pictographs to gravesites, shipwrecks, and more. Certainly, there are more that we don’t yet know about.

In summer 2019, Lake Superior NMCA hosted Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team, who work all over Canada taking inventory of artifacts located underwater.  This was the first of several summers they will spend doing an inventory in Lake Superior.

The underwater archaeologists are collecting information to help with planning the management and conservation of shipwrecks and other underwater cultural resources found within Lake Superior NMCA.  Parks Canada is dedicated to ensuring these cultural resources will be protected for the enjoyment and appreciation of present and future generations.

In spring of 2019, the team met with north shore residents to talk about the work they would be doing and to pick up some pointers about where to look for undocumented cultural sites in Lake Superior. Connecting with local people is really important, because it isn’t possible to survey Lake Superior NMCA in its entirety; and because local people have intimate knowledge of the “Big Lake” that may have been overlooked or missed in previous studies. Parks Canada relies on this local knowledge to assist in identifying areas of interest on which to focus its search efforts. 

In July, the Underwater Team went into the Nipigon Straits and east to the Rossport region, visiting the wrecks of the Neebing, Mary McLachlan, Gunilda, and Ontario, to gather data using sonar. Each shipwreck tells a story, a snapshot of a specific time and place in the region, and these stories will help Parks Canada staff in sharing the history of the site.  Most of the wrecks the team visited have moorings that are maintained by Save Ontario Shipwrecks’ Lake Superior Chapter.

If you have any information you would like to share regarding cultural resources in Lake Superior NMCA, please contact us!

 

Back to shoreLINES

Lisa Nyman

 

L’aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) du lac Supérieur abrite 70 sites archéologiques connus, allant des pictogrammes aux tombes, en passant par les épaves de navires, etc. Il y en a certainement d’autres que nous ne connaissons pas encore.

 

À l’été 2019, l’AMNC du lac Supérieur a accueilli l’équipe d’archéologie sous-marine de Parcs Canada, qui travaille dans tout le Canada en faisant l’inventaire des artefacts situés sous l’eau. C’est le premier de plusieurs étés qu’ils passeront à faire un inventaire dans le lac Supérieur.

Les archéologues sous-marins recueillent de l’information pour aider à planifier la gestion et la conservation des épaves et des autres ressources culturelles sous-marines qui se trouvent dans l’AMNC du lac Supérieur. Parcs Canada est déterminé à faire en sorte que ces ressources culturelles soient protégées pour le plaisir et l’appréciation des générations actuelles et futures.

Au printemps 2019, l’équipe a rencontré les habitants de la rive nord pour parler du travail qu’ils allaient faire et pour obtenir quelques indications sur les endroits où chercher des sites culturels non documentés dans le lac Supérieur. Il est très important d’établir des liens avec la population locale, car il n’est pas possible d’étudier l’AMNC du lac Supérieur dans son intégralité et parce que les habitants ont une connaissance approfondie du « grand lac » qui a pu être négligée ou omise dans les études précédentes. Parcs Canada compte sur ces connaissances locales pour l’aider à déterminer les secteurs d’intérêt sur lesquels il doit concentrer ses efforts de recherche. 

En juillet, l’équipe sous-marine s’est rendue dans le détroit de Nipigon et à l’est de la région de Rossport, visitant les épaves du Neebing, du Mary McLachlan, du Gunilda et de l’Ontario, pour recueillir des données à l’aide d’un sonar. Chaque naufrage raconte une histoire, un instantané d’un moment et d’un lieu précis dans la région, et ces histoires aideront le personnel de Parcs Canada à faire connaître l’histoire du site. La plupart des épaves que l’équipe a visitées ont des amarrages qui sont entretenus par la section du lac Supérieur de Save Ontario Shipwrecks.

Si vous avez des renseignements à partager concernant les ressources culturelles dans l’AMNC du lac Supérieur, veuillez communiquer avec nous!

 

<< Au fil de l’EAU