shoreLINES is a quarterly newsletter intended to keep our partners and stakeholders informed about Parks Canada's activities and heritage places in Northern Ontario.

Gardening legacy

By Elia Marini

 

After the Sault Ste. Marie Canal's construction in 1895, the landscape was left bare, and beautifying the grounds became a top priority for Superintendent J.W. LeBreton Ross. In 1911, motivated by the "Beautify Canada" campaign, LeBreton Ross applied for funds to improve the canal's landscape. He was given $5,000 and immediately began planting tree seedlings and flower beds around the site. Some of these trees are still standing today. In the 1920s, the canal employed three gardeners. Art Briscoe was hired as the lead gardener in 1931 and worked at the canal for 29 years. He strived to maintain the landscape in the style of an English garden. By the 1930s, the canal grounds were said to be at their peak and became quite a tourist attraction.

‘Drei-seen-id’ all before: Zebra mussel monitoring

By Daniel Weller


The invasion of zebra mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) in Lake Superior is very much a case of “we’ve seen it all before.” In an effort to better understand where and how zebra mussels are spreading, Parks Canada staff at Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA) and Pukaskwa National Park piloted a monitoring program over the summer of 2020.

Marsh make-over

By Christine Drake


In 2021, Parks Canada has committed to replacing the walkway in the Hattie Cove wetland in Pukaskwa National Park. In place of the current boardwalk, an entirely new structure will be built to reduce maintenance, enhance ecological integrity, and improve overall visitor experiences.

2020 Round Table on Parks Canada

Minister’s Response


The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, presented his response to feedback received through the 2020 Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada, which was held last fall.


Wildfire Suppression in Oregon

By Taylor Benda and Jen Morrison


On September 16th 2020, the Parks Canada Fire Crew from Pukaskwa National Park, including members Charles Ingleton, Jennifer Morrison, and Taylor Benda departed for Redmond, Oregon, to assist with the devastating Lionshead wildfire which burned more than 200,000 acres and destroyed 264 residences.


New and exciting north shore visitor centres

By Darrell Makin


Who wants to take a road trip? Here’s an idea! Take a drive along Highway 17 to Terrace Bay and Schreiber. Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA), and both communities, have collaborated on the development of two new visitor centres to promote and support regional tourism.

shoreLINES archives

Join our mailing list

Au fil de L'EAU est un bulletin trimestriel qui vise à tenir nos partenaires et intervenants au courant des activités de Parcs Canada et des lieux patrimoniaux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

L’héritage horticole

Par Elia Marini

Après la construction du canal de Sault Ste. Marie en 1895, le paysage était dénudé et embellir le terrain devint la priorité du surintendant J.W. LeBreton Ross. En 1911, motivé par la campagne Embellissons le Canada, LeBreton Ross a fait une demande de financement pour améliorer l’aménagement paysager du canal. Une somme de 5 000 dollars lui a été accordée et il a immédiatement commencé à planter des jeunes arbres et des massifs de fleurs autour du site. Certains de ces arbres sont encore debout aujourd’hui. Dans les années 1920, le canal employait trois jardiniers. Art Briscoe a été embauché comme jardinier en chef en 1931 et il a travaillé au canal pendant 29 ans. Il s’est efforcé de conserver le style de jardin anglais. Dans les années 1930, on disait que l’aménagement paysager avait atteint un sommet inégalé et les terrains longeant le canal étaient devenus une grande attraction touristique.

Surveillance des moules zébrées

Par Daniel Weller


L’invasion de moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) dans le lac Supérieur est vraiment un cas de « déjà vu ». Dans un effort pour mieux comprendre où et de quelle manière les moules zébrées se répandent, le personnel de Parcs Canada de l’Aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) du Lac Supérieur et du parc national  Pukaskwa ont piloté un programme de surveillance pendant l’été 2020.

Rénovation au marais

Par Christine Drake


En 2021, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à remplacer la promenade dans le marais de l’anse Hattie dans le parc national de Pukaskwa. Pour remplacer la promenade actuelle, une toute nouvelle structure sera aménagée en vue de réduire l’entretien, d’accroître l’intégrité écologique et d’améliorer l’ensemble de l’expérience des visiteurs.

La table ronde 2020 sur Parcs Canada

Réponse du ministre


L’Honorable Jonathan Wilkinson, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a présenté sa réponse aux commentaires reçus dans le cadre de la Table ronde du ministre 2020 sur Parcs Canada tenue l’automne dernier.


Lutte contre les feux de forêt en Orégon

Par Taylor Benda et Jen Morrison


Le 16 septembre 2020, l’équipe de pompiers forestiers de Parcs Canada localisée au parc national Pukaskwa et comprenant Charles Ingleton, Jennifer Morrison et Taylor Benda est partie en direction de Redmond en Orégon, pour lutter contre le feu de forêt Lionshead qui avait dévasté et brûlé plus de 200 000 acres et détruit 264 résidences.


De nouveaux centres des visiteurs excitants sur la rive Nord

Par Darrell Makin


Qui veut faire une promenade en auto? Voici une idée! Faites une promenade sur la route 17 en direction de Terrace Bay et de Schreiber. L’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac Supérieur (AMNC) et les deux communautés ont collaboré à l’aménagement de nouveaux centres des visiteurs en vue de promouvoir et d’appuyer le tourisme régional.

shoreLINES archives

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d’envoi