Imagine a landscape where wind and waves caress the shores of tranquil sheltered bays and endless rugged coastlines - a place where a myriad of shipwrecks lay strewn on the lake floor offering silent testimony to the powers of Superior. The Anishinaabe people of this region have called the place gichigamiing or "The Big Lake" and have lived on its shores for thousands of years, respecting the strength of the waters and the bounty of the lands.

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area is a site so vast that, once established, it will be one of the largest freshwater protected areas in the world. Come fish, kayak and swim in her waves, hike her trails in search of waterfowl, migratory songbirds and wildlife and feel the grip of nature.

Site management

  • A kayaker at sunset.
    Plans and policies

    Parks Canada works to foster Canadians’ sense of connection to their national marine conservation areas, national parks and national historic sites and by holding in trust a world-renowned system of heritage areas for the enjoyment of all.

  • A rocky shore.
    shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

    shoreLINES is a quarterly newsletter intended to keep our partners and stakeholders informed about Parks Canada's activities and heritage places in Northern Ontario.

  • Two people walking on the beach.
    Contact

    How to reach us.

Imaginez un paysage où le vent et les vagues caressent les rives silencieuses des baies abritées et le littoral sauvage s’étendant à l’infini, un lieu parsemé d’innombrables épaves qui gisent dans les profondeurs et offrent un témoignage silencieux de la puissance du lac Supérieur. Le peuple Anishinabek surnomme cet endroit « gichigamiing » (le Grand Lac). Il vit sur ses rives depuis des milliers d’années, en respectant ses eaux tumultueuses et la richesse de ses terres.

L’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur est si vaste qu’une fois établie, elle constituera l’une des plus grandes étendues d’eau douce protégées au monde. Venez pêcher, faire du kayak, nager et parcourir les sentiers à la recherche de sauvagines, d’oiseaux chanteurs migrateurs et de la faune, et laissez-vous happer par la force de la nature.

Gestion du site

  • Un kayakiste au coucher du soleil.
    Plans et politiques

    Parcs Canada cherche à encourager un sentiment d’appartenance des Canadiens envers leurs AMNC, leurs parcs nationaux et leurs lieux historiques nationaux et à protéger un réseau mondialement connu de sites patrimoniaux à l’avantage de tout un chacun.

  • Une rive rocheuse.
    au fil de L'EAU : Récits de nos guides et gardiens

    au fil de L'EAU est un bulletin trimestriel qui vise à tenir nos partenaires et intervenants au courant des activités de Parcs Canada et des lieux patrimoniaux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

  •  Deux personnes marchant sur la plage.
    Contactez-nous

    Comment nous joindre.