Organization: Land of the Nipigon Waterways Development Association

Classification: Difficult
Distance: 10.1 km one way
Elevation Gain: 154 m
Estimated Time: 3-5 hours
Features: Panoramic views of Nipigon River and Nipigon Bay from three clifftop lookouts. Wooded and shoreline habitats. White pelicans, peregrine falcon, bald eagles, great blue heron, otters.

 

Description: Experience the shoreline of the Nipigon River from Nipigon to Red Rock and along Nipigon Bay on Lake Superior, the world’s largest freshwater lake. Suitable for ages 8 and up (depending on abilities) this is a well-maintained, rugged, wilderness recreation trail.

 

If you don’t have much time, consider taking a shorter 40-minute (2.6 km return) hike starting at the Red Rock trailhead to the viewing platform at Lloyd’s Lookout, then hike a few minutes further to relax in the Parks Canada red chairs. Or, start at the Nipigon Marina trailhead and hike 2-3 km of flat terrain along the edge of the Nipigon River. If you plan to hike the entire trail, it is recommended you start at the Red Rock Trailhead. Shuttle service (book ahead) is available in Nipigon, by calling Epic Adventures at 807-887-1008.

 

Directions: Red Rock Trailhead - From Highway 11/17 head south on Highway 628 towards Red Rock. Travel approximately 7 kilometres where signage will direct you to turn left onto Third Street, a short gravel road, where the trailhead is found.
Nipigon Trailhead - From Highway 11/17 turn onto Railway Street or First Street and follow the directional signs to the Nipigon Marina. From the marina parking lot, walk south across the road bridge to the trailhead.

Nipigon River Map

Distance : 10,1 km aller
Gain d’altitude : 154 m
Durée estimée : 3 à 5 heures
Difficulté : Difficile
Caractéristiques : Vues panoramiques de la rivière Nipigon et la baie Nipigon depuis trois belvédères en sommet de falaise. Habitats boisés et littoraux. Pélicans blancs, faucons pèlerins, aigles à tête blanche, grands hérons et les loutres.


Organisme : Land of the Nipigon Waterways Development Association


Description : Parcourez la rive de la rivière Nipigon de Nipigon à Red Rock et longez la baie Nipigon sur le lac Supérieur, le plus grand lac d’eau douce au monde. Adapté aux personnes âgées de 8 ans et plus (selon les aptitudes), il s’agit d’un sentier récréatif en milieu sauvage bien entretenu et accidenté.

Si vous n’avez pas beaucoup de temps, vous pouvez emprunter un parcours plus court de 40 minutes (2,6 km aller-retour) en partant du point de départ du sentier Red Rock jusqu’à la plateforme d’observation du sentier Lloyds. Marchez encore quelques minutes pour vous détendre sur les chaises rouges de Parcs Canada. Sinon, partez du point de départ du sentier de la marina de Nipigon et marchez pendant 2 à 3 km sur du terrain plat aux abords de la rivière Nipigon. Si vous comptez emprunter le sentier dans sa totalité, nous vous recommandons de partir du point de départ du sentier Red Rock. Un service de navette est disponible à Nipigon. Composez le 807-887-1008.


Pour s’y rendre : Départ du sentier Red Rock - Depuis la route 11/17, prenez au sud la route 628 en direction de Red Rock. Parcourez environ 7 kilomètres jusqu’à un panneau qui vous indiquera de prendre à gauche sur Third St. une petite route de gravier, où se trouve le point de départ du sentier.
Départ du sentier Nipigon - Depuis la route 11/17, tournez sur Railway St. ou First St. et suivez les panneaux de direction jusqu’à la marina de Nipigon. À partir du terrain de stationnement de la marina, marchez vers le sud et traversez le pont routier jusqu’au point de départ du sentier.


Carte de Nipigon River