Dolomite, 420 million years old, rises through the sparkling waters of Lake Huron to form Fathom Five National Marine Park. This is a freshwater ecosystem of ancient rock formations, cliff-edge forests, fascinating dive sites on 22 shipwrecks, and orchid species both plentiful and rare. Visit for a day or backcountry camp on starry-skied Flowerpot Island—Fathom Five is equal parts mystery and recreation, ecology and culture—and a welcoming escape to nature

Environment

Featuring both ancient geological wonders and a vital cultural legacy, Fathom Five National Marine Park reaches out from Ontario’s Bruce Peninsula to protect a lush archipelago and a surrounding freshwater ecosystem.

Discover unique features

Plants

Our peninsula is unique in Canada for the wide variety of wildflowers that live here.

This is because for a relatively small bit of land, the Bruce has an unusually rich diversity of habitats, from the rugged cliffs of the Niagara Escarpment, to flat, dry rock plains called alvars, to various types of swampy wetlands.

Calypso
Calypso
© Parks Canada

One of our chief claims to fame is the profusion of species of orchids found here. Orchids are not just tropical plants. There are, believe it or not, more than sixty species in Ontario. Approximately 43 are found on the Bruce Peninsula, likely due to the area’s variety of habitats. They are picky plants that often grow along with specific fungi, making orchids almost impossible to transplant. The plant uses the fungus to obtain nutrients and vice versa in a symbiotic relationship.

From mid-May to early June, Flowerpot Island in Fathom Five National Marine Park is the place to go to see the wonderful calypso orchid. A small number of these small, delicate beauties bloom along the island's trails. Also known as fairy slipper, this orchid grows from coast to coast across northern Canada.

If you go out to have a look, remember that many others come to see these flowers every year. Large numbers of people leaving the paths to get a better look or take pictures have caused the destruction of about one-third of the calypsos that were visible from the trails ten years ago, so please view them from the trail!

One of the most unusual of our orchids is the Alaskan rein orchid, which, as its name suggests, is native to Alaska and northwest Canada. The only other places it's found are Anticosti Island in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and here on the peninsula.

Orchids aren't the only unusual plants on the Bruce. We are also home to about half of the world's dwarf lake iris, and most of Canada's stock of Indian plantain. The peninsula is also home to more than twenty kinds of fern, including the rare northern holly fern. A reminder: it is illegal to remove anything from a national park

About park fauna

Au milieu des eaux cristallines du lac Huron, des rochers de dolomite vieux de 420 millions d’années s’élèvent pour former le parc marin national Fathom Five. Venez admirez les trésors cachés dans cet écosystème d’eau douce : d’anciennes formations rocheuses, des forêts verdoyantes poussant à flanc de falaise, plusieurs espèces d’orchidées dont la rareté n’a d’égale que la beauté... Découvrez les vingt-deux épaves lors de fascinantes aventures sous-marines. Planifiez une visite d’une journée ou un séjour prolongé en plantant votre tente sous le ciel étoilé de l’île Flowerpot ! Fathom Five offre mystère et divertissement, écologie et culture... et une incroyable escapade dans la nature que vous ne serez pas près d’oublier.

Environnement

Le parc marin national Fathom Five, qui s’étend depuis la péninsule de Bruce, en Ontario, protège un archipel luxuriant et l’écosystème des eaux qui l’entourent. Il abrite des merveilles géologiques des temps anciens ainsi qu’un patrimoine culturel majeur.

Découvrir les éléments uniques

Plantes

Notre péninsule est unique au Canada pour la grande variété de fleurs sauvages qui y poussent. En effet, on trouve sur cette pointe de terre relativement petite une diversité d’habitats exceptionnellement riches, allant des falaises rocailleuses de l’Escarpement du Niagara aux alvars, ces plaines sèches et rocheuses, sans oublier les divers types de sols marécageux.

Calypso bulbeux
Calypso bulbeux
© Parcs Canada

L’un des principaux éléments de notre renommée est la profusion des espèces d’orchidées qui poussent sur la péninsule. Croyez-le ou non, plus de 60 espèces de ces plantes tropicales vivent en Ontario. La péninsule Bruce en abrite environ 43 espèces, probablement en raison de la variété des habitats de la région. Ce sont des plantes délicates qui poussent souvent en compagnie de certains champignons, ce qui rend leur transplantation impossible. L’orchidée et le champignon vivent en symbiose, se procurant mutuellement des éléments nutritifs.

De la mi-mai au début de juin, l’île Flowerpot dans le parc marin national Fathom Five est l’endroit tout indiqué pour voir le merveilleux Calypso bulbeux. Des douzaines de ces fleurs magnifiques, petites et délicates, fleurissent en bordure des sentiers de l’île. Cette orchidée pousse d’un océan à l’autre dans le nord du pays.

Si vous décidez d’aller voir les orchidées, rappelez-vous que vous n’êtes pas le seul à le faire. Beaucoup de personnes quittent les sentiers pour mieux voir les fleurs ou les photographier; c’est ainsi que le tiers des calypsos que l’on pouvait voir des sentiers il y a dix ans ont été détruits. Veuillez donc les regarder en demeurant dans le sentier!

L’habénaire est l’une de nos orchidées les plus rares; elle vient de l’Alaska et du nord-ouest du Canada. On en trouve également à l’île d’Anticosti, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, et ici, dans la péninsule.

Les orchidées ne sont pas les seules plantes rares de la péninsule Bruce. On y trouve également près de la moitié des iris nains du monde, et la majeure partie des cacalies du Canada. La péninsule renferme également plus de vingt espèces de fougères, dont la rare tripe de roche.