It is important to Parks Canada to manage commercial activity and growth in a responsible and sustainable way.  The significant increase in visitation to Fathom Five National Marine Park in recent years has resulted in corresponding growth in commercial interest for new and expanded tour operations in the park.

Future vision

Innovative and meaningful experiences are available to visitors of Fathom Five; where private business continue to play an essential role in providing these exceptional services to Canadians; where visitors experience this gem on the Great Lakes in a way that does no harm to its natural and cultural treasures; and where sustainable tourism fuels the local economy into the future.

Parks Canada wants to ensure the Canadian public has a fair and equitable opportunity to compete for business opportunities, in line with Government of Canada policies. Parks Canada launched a Request for Proposals (RFP) for visitor experience opportunities in Fathom Five.  The RFP outlines the types, locations and scope of tourism experiences that could be offered throughout the marine park and invites private businesses to submit proposals for providing these experiences.

Parks Canada recognizes the important economic opportunities that visitation to Fathom Five brings to residents and economy of the Tobermory community. Parks Canada has met with business operators on a number of occasions to engage and inform them about the RFP process and to gain input from the business community to ensure smooth implementation of the RFP process.  

The information provided to business operators regarding the process is shared on this site.

Business community meeting, December 13, 2019
Business community meeting, February 14, 2020
Consultation report

Il est essentiel pour Parcs Canada de gérer la croissance et les activités commerciales de manière responsable et durable. Au cours des dernières années, une hausse importante de la fréquentation du parc marin national Fathom Five a entraîné une croissance proportionnelle de l’intérêt pour la création de nouvelles excursions dans le parc et l’expansion des excursions actuelles.

Vision d’avenir

Des expériences novatrices et intéressantes sont offertes aux visiteurs de Fathom Five où les entreprises privées continuent de jouer un rôle essentiel dans la prestation de ces services exceptionnels aux Canadiens. Elles font découvrir ce joyau des Grands Lacs d’une façon qui permet de préserver ses trésors naturels et culturels, de sorte que le tourisme durable puisse être le moteur de l’économie locale de l’avenir.

Parcs Canada tient à s’assurer que le public canadien bénéficie d’une possibilité juste et équitable de soumissionner pour les occasions d’affaires, conformément aux politiques du gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada a lancé une demande de propositions (DP) portant sur des occasions d’expériences pour les visiteurs à Fathom Five. La DP expose les grandes lignes des types d’expériences touristiques qui pourraient être offertes dans l’ensemble du parc marin, précisant les emplacements possibles et leur étendue, et invite les entreprises privées à soumettre des propositions pour la prestation de ces expériences.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est consciente des importantes retombées économiques découlant de la visite de Fathom Five pour les résidents et la vie économique de la collectivité de Tobermory. Parcs Canada a rencontré les exploitants d’entreprises à plusieurs reprises pour les informer du processus de DP et pour obtenir les opinions de la communauté des affaires afin d’assurer une mise en œuvre harmonieuse du processus de DP.

Les renseignements fournis aux exploitants d’entreprise au sujet de ce processus sont affichés sur ce site.

Réunion avec la communauté des affaires du 13 décembre 2019
Réunion avec la communauté des affaires du 14 février 2020