The Qikiqtani Inuit Association and the Government of Canada, as represented by Parks Canada, Fisheries and Oceans, and Transport Canada, have signed a seven year, $54.8 M Inuit and Impact Benefit Agreement (IIBA) for the establishment of Tallurutiup Imanga National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA). This agreement would cover the requirements for any protected areas established within Canada’s High Arctic Basin (also known as Tuvaijuittuq).

Under the Nunavut Agreement, IIBAs outline the terms and conditions related to a project’s impacts and benefits to Inuit. They are required to be negotiated before the establishment of any new protected area in Nunavut. Unless otherwise agreed to by the Government of Canada and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association, a successor IIBA will be negotiated every seven years.

The IIBA formalises the boundary of Tallurutiup Imanga, which encompasses an area of approximately 108,000 km2 and is directly adjacent to the communities of Resolute Bay, Arctic Bay and Pond Inlet, and in close proximity to Grise Fiord and Clyde River.

One of the primary focuses of the IIBA is supporting Inuit stewardship activities that benefit the communities and that also promote the ecological sustainability of Tallurutiup Imanga.

Specifically, the IIBA for Tallurutiup Imanga NMCA will:

  • Establish a joint Inuit-Government cooperative management board, known as the Aulattiqatigiit Board. This consensus-based board will have equal representation from government and Inuit, including a representative from Imaq, an Inuit advisory board created by QIA to gain the perspectives and support of local Inuit in the management of the NMCA and implementation of the IIBA.
  • Create an Inuit Stewardship program managed by the QIA in each of the five associated communities (Grise Fiord, Resolute Bay, Arctic Bay, Pond Inlet and Clyde River). The Inuit Stewardship program, which builds on the Arctic Bay Pilot Guardian initiative, will support stewardship activities of Inuit within Tallurutiup Imanga, and will make valuable contributions to the management and operations of the NMCA. These include monitoring ecological health, maintaining cultural sites, and promoting intergenerational sharing of Indigenous knowledge. The Inuit Stewardship program will also promote Inuit culture and well-being, as well as provide economic and social benefits.
  • Support opportunities for training and employment.

The full IIBA is available upon request and will be posted online in English, French and Inuktitut in the near future.

L’Association inuite du Qikiqtani (AIQ) et le gouvernement du Canada, représenté par Parcs Canada, Pêches et Océans, et Transports Canada, ont signé une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits (ERAI) de 54,8 millions de dollars, d’une durée de sept ans, pour l’établissement de l’aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) Tallurutiup Imanga. Cette entente couvrirait les besoins pour toute aire protégée établie dans le bassin de l’Extrême-Arctique canadien (aussi connu sous le nom de Tuvaijuittuq).

En vertu de l’Accord du Nunavut, les ERAI définissent les modalités relatives aux répercussions et avantages des projets pour les Inuits. Elles doivent être négociées préalablement à l’établissement de toute nouvelle aire protégée au Nunavut. À moins qu’il n’en soit convenu autrement par le gouvernement du Canada et l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani, une ERAI de remplacement sera négociée à tous les sept ans.

L’ERAI formalise les limites de Tallurutiup Imanga, lesquelles englobent une superficie d’environ 108 000 km2 et sont adjacentes aux collectivités de Resolute Bay, Arctic Bay et Pond Inlet, et à proximité de Grise Fiord et Clyde River.

L’un des premiers objectifs de l’ERAI est de soutenir les activités d’intendance inuites qui profitent aux collectivités et qui favorisent aussi la durabilité écologique de Tallurutiup Imanga.

Plus particulièrement, l’ERAI pour l’AMNC Tallurutiup Imanga permettra de :

  • Créer un conseil de cogestion inuit-gouvernement appelé Conseil Aulattiqatigiit. Ce conseil consensuel comportera une représentation égale du gouvernement et des Inuits, notamment un représentant de l’Imaq, un conseil consultatif inuit créé par l’AIQ pour obtenir le point de vue et le soutien des Inuits locaux dans la gestion de l’AMNC et la mise en œuvre de l’ERAI.
  • Créer un programme d’intendance des Inuits géré par l’AIQ dans chacune des cinq collectivités associées (Grise Fiord, Resolute Bay, Arctic Bay, Pond Inlet et Clyde River). Le programme d’intendance des Inuits, qui tire parti du projet pilote des gardiens d’Arctic Bay, appuiera les activités d’intendance des Inuits dans la région Tallurutiup Imanga, ce qui apportera une contribution précieuse à la gestion et à l’exploitation de l’aire marine nationale de conservation, notamment la surveillance de la santé écologique, l’entretien des sites culturels et la promotion du partage intergénérationnel des connaissances autochtones. Le programme d’intendance des Inuits favorisera également la culture et le bien-être des Inuits et offrira des avantages économiques et sociaux.
  • Soutenir des possibilités de formation et d’emploi.

L’ensemble de l’ERAI est disponible sur demande et sera affichée en ligne en anglais, en français et en inuktitut très prochainement.