A national marine conservation area (NMCA) in Tallurutiup Imanga was first proposed by Parks Canada as a national marine park during the 1980s, but work on the proposal was postponed as Inuit and Government moved to complete the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

A short history of an NMCA proposal in Tallurutiup Imanga

Man and woman in kayaks
© D. Andrews
2007
Federal budget provides direction and funding for a feasibility assessment of an NMCA in Lancaster Sound.
2009
Governments of Canada and Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to launch a feasibility assessment on a proposed NMCA in Lancaster Sound and establish a Steering Committee to oversee the project.
2010
Government of Canada announces for consultation its position on a potential future boundary of 44,300 km2 for an NMCA in Lancaster Sound.
2011-2016
The Steering Committee established under the 2009 MOU conducts community consultations, key stakeholder consultations and completes ecological and traditional knowledge studies. A resource assessment was also completed by the Geological Survey of Canada and Natural Resources Canada.
2016
Federal budget announces funding to establish, develop and operate an NMCA in Lancaster Sound.
February 2017
The Steering Committee submits its report and recommendations on the feasibility of an NMCA in Lancaster Sound to the ministers of Environment for Canada and Nunavut and the President of the Qikqtani Inuit Assocation (QIA).
May 2017
After completing an additional mineral and energy resource assessment for the area to be added to the 2010 boundary announcement, the Senior Mineral and Energy Resource Assessment Committee, chaired by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada found in favour of the Steering Committee’s recommended boundary.
August 2017
The Government of Canada, the Government of Nunavut and QIA announce the boundary for an NMCA in Tallurutiup Imanga and launch negotiations of an Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement (IIBA), as required by the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

Next steps

Inuit sled on the shore of an arctic fiord
© Diane Blanchard
  • Parks Canada and QIA will negotiate an IIBA for the NMCA in Tallurutiup Imanga.
  • An interim management plan for the NMCA (including a preliminary zoning plan) will be prepared, with consultations, using a parallel process.
  • Once Parks Canada and QIA sign the IIBA, the Tallurutiup Imanga National Marine Conservation Area of Canada will be established under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act.

Tallurutiup Imanga a d’abord été proposé par Parcs Canada comme parc marin national pendant les années 1980, mais les travaux sur la proposition ont été reportés lorsque les Inuits et le gouvernement ont décidé de conclure l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Historique du projet d’AMNC dans Tallurutiup Imanga

Homme et femme en kayak
© D. Andrews
2007
Le budget fédéral fournit des directives et un financement pour l’étude de faisabilité d’une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster.
2009
Les gouvernements du Canada et du Nunavut ainsi que la Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) signent un protocole d’entente pour lancer une étude de faisabilité sur un projet d’AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster et créent le comité directeur.
2010
Le gouvernement du Canada annonce, pour consultation, sa position sur des limites potentielles de 44 300 km2 pour une AMNC dans la région du détroit de Lancaster.
2011-2016
Le comité directeur, créé dans le cadre du protocole d’entente de 2009, mène des consultations auprès des communautés et des principaux intervenants et effectue des études sur les connaissances écologiques et le savoir traditionnel. Une évaluation des ressources a également été effectuée par Ressources naturelles Canada.
2016
Le budget fédéral annonce un financement pour établir, aménager et exploiter une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster.
Février 2017
Le comité directeur présente son rapport et ses recommandations sur la faisabilité d’une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster aux ministres de l’Environnement du Canada et du Nunavut ainsi qu’au président de la Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA).
Mai 2017
Après une évaluation supplémentaire des ressources minérales et énergétiques de l’aire à ajouter aux limites annoncées en 2010, le comité principal de l’Évaluation des ressources minérales et énergétiques, présidé par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, se prononce en faveur des limites recommandées par le comité directeur.
Août 2017
Les gouvernements du Canada et du Nunavut ainsi que la QIA annoncent les limites de l’AMNC dans Tallurutiup Imanga et lancent les négociations d’une Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits (ERAI) en vertu de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Prochaines étapes

Traîneau inuit sur la berge d’un fjord arctique
© Diane Blanchard
  • Parcs Canada et la QIA négocieront une ERAI pour l’AMNC dans Tallurutiup Imanga.
  • Un plan directeur provisoire (comprenant un plan de zonage provisoire) sera préparé pour l’AMNC, avec des consultations, par le biais d’un processus parallèle.
  • Une fois que Parcs Canada et la QIA auront signé l’ERAI, l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada Tallurutiup Imanga sera créée en vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.