Tallurutiup Imanga National Marine Conservation Area

The Government of Canada and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association recently signed an Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement (IIBA) required for the establishment of Tallurutiup Imanga National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA).

Tallurutiup Imanga is an area rich in biodiversity and used by Inuit since time immemorial. The NMCA is a significant contribution towards Canada’s target of protecting 10 percent of its marine and coastal areas by 2020. At approximately 108,000 square kilometres, Tallurutiup Imanga National Marine Conservation Area represents approximately 1.9 percent of this target.

Explore this breathtaking Arctic landscape where narwhals live side by side with thousands of seabirds in an area adjacent to vibrant Inuit communities and majestic fjords and glaciers.

Timeline
Find out where we are in the journey of creating an NMCA in Tallurutiup Imanga.

Did you know?
  • Tallurutiup Imanga is an area that has been used since time immemorial by the Inuit. Inuit Qauijimajatuqangit (traditional knowledge) will inform future decision making for the management and protection of the NMCA and the NMCA will protect Inuit harvesting rights guaranteed under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement while also ensuring the protection of species at risk.

More information


Parks Canada

Aire marine nationale de conservation Tallurutiup Imanga

Le gouvernement du Canada et l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani (AIQ) ont récemment signé une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits (ERAI), nécessaire à l’établissement de l’aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) Tallurutiup Imanga.

Tallurutiup Imanga est une zone riche en diversité et qui est utilisée depuis des temps immémoriaux par les Inuits. L’AMNC Tallurutiup Imanga est une contribution significative à l’atteinte de l’objectif du Canada de protéger 10 % de ses aires marines et côtières d'ici 2020. D’une superficie d’environ 108 000 kilomètres carrés, l’aire marine nationale de conservation Tallurutiup Imanga réprésente environ 1,9 % de cet objectif.

Explorez ce paysage arctique à couper le souffle, où les narvals côtoient des milliers d’oiseaux marins à deux pas des communautés inuites animées et des fjords et glaciers majestueux.

Calendrier et prochaines étapes
Voyez où nous en sommes dans nos efforts pour la création de l’AMNC Tallurutiup Imanga.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Tallurutiup Imanga est une région qui a été utilisée de temps immémorial par les Inuits. Les principes de l’Inuit Qauijimajatuqangit (le savoir traditionnel) éclaireront les décisions prises à l’avenir en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à la protection de l’AMNC. Cette aire de conservation va protéger le droit de récolte garanti aux Inuits en vertu de l’entente conclue avec le Nunavut, et assurer la protection des espèces en péril.

En plus


Parcs Canada