The southern Strait of Georgia study area is rich in marine biodiversity and, together with Saanich Inlet, is highly representative of the larger Strait of Georgia marine region. The mixing of fresh water from the Fraser River and ocean waters creates a nutrient-rich and highly productive marine environment.

Marine Life

Hermit crab and brittle star Hermit crab and brittle star
© Parks Canada

The region's marine life is among the most diverse in the world's temperate waters. This ecosystem is home to many marine species that thrive in the rocky reefs, lush kelp beds, protected bays, and fast water channels of the Gulf Islands. Sub-tidal communities support thousands of species of marine invertebrates, such as anemones, sea urchins, sand dollars, crabs, sea stars, and the largest octopus in the world.

Many fish occupy these waters, including herring, five species of Pacific salmon, Pacific cod, walleye Pollock, lingcod, and various species of flatfish and rockfish.

Marine mammals and birds are plentiful. Seals, river otters and sea lions are common. Killer whales, harbour porpoise and Dall's porpoise live here and, in summer, gray, minke, and humpback whales visit. Gull and cormorant colonies and breeding sites for bald eagles, oystercatchers and pigeon guillemots are found throughout the area. The marine waters are particularly important for loons, cormorants, grebes, murres, gulls and ducks.

The proposed boundary waters support some endangered or potentially threatened marine species such as southern resident killer whales, abalone, harbour porpoises and gray whales.

Commerce

Boaters arriving in Canada stop at the customs dock on South Pender Island Boaters arriving in Canada stop at the customs dock on South Pender Island
© Parks Canada / Nicholas Irving

The southern Strait of Georgia supports commerce that ranges from commercial and sport fisheries, to commercial shipping, to the growth industry of coastal tourism.

Recreation

World-class recreational opportunities abound in these rich coastal waters, for scuba divers, boaters, kayakers, fishers and others.

L'aire d'étude du détroit de Georgia Sud est réputée pour sa biodiversité marine et, avec le bras Saanich, est extrêmement représentative de la grande région marine du Détroit de Georgia. La combinaison de l'eau douce du fleuve Fraser et des eaux marines crée un milieu marin très productif et riche en nutriments.

Vie marine

Bernard-l'hermite et ophiure Bernard-l'hermite et ophiure
© Parcs Canada

La vie marine de la région compte parmi les plus diversifiées au monde en eaux tempérées. Cet écosystème abrite une vaste gamme d'espèces marines qui vivent dans les récifs rocheux, les forêts de laminaires, les baies protégées, les estuaires et les passages de courants rapides des îles Gulf. Dans les zones infratidales de ces eaux, on trouve des milliers d'espèces d'invertébrés, notamment des anémones, des oursins, des dollars des sables, des crabes, des étoiles de mer et la plus grande pieuvre au monde.

Plusieurs espèces de poissons vivent dans ces eaux, notamment le hareng, cinq espèces de saumon du Pacifique, la morue du Pacifique, la goberge de l'Alaska, la morue-lingue et diverses espèces de poisson plat et de sébaste.

Les mammifères marins et les oiseaux de mer abondent. On observe souvent dans la région des phoques, des loutres de rivière et des otaries. Des épaulards, des marsouins communs et des marsouins de Dall y vivent et, en été, des baleines grises de Californie, des petits rorquals et des baleines à bosse les rejoignent. Il y a des colonies de mouettes et de cormorans un peu partout dans la région et des sites de reproduction du pygargue à tête blanche, de l'huîtrier et du guillemot colombin. Ces eaux marines sont particulièrement importantes pour les populations de huards, de cormorans, de grèbes, de guillemots, de mouettes et de canards.

L'aire d'étude renferme des espèces marines menacées ou en voie de disparition comme l'épaulard du Sud, l'ormeau, le marsouin commun et la baleine grise de Californie.

Commerce

À leur arrivée au Canada, les plaisanciers doivent arrêter au quai de la douane sur l'île Pender Sud À leur arrivée au Canada, les plaisanciers doivent arrêter au quai de la douane sur l'île Pender Sud
© Parcs Canada / Nicholas Irving

Le commerce est florissant dans le détroit de Georgia Sud, que ce soit dans le domaine de la pêche commerciale et sportive, de la navigation commerciale ou du tourisme côtier.

Recreation

Les activités récréatives de renommée mondiale ne manquent pas dans ces riches eaux côtières, qu'il s'agisse de plongée autonome, de navigation de plaisance, de kayak de mer, de pêche et autres.