Canada’s national parks and protected areas belong to all Canadians. Parks Canada manages and protects one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world. In very limited areas, controlled development is permitted according to strict guidelines in order to enhance recreational and visitor services.

Parks Canada is undertaking a review of its regulations and policies related to planning permits, some dating back to the 1960s. This review responds to public feedback raised during the 2017 Minister’s Round Table. The current construction and renovation permitting process is divided among several statutes, regulations, and field unit specific policies. Parks Canada processes for permitting for construction and renovation need to be modernized to reflect current national codes (e.g., National Building, Plumbing and Fire Codes) and to be consistent with municipal and provincial/territorial approaches.

Strict development limits are in place to ensure the protection of ecological and commemorative integrity in Parks Canada places. A modernized planning permit process will ensure rigorous and transparent assessment of construction or renovation project applications.

Parks Canada is seeking public input on how best to establish a single, streamlined framework for permitting that provides a consistent, transparent and predictable review process of applications for construction and renovation projects at Parks Canada places. Consultations will be conducted based on the following broad questions:

  • What principles should be followed when evaluating planning permit applications?
  • How can Parks Canada better help applicants through the planning permit process?
  • What are the barriers to applying for planning permits from Parks Canada?
  • What existing best practices in permitting should be implemented in the Parks Canada context?

Parks Canada is committed to working with commercial operators and those residents and cottage owners who form part of the community of partners at Parks Canada places.

Consultations will take place from summer to fall of 2018, within national park townsites and online through the Consulting with Canadians website.

Questions and answers

Why is Parks Canada undertaking this review?

Parks Canada is undertaking a review of its building, cottage, and sign regulations. Parks Canada regulations concerning permitting for construction and renovation need to be updated to reflect current national codes (e.g., National Building, Plumbing, and Fire Codes) and to be consistent with municipal and provincial/territorial approaches.

Parks Canada is undertaking this review to ensure that its regulations and polices reflect modern planning principles and that projects receive the highest standard of scrutiny throughout the planning permit process. The commitment to review Parks Canada’s current regulations related to planning permits is identified in the Agency’s Forward Regulatory Plan.  In Let's Talk Parks, Canada! Minister McKenna committed to undertake a review of development and land use management decision-making tools to ensure a consistent and transparent process for development decisions at Parks Canada places. By undertaking these consultations, the Agency is taking its first step towards meeting these commitments.

What is the goal of the public consultations?

Parks Canada is seeking public input on establishing a modern and streamlined framework for planning permits that provides a consistent, transparent, predictable, and rigorous review process for permit applications in Parks Canada managed places. This process will result in new regulations, tentatively titled “Land Use Management Regulations”, as well as updated policies and operating procedures to assist with compliance.

What does Parks Canada hope to achieve?

Parks Canada is seeking public input on how best to establish a single, modern, streamlined framework for permitting that provides a consistent, transparent and predictable review process of applications for construction and renovation projects. The new permit process will continue to reflect the principle of ecological integrity as a first priority in decision-making, as set out in the Canada National Parks Act.

Parks Canada is consulting with Indigenous groups, stakeholders and the public to understand and identify key issues and improvements to be made to the current permit application processes. Public input will help to inform the creation of a new national planning permit process to ensure the continued protection and presentation of Parks Canada places.

New regulations will be drafted to set out permitting requirements and steps in the review of permit applications. Supporting land use policies (i.e.: architectural guidelines, local zoning, setbacks, etc.) will be revised as needed, once updated regulations have been established.

Will this encourage more development in protected areas?

New regulations and policies will ensure a consistent Agency decision-making process for planning permit applications. It will not change existing commercial caps, townsite boundaries, or amount of land currently zoned for development, etc. – those are long-term planning decisions made through legislation, management plans, community plans, site guidelines, and related documents.

This updated process will provide clear decision-making on an application for redevelopment of particular lots that are already zoned for commercial, private accommodation or visitor services purposes through existing management and systems plans. It will not be possible to seek a permit for an area not already identified for these purposes.

What is included in this review?

Authorities in the following regulations under the Canada National Parks Act are being reviewed: National Parks Building Regulations (1968), National Parks of Canada Cottages Regulations (1979), National Parks Signs Regulations (1956), and Town of Jasper Zoning Regulations (1968).

These will be replaced with a modern, planning permit process in a single regulation supported by updated polices and operating procedures. Depending on public feedback, amendments may be needed to other existing regulations, and possibly legislation, to coordinate new processes and ensure consistent and effective application and implementation across Parks Canada places. Consideration is also being given as to whether this consolidated process would also be extended to all other Parks Canada protected areas; for example, national marine conservation areas and historic canals.

Will this National Planning Permit Process affect current projects?

Draft regulations are expected to be completed by spring of 2019 and considered for pre-publication in the Canada Gazette. A public comment period will follow and Parks Canada will consider all comments received before submitting the proposed regulations for final publication in the Canada Gazette. Once the regulations come into force, any new request for a planning permit would need to comply with the new process.

Who is being consulted?

Parks Canada would like to hear from individuals and stakeholder groups with an interest in how planning permit decisions are made. This includes, but is not limited to: commercial and residential leaseholders; business operators; Indigenous groups; parks community residents; visitors; property owners near Parks Canada places, such as along historic canals and waterways; industry professionals; and interest groups.

To what types of projects could the regulations apply?

The current National Parks Building Regulations apply to all building and construction projects within a national park. The scope of the new regulations would be the same – they would apply to all permit applications for construction, renovation, or redevelopment on lands already identified in management and system plans for limited development for recreational or visitor services. Consideration will be given to whether to apply the new regulations to all Parks Canada places to ensure consistency, transparency and predictability across all protected areas administered by the Agency. Projects requiring a permit could include building a dock, renovating a cottage, restoration of commercial accommodations, installing a septic system, or improvement to existing infrastructure.

What types of permits are currently granted by Parks Canada?

Through policy and regulations, the Agency requires planning permits for construction and renovation projects similar to that of a municipality, including development permits, building permits, occupancy permits, sign permits, electrical permits, plumbing permits, gas installation permits, as well as for other projects such as construction of temporary access roads, water supply, or landscaping, etc. The results of this review will provide a transparent, predictable and consistent process for stakeholders and Parks Canada when seeking to plan and execute a project that requires any type of planning permit.

When will a draft of the new regulations be ready?

Draft regulations are expected to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette by spring 2019. There will be an opportunity for the public to provide further comments on the draft regulations at that time.

How will this review affect the terms and conditions of existing leases or licenses?

Under this review, Parks Canada is only considering changes to how it makes decisions related to issuing planning permits to ensure that the Agency’s processes are compatible with municipal best practices. Changes to the terms of existing leases and licenses are not being considered through this process.

Les parcs nationaux et autres aires protégées du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens. Parcs Canada gère et protège un des plus grands et des plus beaux réseaux d’aires naturelles et culturelles protégées de la planète. Dans des zones très limitées de ces aires, un aménagement contrôlé est autorisé conformément à des lignes directrices strictes afin d’améliorer les services récréatifs et les services aux visiteurs.

Parcs Canada entreprend un examen de ses règlements et de ses politiques en matière de permis d’aménagement, dont certains remontent aux années 1960. Le présent examen fait suite aux commentaires du public recueillis lors de la Table ronde de la ministre de 2017. Le processus actuel de délivrance des permis de construction et de rénovation découle de plusieurs lois, règlements et politiques propres à chaque unité de gestion. Les processus de Parcs Canada pour la délivrance de permis de construction et de rénovation doivent être modernisés afin de refléter les codes nationaux actuels (par exemple, codes nationaux du bâtiment, de la plomberie et de la prévention des incendies) et d’être conformes aux approches municipales, provinciales et territoriales.

Des limites strictes sont en place afin de garantir la protection de l’intégrité écologique au sein des parcs nationaux du Canada. Un processus modernisé de délivrance des permis d’aménagement garantira l’évaluation rigoureuse et transparente des demandes visant des projets de construction ou de rénovation.

Parcs Canada sollicite l’avis du public sur la meilleure façon d’établir un cadre unique et simplifié pour la délivrance de permis offrant un processus d’examen uniforme, transparent et prévisible des demandes visant des projets de construction et de rénovation dans les lieux gérés pas Parcs Canada. Des consultations auront lieu sur les questions générales suivantes :

  • Quels sont les principes à respecter lors de l’évaluation des demandes de permis d’aménagement?
  • Comment Parcs Canada peut-il mieux aider les demandeurs à traverser le processus?
  • Quels sont les obstacles existants au sein du processus de demande de permis d’aménagement de Parcs Canada?
  • Quelles pratiques exemplaires existantes en matière de délivrance de permis devrait-on mettre en œuvre dans le contexte de Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada s’engage à collaborer avec les exploitants commerciaux, les résidents et les propriétaires de chalets qui font partie de la communauté de partenaires des lieux gérés par Parcs Canada.

Les consultations auront lieu de l’été à l’automne 2018, en personne dans les lotissements urbains des parcs nationaux et en ligne par l’entremise du site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Foire aux questions

1. Pourquoi Parcs Canada entreprend-il cet examen?

Parcs Canada entreprend un examen de ses règlements sur les bâtiments, les chalets et les enseignes. Les règlements de Parcs Canada concernant les permis de construction et de rénovation doivent être mis à jour pour refléter les codes nationaux actuels (par exemple, codes nationaux du bâtiment, de la plomberie et de la prévention des incendies) et pour être cohérents avec les approches municipales, provinciales et territoriales.

Parcs Canada entreprend cet examen pour s’assurer que ses règlements et ses politiques reflètent les principes d’aménagement moderne, et que les projets font l’objet d’un examen rigoureux tout au long du processus de délivrance des permis d’aménagement. L’Agence s’est engagée, dans son Plan prospectif de la réglementation, à examiner la réglementation actuelle de Parcs Canada en matière de permis d’aménagement. Dans sa réponse à la Table ronde ministérielle de 2017, Parlons de Parcs Canada!, la ministre McKenna s’est engagée à entreprendre un examen des processus décisionnels liés à l’aménagement et à la gestion de l’utilisation des terres dans les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada afin de rendre ces processus plus cohérents et transparents. En lançant ces consultations, l’Agence fait un premier pas vers le respect de ces engagements.

2. Quel est le but des consultations publiques?

Parcs Canada sollicite les commentaires du public sur l’établissement d’un cadre moderne et simplifié de délivrance de permis qui fournirait un processus d’examen uniforme, transparent, prévisible et rigoureux des demandes de permis d’aménagement pour les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada. Ce processus donnera lieu à de nouveaux règlements, provisoirement intitulés « Projet de règlement sur la gestion de l’utilisation des terres », ainsi qu’à une mise à jour des politiques et des procédures d’exploitation qui facilitera la conformité.

3. Qu’espère accomplir Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada sollicite les commentaires du public sur la meilleure façon d’établir un cadre unique, moderne et simplifié de délivrance de permis offrant un processus d’examen uniforme, transparent et prévisible des demandes de projets de construction et de rénovation. La nouvelle procédure de permis d’aménagement continuera à prendre en compte que l’intégrité écologique occupe le premier rang des priorités dans la prise de décisions, comme le prévoit la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Parcs Canada consulte les groupes autochtones, les intervenants et le public afin de comprendre et de cerner les principaux enjeux et les améliorations à apporter aux processus actuels de délivrance de permis. Les commentaires du public aideront à éclairer la création d’un nouveau procédure nationale de délivrance de permis d’aménagement et d’assurer la protection et la mise en valeur des lieux gérés par Parcs Canada.

De nouveaux règlements seront rédigés afin d’établir les exigences en matière de délivrance de permis et les étapes de l’examen des demandes. Les politiques sur l’utilisation des terres (lignes directrices en matière d’architecture, zonage local, marges de recul, etc.) seront révisées au besoin, une fois les règlements mis à jour.

4. Est-ce que cela favorisera l’aménagement des aires protégées?

Les nouveaux règlements et les nouvelles politiques garantiront un processus décisionnel uniforme pour les demandes de permis d’aménagement présentées à la grandeur de l’Agence. Ils ne modifieront pas les plafonds existants en matière d’exploitation commerciale, les limites des lotissements urbains ou la superficie des terres actuellement zonées à des fins d’aménagement, par exemple. Ceux-ci sont établis au terme de décisions de planification à long terme prises dans les lois, les plans directeurs, les plans communautaires, les lignes directrices locales et les documents connexes.

Le processus mis à jour permettra de prendre des décisions éclairées sur les demandes de réaménagement de lots particuliers qui sont déjà zonés à des fins commerciales, pour l’hébergement privé ou pour les services aux visiteurs dans les plans directeurs et les plans du réseau existants. Il ne sera pas possible de demander un permis visant une zone qui n’a pas déjà été désignée à ces fins.

5. Qu’est-ce qui est visé par cet examen?

Nous examinerons les pouvoirs conférés par les règlements suivants, pris en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada : Règlement sur les bâtiments des parcs nationaux (1968), Règlement sur les chalets situés dans les parcs nationaux du Canada (1979), Règlement sur les enseignes dans les parcs nationaux (1956) et Règlement sur le zonage du périmètre urbain de Jasper (1968).

Ceux-ci seront remplacés par un processus moderne de délivrance de permis d’aménagement encadré par un règlement unique appuyé par des politiques et des procédures opérationnelles actualisées. Selon la rétroaction du public, il faudra peut-être apporter des modifications à d’autres règlements existants, et peut-être même à la loi, afin de coordonner les nouveaux processus et d’assurer une application et une mise en œuvre uniformes et efficaces dans l’ensemble des lieux gérés par Parcs Canada. Nous étudions également la possibilité d’étendre ce processus consolidé à toutes les autres aires protégées de Parcs Canada, par exemple, les aires marines nationales de conservation et les canaux historiques.

6. Ce procédure nationale de délivrance de permis d’aménagement aura-t-il une incidence sur les projets en cours?

Le projet de règlement devrait être terminé d’ici le printemps 2019, et nous comptons le publier au préalable dans la Gazette du Canada. Une période de commentaires du public suivra, et Parcs Canada tiendra compte de tous les commentaires reçus avant de soumettre le projet de règlement pour publication finale dans la Gazette du Canada. Lorsque le règlement entrera en vigueur, toute nouvelle demande de permis d’aménagement devra respecter le nouveau processus.:

7. Qui consultera-t-on?

Parcs Canada aimerait entendre les personnes et les groupes d’intervenants qui s’intéressent à la façon dont les décisions relatives aux permis d’aménagement sont prises. Cela comprend, sans toutefois s’y limiter, les groupes suivants : détenteurs de baux commerciaux et résidentiels, exploitants d’entreprises, groupes autochtones, résidents des collectivités des parcs, visiteurs, propriétaires de terres adjacentes aux lieux gérés par Parcs Canada (par exemple, canaux et cours d’eau historiques), professionnels de l’industrie et groupes d’intérêt.

8. À quels types de projets s’appliquera le règlement?

Le Règlement sur les bâtiments des parcs nationaux actuel s’applique à tous les projets de construction dans un parc national. La portée du nouveau règlement serait la même : il s’appliquerait à toutes les demandes de permis de construction, de rénovation ou de réaménagement sur des terres déjà désignées aux fins d’un aménagement limité pour des services récréatifs ou des services aux visiteurs dans les plans directeurs ou les plans du réseau. Nous examinerons la possibilité d’appliquer le nouveau règlement à tous les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada afin d’assurer l’uniformité, la transparence et la prévisibilité sur toutes les terres administrées par l’Agence. Les projets nécessitant un permis pourraient comprendre la construction d’un quai, la rénovation d’un chalet, la restauration d’un logement commercial, l’installation d’une fosse septique ou l’amélioration de l’infrastructure existante.

9. Quels types de permis l’Agence Parcs Canada délivre-t-elle actuellement?

Par l’entremise de politiques et de règlements, l’Agence exige des permis d’aménagement semblables à ceux exigés par une municipalité pour les projets de construction et de rénovation : permis d’aménagement, permis de construction, permis d’occupation, permis d’enseigne, permis d’électricité, permis de plomberie, permis d’installation de gaz ainsi que permis pour d’autres projets comme la construction de routes d’accès temporaires, l’approvisionnement en eau ou l’aménagement paysager. Cet examen mènera à un processus transparent, prévisible et uniforme pour les intervenants et Parcs Canada lorsqu’ils cherchent à planifier et à exécuter un projet nécessitant un permis d’aménagement, quel qu’il soit.

10. Quand l’ébauche du nouveau règlement sera-t-il prêt?

Le projet de règlement devrait faire l’objet d’une publication préalable dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada en 2019. Le public aura l’occasion de formuler d’autres commentaires sur le projet de règlement à ce moment-là.

11. Quelle sera l’incidence de cet examen sur les modalités des baux ou des licences existants?

Dans le cadre de cet examen, Parcs Canada n’envisage de modifier que la façon dont il prend ses décisions concernant la délivrance des permis d’aménagement afin de s’assurer que les processus de l’Agence sont compatibles avec les pratiques exemplaires municipales. Aucun changement n’est envisagé aux modalités des baux et des permis existants dans le cadre de ce processus.