About the consultations

Parks Canada is undertaking an assessment of its various regulations and internal policies related to planning permits. This process will result in new regulations, tentatively titled ‘Land Use Management Regulations’, as well as updated policies and operating procedures to assist with compliance.

Parks Canada’s current development, building and occupancy permit review process is divided among several statutes, regulations and local policies. The regulations concerning permitting for construction and renovation projects need to be updated to reflect current national standards and to ensure consistency with municipal and provincial/territorial approaches from across Canada.

In her response to the feedback received through Let’s Talk Parks, Canada!, released in May 2018, Minister McKenna committed to “undertake a review of development and land use management decision-making tools to ensure a consistent and transparent process for development decisions at Parks Canada places”. These decision-making tools include the regulatory authorities to grant construction and renovation permits in areas identified for recreational and visitor services.

Over the summer and fall of 2018, Parks Canada sought public input on how best to establish a streamlined framework for the planning permit process. A What We Heard Report summarizes public input received during these consultations and outlines next steps.

Parks Canada thanks the more than 200 individuals and organizations who took the time to participate in these consultations. Your input is greatly appreciated and will be invaluable as we move to the next step to modernize the planning permit process.

Update

Further public consultations in Jasper were held on local land use issues specific to the Town of Jasper Zoning Regulations. A What We Heard Report is now available.


Questions and answers

Why is Parks Canada undertaking this review?

Parks Canada is undertaking an assessment of its building, cottage, and sign regulations. Parks Canada regulations concerning permitting for construction and renovation need to be updated to reflect current construction codes (e.g., Building, Plumbing, and Fire Codes) and to be consistent with municipal and provincial/territorial standards, where beneficial.

Parks Canada is undertaking this review to ensure that its regulations and polices reflect modern planning principles and that projects receive the highest standard of scrutiny throughout the planning permit process. The commitment to review Parks Canada’s current regulations related to planning permits is identified in the Agency’s Forward Regulatory Plan. In Let’s Talk Parks, Canada! Minister McKenna committed to undertake a review of development and land use management decision-making tools to ensure a consistent and transparent process for development decisions at Parks Canada places. By completing these consultations, the Agency has taken a concrete step towards meeting these commitments.

What does Parks Canada hope to achieve?

Parks Canada sought public input on how best to establish a single, modern, streamlined framework for permitting that provides a consistent, transparent and predictable review process of applications for construction and renovation projects. The new permit process will continue to reflect the principal of ecological integrity as a first priority in decision-making, as set out in the Canada National Parks Act.

Parks Canada consulted Indigenous groups, stakeholders and the public to understand and identify key issues and improvements to be made to the current permit application processes. Public input will help to inform the creation of a new national planning permit process to ensure the continued protection and presentation of Parks Canada places.

New regulations will be drafted to set out permitting requirements and required steps in the review of permit applications. Supporting land use policies (i.e., architectural guidelines, local zoning, setbacks, etc.) will be revised, once updated regulations have been established.

Will this encourage more development in protected areas?

New regulations and policies will ensure a consistent Agency decision-making process for planning permit applications. It will not change existing commercial caps, townsite boundaries, or amount of land currently zoned for development, etc. – those are long-term planning decisions made through legislation, management plans, community plans, site guidelines, and related documents.

This updated process will provide clear decision-making on an application for redevelopment of particular lots that are already zoned for commercial, private accommodation or visitor services purposes through existing management and systems plans. It will not be possible to seek a permit for an area not already identified for these purposes.

Who was consulted?

Parks Canada sought input from stakeholders online and by conducting in-person meetings across a broad selection of Parks Canada places.

Parks Canada heard from individuals and stakeholder groups with an interest in how planning permit decisions are made. This includes, but is not limited to: commercial and residential leaseholders; business operators; Indigenous groups; parks community residents; visitors; representatives of local governments; property owners near Parks Canada places, such as along historic canals and waterways; industry professionals; and other interest groups.

Parks Canada sincerely thanks the more than 200 individuals and organizations who took the time to participate in these consultations. The input received through this process is invaluable as we move to the next step to modernize the planning permit process.

What were the results of the public consultations?

Parks Canada sought public input on establishing a modern and streamlined framework for planning permits that provides a consistent, transparent, predictable, and rigorous review process for permit applications in Parks Canada managed places.

The following key principles consistently heard in the course of the consultations will guide the development of these regulations:

  • protection of ecological integrity;
  • flexibility;
  • consistency;
  • transparency; and
  • public participation.

Please consult the What We Heard Report for more details on the public feedback received through this process.

When will a draft of the new regulations be ready?

Parks Canada received comments and feedback on the planning permit process, as outlined in the What We Heard Report. Based on the input received, Parks Canada will draft new ‘Land Use Management Regulations’. Draft regulations are expected to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette by spring 2020. In order to clearly explain the regulatory process to stakeholders, interpretive guidelines will be published at the same time. There will be an opportunity for the public to provide further input at that time.

Timeline

The timelines for this regulatory project have been updated to account for the quantity and complexity of public input received.

Activity Dates
Public meetings and online comment period Complete
What We Heard Report published Complete
Regulatory drafting 2019
Draft regulation and the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement (RIAS) posted online for public comment
  • Canada Gazette, Part I
2020
Refinement of the draft regulations based on feedback received 2020
Finalized regulations posted online
  • Canada Gazette, Part II
To be determined
Coming into force of the regulations To be determined

Resources available

Current regulations

Parks Canada Agency contact:

Daniel Mercer
Manager, Land Use Planning Services
Strategic Policy and Investment Directorate

Au sujet des consultations

Parcs Canada entreprend un examen de ses règlements et de ses politiques en matière de permis d’aménagement. Ce processus donnera lieu à de nouveaux règlements, provisoirement intitulés « Règlement sur la gestion de l’utilisation des terres », ainsi qu’à une mise à jour des politiques et des procédures d’exploitation qui facilitera la conformité.

Le processus d’examen des permis d’aménagement, de construction et d’occupation de Parcs Canada actuellement en cours touche plusieurs lois, règlements et politiques locales. La réglementation sur la délivrance des permis pour des projets de construction et de rénovation doit être mise à jour pour refléter les normes nationales en vigueur et assurer l’uniformité avec les approches municipales, provinciales et territoriales dans l’ensemble du pays.

Dans sa réponse aux commentaires présentés dans le rapport sur la consultation Parlons de Parcs Canada! publié en mai 2018, la ministre McKenna s’est engagée « à entreprendre un examen des mécanismes de prise de décisions en matière d’aménagement et de gestion des terres afin d’assurer un processus cohérent et transparent pour les décisions relatives à l’aménagement des sites de Parcs Canada. » Ces processus décisionnels comprennent les organes de réglementation qui délivrent les permis de construction et de rénovation dans les secteurs désignés pour les services récréatifs et les services aux visiteurs.

Au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2018, Parcs Canada a sollicité les commentaires du public sur la meilleure façon d’établir un cadre simplifié pour ce processus de délivrance de permis d’aménagement. Le rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu contient un résumé des commentaires recueillis lors des consultations et expose les prochaines étapes.

Parcs Canada remercie les quelque 200 personnes et organismes qui ont pris le temps de participer à ces consultations. Vos commentaires sont grandement appréciés et seront d’une valeur inestimable alors que nous passerons à l’étape suivante de la modernisation du processus de délivrance des permis d’aménagement.

Mise à jour

D’autres consultations publiques ont eu lieu à Jasper sur les questions d’utilisation des terres particulières au Règlement sur le zonage du périmètre urbain de Jasper. Un rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu est maintenant disponible.


Foire aux questions

Pourquoi Parcs Canada entreprend-il cet examen?

Parcs Canada entreprend un examen de ses règlements sur les bâtiments, les chalets et les enseignes. Les règlements de Parcs Canada concernant les permis de construction et de rénovation doivent être mis à jour pour refléter les codes de construction actuels (par exemple, codes du bâtiment, de la plomberie et de la prévention des incendies) et pour être cohérents avec les approches municipales, provinciales et territoriales.

Parcs Canada entreprend cet examen pour s’assurer que ses règlements et ses politiques reflètent les principes d’urbanisme moderne, et que les projets font l’objet d’un examen rigoureux tout au long du processus de délivrance des permis d’aménagement. L’Agence s’est engagée, dans son Plan prospectif de la réglementation, à examiner la réglementation actuelle de Parcs Canada en matière de permis d’aménagement. Dans le rapport sur Parlons de Parcs Canada!, la ministre McKenna s’est engagée à entreprendre un examen des mécanismes de prise de décisions en matière d’aménagement et de gestion des terres afin d’assurer un processus cohérent et transparent pour les décisions relatives à l’aménagement des sites de Parcs Canada. En procédant à ces consultations, l’Agence fait un pas décisif vers le respect de ces engagements.

Qu’espère accomplir Parcs Canada?

Parcs Canada a sollicité les commentaires du public sur la meilleure façon d’établir un cadre unique, moderne et simplifié de délivrance de permis offrant un processus d’examen uniforme, transparent et prévisible des demandes de projets de construction et de rénovation. La nouvelle procédure de permis d’aménagement continuera à prendre en compte que l’intégrité écologique occupe le premier rang des priorités dans la prise de décisions, comme le prévoit la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Parcs Canada a consulté les groupes autochtones, les intervenants et le public afin de comprendre et de cerner les principaux enjeux et les améliorations à apporter aux processus actuels de délivrance de permis. Les commentaires du public aideront à éclairer la création d’un nouveau processus national de délivrance de permis d’aménagement et d’assurer la protection et la mise en valeur des lieux gérés par Parcs Canada.

De nouveaux règlements seront rédigés afin d’établir les exigences en matière de délivrance de permis et les étapes de l’examen des demandes. Les politiques sur l’utilisation des terres (lignes directrices en matière d’architecture, zonage local, marges de recul, etc.) seront révisées, une fois les règlements mis à jour.

Est-ce que cela favorisera l’aménagement des aires protégées?

Les nouveaux règlements et les nouvelles politiques garantiront un processus décisionnel uniforme pour les demandes de permis d’aménagement présentées à la grandeur de l’Agence. Ils ne modifieront pas les plafonds existants en matière d’exploitation commerciale, les limites des lotissements urbains ou la superficie des terres actuellement zonées à des fins d’aménagement, par exemple. Ceux-ci sont établis au terme de décisions de planification à long terme prises dans les lois, les plans directeurs, les plans communautaires, les lignes directrices locales et les documents connexes.

Le processus mis à jour permettra de prendre des décisions éclairées sur les demandes de réaménagement de lots particuliers qui sont déjà zonés à des fins commerciales, pour l’hébergement privé ou pour les services aux visiteurs dans les plans directeurs et les plans du réseau existants. Il ne sera pas possible de demander un permis visant une zone qui n’a pas déjà été désignée à ces fins.

À qui s’adressaient les consultations?

Parcs Canada a sollicité les commentaires des intervenants en ligne et tenu des réunions en personne dans un large éventail de lieux gérés par Parcs Canada.

Parcs Canada a reçu des commentaires de la part de personnes et de groupes d’intervenants qui s’intéressent au processus de décision relatif à la délivrance des permis, notamment des titulaires de domaines à bail commerciaux et résidentiels, des exploitants d’entreprises, des groupes autochtones, des résidents des collectivités des parcs, des visiteurs, des représentants des administrations locales, des propriétaires fonciers près des lieux gérés par Parcs Canada (p.ex., canaux historiques et voies navigables), des professionnels de l’industrie et d’autres groupes d’intérêt.

Parcs Canada remercie les quelque 200 personnes et organismes qui ont pris le temps de participer à ces consultations. Vos commentaires sont grandement appréciés et seront d’une valeur inestimable alors que nous passerons à l’étape suivante de la modernisation du processus de délivrance des permis d’aménagement.

Quels sont les résultats des consultations publiques?

Parcs Canada a sollicité les commentaires du public sur la façon d’établir un cadre moderne et simplifié de délivrance de permis d’aménagement qui fournit un processus d’examen cohérent, transparent, prévisible et rigoureux des demandes de permis dans les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada.

Les principes clés suivants, constamment entendus au cours des consultations, guideront la rédaction de ce règlement :

  • protection de l’intégrité écologique;
  • souplesse;
  • uniformité;
  • transparence;
  • participation du public.

Consultez le rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les commentaires recueillis auprès du public.

Quand l’ébauche du nouveau règlement sera-t-elle prête?

Parcs Canada a reçu des commentaires et de la rétroaction sur le processus de délivrance de permis, qui sont résumés dans le rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu. Parcs Canada élaborer le nouveau « Règlement sur la gestion de l’utilisation des terres » en fonction des données recueillies. Le projet de règlement devrait faire l’objet d’une publication préalable dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2020. Afin d’expliquer clairement le processus réglementaire aux intervenants, des lignes directrices d’interprétation seront publiées au même moment. Le public aura l’occasion de formuler d’autres commentaires sur le règlement à ce moment-là.


Échéancier

L’échéancier de ce projet réglementaire a été mis à jour en raison du nombre de commentaires reçus et de leur complexité.

Activité Dates
Rencontres publiques et commentaires en ligne Terminée
Publication du rapport sur les consultations Terminée
Élaboration du règlement 2019
Ébauche du règlement et Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation (REIR) affichés en ligne à des fins de commentaires
  • Gazette du Canada, partie I
2020
Peaufinage de l’ébauche de règlement selon la rétroaction reçue 2020
Version définitive du règlement affiché en ligne
  • Gazette du Canada, partie II
À déterminer
Entrée en vigueur du règlement À déterminer

Ressources disponibles

Réglementations actuelles

Représentant de Parcs Canada

Daniel Mercer
Gestionnaire, Services d'aménagement du territoire
Direction générale des Politiques stratégiques et investissement