Why do I need to get a “security status or clearance” such as site access status, reliability status, secret/top secret clearance?

Parks Canada employees, volunteers and contractors are required to undergo security screening in order to provide reasonable assurance that they can be trusted to safeguard government information, assets and facilities and reliably fulfill their duties. The screening will serve to assess their honesty, integrity, trustworthiness and/or loyalty to Canada and lead to the grant, denial or revocation of a site access status, reliability status, or secret/top secret clearance. A valid security status or security clearance is a condition of employment, contract, appointment or assignment.

What is the process for obtaining a “security status or clearance” (site access status, reliability status, or secret clearance)?

For security screening to be conducted, a candidate must provide consent included in the security application forms. Once completed, these forms allow for a verification of address history, employment, qualifications, references, and agreement to a criminal record check and a credit check. A loyalty security assessment is also completed when applying for a secret/top secret clearance.

What is adverse information?

Adverse information is the existence of one or more criminal convictions, past or current credit issues, strange or unusual activities and behaviours, etc. which may be an indicator of future issues with the performance of duties, inability or unwillingness to safeguard sensitive information, assets or facilities.

Does adverse information impact my ability to be hired?

Adverse information can, but may not be, sufficient grounds to deny a “security status or clearance”. Such information is used as the basis for further investigation. All individuals with adverse information are treated in a fair and objective manner and provided with an opportunity to explain the circumstances before a decision is rendered. In evaluating a candidate’s honesty, integrity and trustworthiness, adverse information will be assessed to determine if there is an unacceptable risk in relation to the duties to be performed and the safeguarding of sensitive information, assets or facilities. For example, declaring only part of an existing criminal record would put into question the individual’s reliability and trustworthiness.

Why am I required to get a criminal record check?

As part of the security screening process, a criminal record check must be conducted to determine if you have been convicted of a crime. The use of fingerprints is the most accurate way to confirm a person's identity and to protect from being associated with another person’s criminal record.

What if I have been pardoned for a past criminal record?

Criminal convictions that have been previously pardoned should not be declared. Criminal record checks do not reveal record suspensions unless you are asked to complete a Vulnerable Sector Check (you will be notified if this is required). For more information about the record suspension process, please visit: https://www.canada.ca/en/parole-board/services/record-suspensions.html.

What does a credit check say about my reliability?

Financial inquiries are used to assess whether an individual poses a risk or is otherwise vulnerable on the basis of their financial situation or history as well as confirming other information such as previous addresses and date of birth. For example, information that would be of concern are accounts placed for collections, bankruptcy, etc.

Credit checks conducted for the purpose of security screening are "masked" so that they do not affect your credit score.

May I be accompanied by a support person if I am invited to attend a security interview?

Yes. A support person such as a family member, friend or elder, etc., can attend a security interview, however the individual cannot speak on your behalf or provide advice during the interview. They are there for moral support only.

What does Parks Canada do with the information I provide?

We take your privacy seriously and therefore only collect the information we require to complete our analysis. We collect, use and dispose of the information you provide us in accordance with the Privacy Act and associated policies, directives, standards and guidelines. To find out more about the Privacy Act, visit: https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/ENG/ACTS/P-21/index.html.

Pourquoi dois-je obtenir une « cote de sécurité » tel que la cote d’accès au site, cote fiabilité ou une cote secrète/très secrète ?

Les employés, les bénévoles et les entrepreneurs de Parcs Canada sont tenus de se soumettre à une enquête de sécurité afin de fournir l’assurance raisonnable qu’ils sont dignes de confiance, donc aptes à protéger l’information, les biens et les installations du gouvernement et qu’ils sont en mesure d’exécuter leurs fonctions avec fiabilité. L’enquête sert à évaluer l’honnêteté, l’intégrité, la fiabilité et la loyauté envers le Canada et donne lieu à l’attribution, au refus, ou à la révocation de la cote d’accès au site, de la cote fiabilité ou de la cote secrète/très secrète. La cote ou l'autorisation de sécurité valide est une condition préalable à un emploi, un contrat, une nomination ou une affectation.

Quelle est la marche à suivre pour obtenir une « cote de sécurité » ?

Afin que nous puissions effectuer une enquête de sécurité, un candidat doit donner son consentement par écrit dans les formulaires de demande de cote de sécurité. Une fois remplis, ces formulaires autorisent la vérification des adresses antérieures, des emplois, des compétences et des références ainsi qu’une vérification du casier judiciaire et une vérification de solvabilité. Une vérification de sécurité par rapport à la loyauté est aussi complétée lors d’une demande de cote secrète/très secrète.

Que sont des renseignements défavorables ?

Des renseignements défavorables constituent une ou plusieurs condamnations au criminel, des problèmes financiers actuels ou antérieurs, des activités ou des comportements étranges ou inhabituels, entre autres, qui pourraient être des indicateurs de problèmes futurs dans l’exercice des fonctions, de l'incapacité ou du manque de volonté de protéger les informations, les biens ou les installations de nature délicate.

Les renseignements défavorables nuisent-ils à la possibilité d’être embauché ?

Les renseignements défavorables peuvent constituer, mais ne constituent pas forcément, un motif valable de refus ou de révocation de la « cote de sécurité ». De tels renseignements doivent servir de base pour pousser l’enquête. Toutes les personnes dont le dossier contient des renseignements défavorables sont traitées de façon juste et objective; de plus, elles ont l’occasion d’expliquer leur situation avant qu’une décision soit rendue. Pendant l’évaluation visant à déterminer si la personne est honnête, intègre et digne de confiance, les renseignements défavorables font l’objet d’une analyse visant à cerner tout risque inacceptable dans le cadre des tâches à exécuter et de la protection des biens, des informations ou des installations de nature délicate. Par exemple, le fait de ne déclarer qu’une partie du casier judiciaire remettrait en question la fiabilité et la crédibilité de la personne.

Pourquoi dois-je me soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire ?

Dans le cadre de l’enquête de sécurité, il faut effectuer une vérification du casier judiciaire pour déterminer si vous avez été déclaré coupable relativement à un acte criminel. L’utilisation des empreintes digitales est le moyen le plus efficace de vérifier avec exactitude l’identité de la personne et permet d’éviter qu’une personne ne soit associée par erreur à un casier judiciaire.

Qu’arrive-t-il si un pardon m’a été accordé pour des condamnations passées ?

Vous n’avez pas à déclarer les condamnations au pénal pour lesquelles un pardon a été accordé. Les vérifications de casier judiciaire ne révèlent pas les suspensions de casier à moins que la personne ait à se soumettre à une vérification des antécédents en vue d’un travail auprès de personnes vulnérables (si une telle vérification est requise, vous en serez avisé). Pour en savoir plus sur la suspension d’un casier judiciaire, consultez la page https://www.canada.ca/fr/commission-liberations-conditionnelles/services/suspension-du-casier.html.

Que révèle la vérification de solvabilité à mon égard ?

Les enquêtes sur la situation financière servent à déterminer si la personne présente un risque pour la sécurité ou est par ailleurs vulnérable en raison d’antécédents financiers ainsi qu’à vérifier certains renseignements comme l’adresse et la date de naissance. Par exemple, des comptes placés en recouvrement, des faillites, etc., pourraient constituer des renseignements préoccupants.

Les vérifications de crédit effectuées dans le cadre d’une enquête de sécurité sont « masquées » de manière à n’avoir aucune incidence sur la cote de crédit.

Puis-je me faire accompagner par une personne de confiance si je suis invité à une entrevue de sécurité ?

Oui. Une personne de confiance comme un aîné ou un membre de la famille peut être présent à l’entrevue de sécurité, mais elle ne peut ni parler en votre nom ni donner des conseils pendant l’entrevue. Ces personnes ne font qu’apporter un soutien moral.

Que fait Parcs Canada des renseignements que je fournis ?

Nous prenons la protection de votre vie privée très au sérieux. Par conséquent, nous ne recueillons que les renseignements dont nous avons besoin pour effectuer les vérifications nécessaires. Nous recueillons, utilisons et éliminons les renseignements que vous fournissez conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des politiques, directives, normes et lignes directrices connexes. Pour en savoir plus sur cette Loi : https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/P-21/index.html.